Splitting a train automatically

fredbiggs

Hi

I'm new to this, so apologies if this is in the wrong place.

I'm wondering whether if using schedules or rules (I think that's what they're called) is it possible for a train to drive to a station (I can get it to do that), split in two (assuming there is a driving train in the middle), then the first bit go left (say) and the second bit right? This happens near where I live and I was wondering if it's possible to do this on Trainz 2009

I hope this is clear!!

Thanks in advance! :)

Hi Fredbiggs,

Welcome to the world of Trainz. As no-one else has yet replied I will do my best to give you an answer.

Firstly to get a train to drive to a station...the easiest way is to place a trackmark at the platform that you want your train to arrive at, call it something appropriate when you place it, and using the commands in driver mode select 'Drive to Trackmark' and choose the appropriate trackmark name to get your train to go where you want it to.

I dont think that it is possible to get a train to split automaticaly and for the two halves to drive off in opposite directions but a more experienced reader of the forums may post a different reply.

Sorry that I cant give you all of te help that you need

Andy

Hi FredBiggs.

This can be done using a spare driver, a trigger and the move to command.

If you have your train drive to a trackmark and uncouple. The first section then departs via a trigger. A spare engine is parked in a siding and when the trigger is activated its driver moves to the remaining part of your train and then drives it in accordance with the instructions you have already input for him.

i.e Main train has instructions similar to.. Drive to trackmark, Uncouple from, Drive to London.

Spare engine has instructions similar to ... On trigger move to unit x. Drive to Bristol..