New Trainz User

mkg

Hi everyone - Trainz newbie here :) Thought I'd introduce myself.

I bought Trainz Collection from Auran's website a week ago and I've been having fun with Trainz 2006 (collection is the one with 2006 + 4 routes, 2004 and UTC). My interest is more in simulators in general than trains in particular. I've messed around with flight sims, boat sims and other games that encourage 'worldbuilding'. I've never spent time with a train sim before - I read around a little on the web and Trainz seemed like the way to go. I was considering 2009 but then I thought I'd leave that until some of the issues have been addressed and there is lots of content produced by the community.

Trainz 2006 is pleasingly stable so it seems and the amount of content is very impressive - I've got CMP downloading in the background as I write this:) Surveyor is the most impressive world building interface I've seen - very intuitive for a novice though I imagine I'll be back here with lots of questions once I start to attempt anything beyond beginner level noodling about.

I have a couple of general questions now. In the manual it says in a footnote that additional industries and commodities are available via the DLS. Which ones would people recommend as being the most fun? Are there other things on the DLS that are considered 'must haves' by the community? I think I read somewhere that in 2009 modelling is done with Blender rather than gmax - is that correct?

Regards

mkg

Hi everyone - Trainz newbie here :) Thought I'd introduce myself.