.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

Thread: How to use thermal paste?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, NY, Staten Island
    Posts
    2,790
     

    Default How to use thermal paste?

    Can this be applied by any of these methods?
    Grain of Rice (I)
    +
    X
    Never dealt with this stuff before, bought some for changing my processor but there's no specific instructions with this brand, none on the manufacturer's website and their Contact form doesn't work. I read the three methods listed are all useable but no mention of specific preference. So if anyone has used this stuff before, thanks for any info.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Michigan
    Posts
    677
     

    Default

    spread a thin layer across the entire CPU (the metal section that is, which is yet another heatsink)
    http://www.geardiary.com/wp-content/photos/CIMG8428.jpg
    A decent photo, I'll see if I can dig a better one up.

    Generally though, thick enough to cover the CPU in thermal paste but thin enough that it doesn't ooze out when you apply the heatsink/fan.

    I guess in comparison I'd say no thicker than about 3 pieces of paper. Though it's a bit hard to judge.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    797
     

    Default

    The method I have used before and what I have seen on all the heatsinks/fans that have come with new processors, is to place a square of thermal paste that is about 2MM thick on the side of the heatsink that will be in contact with the processor. This square should be about 2CM by 2CM, or half the size of the processor (whichever is smaller).

    It will then be compressed over the entire area of the processor as heatsinks sit very close to the processor (about 1/2MM away), so covering the entire processor in thermal paste will squish some out of the edges, which will have to be cleaned up, as it may interfere with the motherboard around the processor.

    Make sure you clean off any and all old thermal paste from the processor and heatsink before you apply the fresh stuff, as the old paste may interfere with the cooling.
    Captain Collins

    #1 Tech Support site: http://forums.majorgeeks.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, NY, Staten Island
    Posts
    2,790
     

    Default

    Thanks, I put a line on the processor and spread it in a layer over the square surface. Kinda hard to see what squeezes out, in addition to putting it in that "mousetrap" holder as I call it, the heat sink+fan assembly is large enough that I can't see if any did.
    Anyway, I now have replaced my old Pentium D 925 with a E2200. Windows score in Vista moved up from 4.8 to 5.1 but it does run cooler. Previously I could only see the Pentium D's temp in the BIOS (and when I ran that the comp seemed to speed up the fans), now I can check in CPUID's Hardware Monitor, the E2200 is fluctuating between 10-20 degrees C cooler. And the doubling of RAM from 1GB to 2 moved the Windows score there from 4.5 to 5.4.
    Yet I still show RAM used for video, now 765MB plus the video card's 512MB for 1277MB total. Seen someone else's Vista screen showing a similar thing, nothing appears to change this.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    797
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StorkNest View Post
    Thanks, I put a line on the processor and spread it in a layer over the square surface. Kinda hard to see what squeezes out, in addition to putting it in that "mousetrap" holder as I call it, the heat sink+fan assembly is large enough that I can't see if any did.
    Anyway, I now have replaced my old Pentium D 925 with a E2200. Windows score in Vista moved up from 4.8 to 5.1 but it does run cooler. Previously I could only see the Pentium D's temp in the BIOS (and when I ran that the comp seemed to speed up the fans), now I can check in CPUID's Hardware Monitor, the E2200 is fluctuating between 10-20 degrees C cooler. And the doubling of RAM from 1GB to 2 moved the Windows score there from 4.5 to 5.4.
    Yet I still show RAM used for video, now 765MB plus the video card's 512MB for 1277MB total. Seen someone else's Vista screen showing a similar thing, nothing appears to change this.
    If you have a video card that steals your RAM to use for video, then it is programmed into the graphics card and cannot be changed.
    Captain Collins

    #1 Tech Support site: http://forums.majorgeeks.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, NY, Staten Island
    Posts
    2,790
     

    Default

    That sounds crazy, why wouldn't there be a way to change it? I know one guy who has 3GB memory and his 8800GT takes 1279MB for video.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    797
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StorkNest View Post
    That sounds crazy, why wouldn't there be a way to change it? I know one guy who has 3GB memory and his 8800GT takes 1279MB for video.
    Hello,
    Sorry for the late reply. Memory "stealing" by graphics cards (not all graphics cards, I might add) is run at the hardware and BIOS level. Most graphics cards do not allow you to update their BIOS, so there is no way to change the memory sharing.

    However, If you increase the amount of RAM in your computer, then the graphics card will "steal" the amount it wants before windows looks to see how much memory is there. Thus, you can go above the 3.5GB limit in 32-bit software.
    Captain Collins

    #1 Tech Support site: http://forums.majorgeeks.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    27,174
     

    Default

    The extra memory you see for the video card is called AGP aperture memory and is a normal part of how the hardware works. The system uses a portion of the system memory when your video memory runs out of space.

    Here's a cool article on this that explains it better than I can.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/...ing/vidcard/43

    John

  9. #9

    Red face

    The thread is dead but I was in the same boat few days ago and I recently joined this forum so here goes my suggestions: There are 2,3 significant ways to apply thermal paste the one is X method and the other is spread method and the most trust worthy method is a drop in the center of the processor, nearly equal to a grain of rice, Also check if your thermal compound is of top-notch quality sometimes in Overclocked environments you need to have the perfect thermal paste to match everything properly. Also what are your room temps?
    Last edited by PerRock; February 13th, 2019 at 02:35 PM. Reason: Removed link

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Antarctica, Vostok Base, South Pole, AQ
    Posts
    18,805
     

    Default

    Various methods, by many people ... the best way to experiment is by using a test of a very very small pea size non-gritty toothpaste, on a glass microscope slide, or a piece of glass, applying it on a perfectly flat kitchen countertop, and watch how it spreads, when you press it down with moderate firmness ... testing if it would ooze out beyond the chip, and be too much thermal paste

    I prefer a very very small square shape, very very small pea size

    Too much is too much ... and too little is too little ... But it really does not require much thermal paste

    The best thermal paste is Radio Shack, or equivalent Arctic Silver, over that of low end cost thermal paste

    New thermal paste should be re-applied every year or so
    Last edited by cascaderailroad; February 13th, 2019 at 04:32 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    27,174
     

    Default

    I use the bird poop blob method, which someone showed me years ago. This works quite well as it spreads out quite evenly, like bird poop, all over the surface.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Newcastle NSW Australia
    Posts
    6,453
     

    Default

    Try spreading it on toast. Cools it down immediately and tastes a lot better than orange American cheese.
    T:ANE SP4 build 105946 and TRS2019 SP1 build 105096
    Win 10, i7 5820K, 3.3 GHz, 32GB ram, GTX 980Ti, 2x512GB SSD

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    United States of America, Florida and Illinois
    Posts
    786
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cascaderailroad View Post
    The best thermal paste is Radio Shack, or equivalent Arctic Silver, over that of low end cost thermal paste
    Radio Shack declared chapter 11 bankruptcy in 2015. I checked the Radio Shack website, and they are currently out (sold out) of all thermal paste. I have some in my garage if anyone is interested.
    If it's not broke, don't fix it.


  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    27,174
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dinorius_Redundicus View Post
    Try spreading it on toast. Cools it down immediately and tastes a lot better than orange American cheese.
    Most things taste better than that orange plastic cheese. Thermal paste is like Philadelphia Cream Cheese.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    8,479
    Blog Entries
    30
     

    Default

    I haven't heard of the bird "poop" method but have sparingly spread the paste over the various coolers I have used. I tend to spread it so there is a paste gap at the edges that should accommodate any extra paste. It's a bit like spreading glue.

    I've had to do this a couple of times recently when my water based cooler failed and I replaced it with the stock Intel cooler, and then replaced that with a CoolerMaster 212 cooler. I think the kit for that came with some thermal paste.

    Paul


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •