.
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Trainzoptions problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Lewisburg
    Posts
    175
     

    Default Trainzoptions problem

    I tried editing Trainzoptions and I clicked save and a box popped up. It said that it could not save. I forget, but I believe I have to do something as an administrator?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Florida, Crestview
    Posts
    2,841
     

    Default

    Could it be your trainzoptions.txt is a "read only" file?
    Dell XPS8700 i5 cpu, Win10, 12G RAM, Asus GTX745 4G, HD 1T

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,746
     

    Default

    Which operating system are you using, Windows XP or Vista?

    John

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Lewisburg
    Posts
    175
     

    Default

    I am using Windows Vista Home Premium Edition 64bit. With my other computer, I remember having to do something that I would have to click run as administrator or something like that?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,746
     

    Default

    I can't speak from personal experience but a lot of people have posted here to say that with Vista you need to both install Trainz and run Trainz in Administrator mode. It's certainly worth trying.

    HTH, John

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Lewisburg
    Posts
    175
     

    Cool

    Thanks John, but how do I run Trainz in administrator mode?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,746
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by conrail6373 View Post
    Thanks John, but how do I run Trainz in administrator mode?
    See this thread for instructions.

    John

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Lewisburg
    Posts
    175
     

    Default

    Thanks John, but it still won't let me save the file?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,746
     

    Default

    Not having Vista myself, sorry, I can't help any more. I hope someone with more knowledge than me can take over.

    John

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Lewisburg
    Posts
    175
     

    Wink

    Thanks anyway. Um, does anyone know of minor tweaks to improve Trainz?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Washington, Tacoma
    Posts
    5,786
     

    Default

    Did you check if the file is read only?

    Bob

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Lewisburg
    Posts
    175
     

    Default

    I checked if it was a read only file and it is not.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,746
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by conrail6373 View Post
    Thanks anyway. Um, does anyone know of minor tweaks to improve Trainz?
    Try a couple of forum searches for trainzoptions and trainzoptions.txt

    John

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Lewisburg
    Posts
    175
     

    Cool

    Okay John, thanks. I talked to a friend of mine who's really good with computers and we figured out a way to get Trainzoptions to work correctly. What we did is we copied the original Trainzoptins text document to the desktop. I then deleted the original from the TRS2006 folder. After that I edited the trainzoptions document on the desktop. Finally, I saved it into the TRS2006 folder. Thanks again guys for all your help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •