edion2

Hello,

I'm new to trainz. Love it !

Dell Laptop with 17" WUXGA screen 1920x1200
Intel Core 2 Duo 1.68 Mhz
2 meg RAM
Video Card : ATI Mobility Radeon X1400
TRAINZ 2006 - Build 3337 - running at 1280x800

I installed it mid November. Everything was running fine until about a week ago.

First symptom : My printer failed to print (HP 3050 laser). I re-installed the printer. Still unable to print. I had to go to my other computer to print things. I un-installed the printer and it remains so at the moment.

Second Symptom : Content Manager froze up. Had to end program (Cntrl-Alt-Del). For a few days this happened 1 or 2 in 10 times. Now its more like 7 or 8 times out of 10 that it freezes up.

First Install may have been a problem. I use AVG Free anti-virus software, which does not have a way to turn off anti-virus temporarily. So I installed Trainz 2006 & Trainz Classic with it ON.

I did what I normally do when a software starts to behave abnormally . . . RE-INSTALL. But this time I UN-INSTALLED AVG anti-virus and re-started the computer first before trying a re-install.

I copied the "local" folder so I won't lose anything because when I insert the DVD . . . It wants to un-install first.

The DVD un-installed it first, then installs again after I enter the serial No.

The Install freezes up at the end when it starts Trainz. I have to go to Cntrl-Alt-Del to "end task" on Trainz 2006. . . which shows up as "running". Then I double click on the Trainz 2006 icon on my desktop and it seems to run normally. When I tried Content Manager, it ran fine the first time . . . though I'm unable to download anything . . . it says "server busy, try again later".