Surveyor 2.0 - Texture over Track?

WAEP11

I have a baseboard with a default grass texture, which I then lay track on. After laying the track, I use the Brush Tool to paint a ground texture, and it appears to change the terrain and raise it into the tracks. It also creates a fractured texture appearance near the edges of the painted texture which cut into the ballast. I'd include a picture, but I don't seem to be able to.

Thanks for any tips!

I believe this may be caused by mixing one of the newer PBR-type textures with older textures. Try painting a texture with PBR in the title to see if it has the same results or not. The track may also need to be of the newer variety, you should be able to tell the difference by the ballast. I'm just getting started in route-building, so just a thought until someone more knowledgeable comes along.

I believe this may be caused by mixing one of the newer PBR-type textures with older textures. Try painting a texture with PBR in the title to see if it has the same results or not. The track may also need to be of the newer variety, you should be able to tell the difference by the ballast. I'm just getting started in route-building, so just a thought until someone more knowledgeable comes along.

You are a lifesaver! Thanks for the tip! I repainted the baseboards with "PBR Grass Mixed 37", and then tried painting "PBR Gravel 4 - Seasonal" under the track area, and I don't get those weird visual artifacts anymore! I am using "newer" tracks though, in case someone else stumbles on this in the future.

So, how do we know which textures are "safe"? Is it just as simple as only using stuff marked as PBR?

Thanks again!

Coble12 is correct. This is caused by the PBR textures and regular textures mixing. You can fix this two different ways.

1) Repaint everything in PBR and be done with it. There are some advantages to PBR textures but as you can see they're not very forgiving.