.
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Delete A Payware Route - Also Delete Pre-Installed Assets?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Murrysville
    Posts
    4,496
     

    Question Delete A Payware Route - Also Delete Pre-Installed Assets?

    Will assets, I have previously installed, be erased when I delete a newly installed payware route?
    That is, if deleted payware has assets, matching those I had already installed, will my already-installed assets also be deleted?
    Dick near Pittsburgh, Pa., i7-- 4.0ghz, 16gb memory, RTX3070 8gb video card. 117009 117669.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Tennessee
    Posts
    298
     

    Default

    I think I've had that happen to me in the past. Deleted downloaded route that was payware but didn't like it so I deleted it in CM. Some of the assets I was previously using were gone. I was able to download them (again). Only had it happen once, so maybe it was just a fluke.

    ASUS 970 Pro MB w/AMD FX-8370
    NVIDIA GTX-1060 6GB (OC)
    G.Skill DDR3 2400 Memory 32 GBs
    Trainz Build: 111951, 114800, 117009

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,567
     

    Default

    good question Boleyd
    In an ideal world it should not have influence on other items but


    Picture the following scenario:
    -You have asset <kuid:12345:6789:4> installed and used in a few sessions
    -you install a DLC(payware pack) that includes <kuid:12345:6789:5>
    now the original <kuid:12345:6789:4> is obsoleted
    -Once a week you do your clean up in CM and delete the obsolete ones
    -You decide you no longer want the DLC, you go to the content store and uninstall it
    now <kuid:12345:6789:5> gets removed and you break all route/sessions that need it


    When you use/install a DLC, be very careful afterwards what you cleanup

  4. #4

    Default

    Even if you don't delete the obsolete asset you still may have a problem. Any route you opened, that has that asset, will when saved store the new update kuid. The route will not revert to the older version number and will show as a missing asset. Deleted packages only remove the assets in the package not any DLS assets.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    414
     

    Default

    They will all go bye-bye. Been there, done that, still have the emotional scars.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    32,688
     

    Default

    N3V has been working to ensure that any non-proprietary assets are downloadable from the DLS if they have been used in DLC. This is to ensure that any assets used won't be missing should the DLC be deleted.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    Trainz-PLUS: 117669

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Port Noarlunga South Australia
    Posts
    2,854
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by boleyd View Post
    Will assets, I have previously installed, be erased when I delete a newly installed payware route?
    That is, if deleted payware has assets, matching those I had already installed, will my already-installed assets also be deleted?
    A lot of the built in/payware routes have assets that you can only get from them , such as Avery Drexel, if you don't have them installed, then other routes will show these as being 'unknown' items. Pitkin encountered this issue this week when he tried to install a new version of my STD gauge Timber ridge route in 2022 to make a session , all the TUME items I'd used in there presented as unknowns .... in my install of 2019 they are packaged.....
    WARNING! The Surgeon General has determined that the use of the simulator Trainz is highly addictive,

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Murrysville
    Posts
    4,496
     

    Default

    I am going with the cautious approach - Until this is fixed I will avoid any purchases. Too much of a crap-shoot with no movement toward resolution by N3V.
    Dick near Pittsburgh, Pa., i7-- 4.0ghz, 16gb memory, RTX3070 8gb video card. 117009 117669.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    USA Florida, Illinois and Virginia
    Posts
    1,713
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stagecoach View Post
    Even if you don't delete the obsolete asset you still may have a problem. Any route you opened, that has that asset, will when saved store the new update kuid. The route will not revert to the older version number and will show as a missing asset. Deleted packages only remove the assets in the package not any DLS assets.
    This shuold never happen, and sad if it is, this would definitly be a bug that should be addressed asap.. The kuid table in the route file should always retain the original kuid unless the author has manually updated the table in the config file. There would be exceptions, for example a session, but not things like scripted assets...
    If it's not broke, don't fix it.


  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Christopher824 View Post
    This shuold never happen, and sad if it is, this would definitly be a bug that should be addressed asap.. The kuid table in the route file should always retain the original kuid unless the author has manually updated the table in the config file. There would be exceptions, for example a session, but not things like scripted assets...
    All kuids in a route will use the latest version of that asset. It will only retain the original kuid version if you exit and don't save the route. The table is automatically updated on every save, manual alteration will not alter the asset the route is using. I did suggest some time ago that maybe a kuid3 be used for DLC content which would not effect the normal DLS kuid2 assets.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    18,269
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stagecoach View Post
    All kuids in a route will use the latest version of that asset. It will only retain the original kuid version if you exit and don't save the route. The table is automatically updated on every save, manual alteration will not alter the asset the route is using. I did suggest some time ago that maybe a kuid3 be used for DLC content which would not effect the normal DLS kuid2 assets.
    And N3V did say that they would put assets updated for DLC on the DLS to stop this problem, maybe need a reminder!
    Malc


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •