.
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Dead in tow steamers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Oregon, parts unknown
    Posts
    389
     

    Default Dead in tow steamers

    So is there a way to convert a steam locomotive to a dead in tow state? i know there was a way in ts12, but im not sure how to do it in trs19
    Professionally confused

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    32,685
     

    Default

    The process is the same in TRS19 as it is in TS12.

    You can clone an asset by highlighting the engine and pressing CTRL+D at the same time and then you can then edit this copy and make the changes you want.

    Once the asset is cloned, press CTRL-N to bring up a new content manager window and change that view to show open for edit.

    If there are no other open for edit assets, you'll see your "New Asset".

    Right-click on that "New Asset" and choose Edit Configuration file.

    This will bring up Notepad.

    Make the changes, just like in TS12 and be sure to change the username too to reflect the changes in the asset.

    Save the file and exit.

    Once done, submit the engine by right-clicking on it and choosing Submit from the menu.

    Barring any serious errors, your new towable loco is ready.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    Trainz-PLUS: 117669

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    9,641
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Open the config.txt file of your cloned version (as described above).

    The working loco will have something like the following (example shown is a steam loco):-

    Code:
    username                             "SAR T Class Loco No 202 Narrow Gauge 3ft6in"
    kind                                    "traincar"
    trainz-build                           3.7
    engine                                 1
    enginespec                           <kuid2:126323:51253:1>
    enginesound                         <kuid:126323:53253>
    hornsound                            <kuid:126323:54253>
    interior                                <kuid:523:55540>
    script                                  "steamloco_acs"
    class                                   "Steamloco"
    
    (plus several smoke tag containers)
    There will also be a "category-class" tag which begins with an "A" (e.g. "AS" for steam) and defines the asset as a locomotive of various types.

    Edited (dead) version will look something like:-

    Code:
    username                             "SAR T Class Loco No 239 (not operating) Narrow Gauge 3ft6in"
    kind                                    "traincar"
    trainz-build                           3.7
    engine                                 0
    enginespec                           <kuid2:126323:51253:1>
    interior                                <kuid:523:55540>
    
    (also delete the smoke tag containers, you can also delete the enginespec tag. The category-class tag can be left unchanged)
    The above example worked well for me. Once you have cloned the original asset there is no danger in experimenting with the tags in the cloned version - at the worst you can delete the clone and try again.
    Development: Trainz Plus - b119450
    Testing: Trainz Plus beta - b119450
    GTX1050Ti, RTX3060Ti and RTX3050Ti, Win 10 & 11

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA, United States of America
    Posts
    1,114
    Blog Entries
    64
     

    Default

    In T:ANE it was necessary to delete the "Interior" key to keep the interior camera from bouncing into the cab, in my one essay at this same thing with a diesel switcher. Is that also true in 19 and 22?

    :B~)

    Together in Trainzing!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    9,641
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RHKluckhohn View Post
    In T:ANE it was necessary to delete the "Interior" key to keep the interior camera from bouncing into the cab, in my one essay at this same thing with a diesel switcher. Is that also true in 19 and 22?
    I just jumped into the cab of one of my dead steam locos and moved around the cab using the Trainz Plus camera point of view controls. No problems. It worked exactly like it would in a live steam loco.
    Development: Trainz Plus - b119450
    Testing: Trainz Plus beta - b119450
    GTX1050Ti, RTX3060Ti and RTX3050Ti, Win 10 & 11

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA, United States of America
    Posts
    1,114
    Blog Entries
    64
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pware View Post
    I just jumped into the cab of one of my dead steam locos and moved around the cab using the Trainz Plus camera point of view controls. No problems. It worked exactly like it would in a live steam loco.
    Just so. However, if dead in train, as you move up and down the consist, the internal camera will eventually jump into the cab, which I find extremely distracting and totally unuseful in driving the session, because then you have to find your way out again with the resulting delay. If you're shunting, it could be damaging to equipment and bystanders. Removing the Interior key prevents that.

    :B~)

    Together in Trainzing!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Oregon, parts unknown
    Posts
    389
     

    Default

    im having issues, so can i change the category class to rolling stock? if so whats the tag for rolling stock? still get errors on most steamers i comvert to dead, but still working through them.
    Professionally confused

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Oregon, parts unknown
    Posts
    389
     

    Default

    ok so, it seems it works with steamers that dont have a lot of custom scripts such as the jmb challengers from trainz forge, but im hoping i can figure a way through that.
    Professionally confused

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    32,685
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blackout16 View Post
    im having issues, so can i change the category class to rolling stock? if so whats the tag for rolling stock? still get errors on most steamers i comvert to dead, but still working through them.
    Category-class - TrainzOnline (ts2009.com) This might help.

    Quote Originally Posted by Blackout16 View Post
    ok so, it seems it works with steamers that dont have a lot of custom scripts such as the jmb challengers from trainz forge, but im hoping i can figure a way through that.
    You'll need to yank out the script references. Make sure you remove all references to the script(s) because there's an include function and then the script itself. Referencing the script and then not including the script can cause an error.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    Trainz-PLUS: 117669

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA, United States of America
    Posts
    1,114
    Blog Entries
    64
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blackout16 View Post
    im having issues, so can i change the category class to rolling stock? if so whats the tag for rolling stock? still get errors on most steamers i comvert to dead, but still working through them.
    Should have mentioned, to get that same effect I changed the "Enginespec" key to point to the Default Wagon KUID, <kuid:-25:42> default wagon. See if that'll work.

    :B~)

    Together in Trainzing!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •