.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Can't Edit Config File Text

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    28
     

    Default Can't Edit Config File Text

    I am currently in the process of replacing an unknown asset on some new locomotives via replacing the missing kuid on the config file text. However, each time I attempt to access the config text file the window closes immediately before it can even load. If anyone knows how to make it so I can actually edit the file and replace the missing kuids that would be very much appreciated!
    Happy Rails,
    Alex

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Australia, Victoria, Churchill
    Posts
    2,807
     

    Default

    restart the computer or use a different text editor should work

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    28
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grazlash View Post
    restart the computer or use a different text editor should work
    Do you mind explaining how I get Trainz to use a different text editor? (Sorry if this is a stupid question)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Meridian, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    6,626
     

    Default

    Right-click the Asset and select "Show in Explorer". then right-click the config.txt file and select "Open with" and choose your editor. I use this technique to edit with Notepad++
    "When the power of love overcomes the love of power then the world will know peace." Jimi Hendrix

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    14,484
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Forester1 View Post
    Right-click the Asset and select "Show in Explorer". then right-click the config.txt file and select "Open with" and choose your editor. I use this technique to edit with Notepad++

    I'd also recommend Notepad++

    Cheerio John

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Montevideo ,Uruguay
    Posts
    222
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Since TS2009 I use ( like many ) the simple Notepad from Windows without problems ... It would be interesting if you show what and how you want to edit .

    TS2009 44653 - TS12 61297 - T:ANE 105766 - TRZ19 117026

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    28
     

    Default

    Ok, I have managed to open the Config Chump file on notepads and I expected to see something like a list of kuids and I could just find the missing asset and replace it lickity split, However I got something much more confusing to someone who hasten done this before (It wont allow me to post a photo). Does anyone know how to pinpoint an asset and replace it?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    9,510
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    The config file is always named config.txt and is a pure text file that can be opened in any text editor. This will contain the list of kuids that you are probably looking for. The chump file is completely different and is something that I never touch.
    Development: Trainz Plus - b119450
    Testing: Trainz Plus beta - b119450
    GTX1050Ti, RTX3060Ti and RTX3050Ti, Win 10 & 11

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    28
     

    Default

    I have been unsuccessful in locating a file named config.txt in any of the locomotives I am trying to fix. I right click the locomotive as a whole, I go to open and select show in explorer, and then in the search bar for explorer I put config.txt and nothing comes up except for the chump file. Where do I locate the text file?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    9,510
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AlextheAC4400 View Post
    I have been unsuccessful in locating a file named config.txt in any of the locomotives I am trying to fix. I right click the locomotive as a whole, I go to open and select show in explorer, and then in the search bar for explorer I put config.txt and nothing comes up except for the chump file. Where do I locate the text file?

    I presume that you are doing this in Content manager.

    Open in Explorer should open the asset window which will show all the files (and any folders) that are in the asset. One of these will be named config (or config.txt if you have your windows explorer set to show the file extensions).

    What exactly are you trying to fix?

    Can you post the name of the loco and its kuid value and the name and/or kuid of the missing asset(s)?

    Trying to solve a missing asset problem inside an asset by this method often does not work if you do not know what you are doing.
    Development: Trainz Plus - b119450
    Testing: Trainz Plus beta - b119450
    GTX1050Ti, RTX3060Ti and RTX3050Ti, Win 10 & 11

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Montevideo ,Uruguay
    Posts
    222
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Some time ago it had happened to me, that in some of my own assets the CHUMP appeared and replaced the CONFIG...
    I think there was a thread about that, and I can't remember what it was due to or how it was solved (I must be older than that I though).
    Search a bit in CM and it seems that it didn't happen again...

    TS2009 44653 - TS12 61297 - T:ANE 105766 - TRZ19 117026

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    32,521
     

    Default

    If you are seeing a .chump file, then the asset hasn't been opened and you are seeing the raw folder.

    The asset has to be opened for edit in Content Manager in order to decompress the contents of the data folder.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    Trainz-PLUS: 117669

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    United States of America, Colorado, Avada
    Posts
    143
     

    Default

    Revert the asset and reopen it for editing that what I have to do.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    28
     

    Default

    Thanks to everyone who contributed to this post to help a fellow train lover out! I have discovered that kaeksa2423's method of reverting the asset to its original state and reopening it for editing will allow you to open the config.txt file. Once again, thank you to everyone for all your help, I don't think I could have gotten this done without you.
    Happy Rails,
    Alex

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Montevideo ,Uruguay
    Posts
    222
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JCitron View Post
    If you are seeing a .chump file, then the asset hasn't been opened and you are seeing the raw folder.
    The asset has to be opened for edit in Content Manager in order to decompress the contents of the data folder.
    I agree... but I don't understand how he can open the Asset from the Explorer, he should only see a TZARC compressed file ?.

    TS2009 44653 - TS12 61297 - T:ANE 105766 - TRZ19 117026

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •