.
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Some trees aren't seasonal??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    376
     

    Default Some trees aren't seasonal??

    EMT Tree Pine 03 Tall Seasonal kuid 166065:100994 I have several hundred of these placed above the snow line. All but 8 are white....8 remain green. I cannot delete these 8 trees either. Why? When I went to get the kuid for this tree, I noticed that it said that a newer version was available. Would that cure the problem? If so, how do I go about that?

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    31,967
     

    Default

    The seasonal non-capability sounds like a bug in the asset you are using.

    You use Content Manager to update the assets.

    Right-click on the currently installed version and choose download. This will download the update.

    We recommend that you do this regularly to ensure you have current assets.

    You can then delete the obsolete ones.

    For built-in and DLC, these may be updated via Content Manager but not always. For these assets, you also need to view the updates through View Asset versions - right-click on the asset and choose that and it'll open up in a new window. Choose the version that says Available for Download in the status column.

    To help with the daily updating process, I setup a couple of custom filters in Content Manager.

    Click on the triangle to the left of "Installed".

    You can then add in addition things to query with.

    I setup my two as follows:

    Out of Date - No Payware, meaning the DLC is not selected but everything else is. This doesn't always work as stated and there's some DLC listed because it's Built-in!

    Installed = True (in the pull-down box)
    Out of date = True
    Payware = False

    Once you do this setup, save it and give it a name, so you can use it next time!

    The other filter is called Obsolete and not Built in.

    Installed = True
    Obsolete = True
    Packaged = False.

    You can delete anything that appears in this view.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    Trainz-PLUS: 117669

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    376
     

    Default

    Thanks for the reply. Wow. I have a headache now.....time for a nap. :-)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    31,967
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by autodctr View Post
    Thanks for the reply. Wow. I have a headache now.....time for a nap. :-)
    It's that time of day for me too. Trainz will do that to ya though!
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    Trainz-PLUS: 117669

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    376
     

    Default

    OK. D-Led the new version. That did not change them to snow-covered, but it did allow me to delete them. Thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Newcastle NSW Australia
    Posts
    7,351
     

    Default

    Why not contact the creator of the bugged trees and tell him about it? He may be unaware of it. If he can fix it in another update, then everyone benefits. Try a Private Message via this forum, or check the config file of his assets; it may contain an email address you can use.
    T:ANE SP4 (105946), TRS19 SP5 (117009), Max 2009/2012, PhotoShop
    Win10, i7 5820K, 3.3GHz, 32GB ram, GTX 980Ti 6GB, 2x512GB SSD

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Cheshire
    Posts
    2,769
     

    Default

    Hi,
    They are my trees.
    They are reskins of Auran Speedtrees.
    I have hundreds of them on different routes and none of them show as faulty in this way.

    If the asset was faulty then logicaly all of the trees would be faulty.

    It may be related to the white tree-flashing bug thay happens in speed trees, not just mine.
    Some trees flash white but others don't.

    I don't think there is anything that I can fix, I will look tomorrow, getting late here and I'll be off to bed soon.

    Cheers,
    Graham


    Member of TCWW & Trainz.de

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    376
     

    Default

    I know about the white flashing and have that turned down to eliminate it. (I did have that previously.) The problem I was having was that after planting all the trees and then lowering the snow line, 8 trees out of about 500-600 refused to be "seasonal" and turn white. All were way above the snow line. I figured that I would just delete those 8 and plant new ones there, but they would not delete. After d-ling the new version, they were still white, but I could delete all 8 of them and replace them. All is good right now.

    BTW: LOVE those pine trees......I probably have at least 6,000 on the route! Thank you for making them!!!!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    31,967
     

    Default

    I wonder if you got some of those "stuck" trees. These sometimes appear on the routes but can't be deleted at first but eventually you can select them and remove them. I've come across these before and it's annoying.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    Trainz-PLUS: 117669

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    376
     

    Default

    I haven't seen any of them for quite awhile. I kinda miss the trees that would be 500' tall and floating off of the ground that you couldn't delete w/o rebooting tho! Those were interesting.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •