Engineering motor roads in Trainz!

JonMyrlennBailey

Ideally, motor vehicles and roads should be engineered to fit one another like a glove. Railroads ensure that rail vehicles and train tracks fit one another precisely. My grandfather was a civil engineer by trade in the specialties of road construction and excavation and infrastructure has always fascinated me. This is why I dig Surveyor so much. I think I would be a civil engineer if I could start all over again. I made this short video of virtual model railroading and virtual model trucking as a demonstration of how roads and trucks should fit one another.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2-Wuz5z108o

Who here has gotten their trucks or other vehicles stuck over railroad grade crossings and other places where vehicle and road did not fit one another perfectly from an engineering standpoint? Are the changes in grades on the hills of San Francisco so abrupt that a trailer truck could not feasibly negotiate them? I'm a firm believer in uniform standards in any human society.

As far as road construction goes, we can try our best to ensure that the roads have safe stopping distances from railroad tracks and that slopes aren't too steep to help with the look and realism with it, but that's all it is appearances of proper road construction. Carz have no issues stopping while descending a steep slope or hill and have no issues climbing one either. You see, traffic in Trainz is just there for show. Carz move about on their own accord and are generated procedurally based on what information is available in the region config.txt file. On older roads, the number of carz and speed of the carz, can be controlled but other than that we have no other control of them.

In Trainz, I have Carz disabled. Trucks are much more fun to play with anyway. I find working trucks as fascinating as freight railroading. I use the following content to have drivable trucks over YARN road content: