.
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: TRS22 Denver - "Final" Edition Feedback

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    7,406
     

    Default TRS22 Denver - "Final" Edition Feedback

    The release edition of each of the TRS22 routes is now available for one final check.

    The assets installed are:
    <kuid2:661281:110114:1> Quick Drive Session
    <kuid2:450495:100002:10> 01 Winter Park Express - Westbound (Morning)
    <kuid2:57230:100258:12> West from Denver - Moffat Route
    <kuid2:450495:100004:10> 02 Winter Park Express - Eastbound (Evening)
    <kuid2:523:19723967:6> 03 West Local
    <kuid:661281:67539> West from Denver Package
    <kuid2:661281:110115:1> Multiplayer Session

    We would love to get your feedback through this Feedback Form.

    If you find any bugs please use this Trainz Bug Report.
    Last edited by Tony_Hilliam; May 10th, 2022 at 02:08 AM.
    Tony Hilliam

    Got questions about TRS19? Click here for TRS19 FAQs

    Looking for answers to in-game functionality? Click here for help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Crewe United Kingdom
    Posts
    374
     

    Default

    I am pleased that N3V have fixed thee total destruction of the storage tracks at the Rocky lumber yard and I have reworked my local session that provides delivery and collection of product at the lumber yard as well as collection of the Cement hoppers. The repaired tracks are not in exactly the same place as the originals so to get the session to work I had to clone the route so I could delete the missing assets (woodchip hoppers, flatcars and track marks so I could replace them without conflicts. Then of course I had to edit my session to work on the :12 payware session. I would really like to be able to delete the missing assets in separate layers without the hassle of having to create clone routes, edit sessions back to original route and delete the clone route. Just a wish.

    There are two anomalies I found while testing that session: -

    The West end of the bridge to the West of Junction 3543118 has hardcore to trac level like a crossing but through the barriers.

    The West end of the bridge between UPMP10 and 11 has hardcore encroaching on the track when approaching from the East but none when approaching from the West.

    Both minor things and I will run the rest of the route but provided no other things are introduced then I am confident it is all good because I have updated and run all my original sessions on the :11 version and there were no issues worthy of note. I would be interested to know what the issues with the signals on the route were because they are placed in the route layer but settable in the session layer and I hope to be able to continue to use and set them up in any other sessions I make for TZIT routes in TRS22.

    Edit

    There is no road traffic moving or interacting at the crossings. There was in all the Beta versions of the route.
    Last edited by DennR; May 11th, 2022 at 03:57 PM. Reason: Additional bug
    TrainzItalia
    Gold Member for Life
    Ciao - Cheers - Best Regards,
    Bob

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States of America, NJ, Ocean City
    Posts
    2,075
     

    Default

    03 West Local
    After I pick up the loaded cars at Rocky Arosa Lw2 and returned to the main through the Y and stopped for the brakeman to switch the junction, the red signal 55584 never turned green. I then went through it and the session ended. I thought this was fixed. Also, when I was connecting at Arosa I noticed this road problem. It is not a bug but looks bad.
    Last edited by Lewiscc65; May 11th, 2022 at 05:11 PM.
    TS06, TS09, TS10, TS12, New Era SP4, TS19

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States of America, NJ, Ocean City
    Posts
    2,075
     

    Default

    02 Winter Park EXPRESS
    There were no problems with this session other that it took a very long time to run. I think an EXPRESS train should be doing more than 30MPH for a long stretch of time. I fell the minimum should be 45MPH with most set at 50 to 55. The 60MPH stretch was great.
    TS06, TS09, TS10, TS12, New Era SP4, TS19

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    United States of America, Beaver Pennsylvania
    Posts
    831
     

    Default

    There are a lot of tight turns on the route. I have derailed several times going faster and didn't realize I was doing it. The tunnels area have a lot of tight turns.
    TRS22+ 118660
    i7 6700K @ 4.0 ghrtz, nVidia 970
    I don't have a PhD, I have a DD214 - Freedom carries sacrifice

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2,785
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lewiscc65 View Post
    I think an EXPRESS train should be doing more than 30MPH for a long stretch of time. I fell the minimum should be 45MPH with most set at 50 to 55. The 60MPH stretch was great.
    I read somewhere that "express" is related to the number of stations it stops at rather than speed.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Crewe United Kingdom
    Posts
    374
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lewiscc65 View Post
    02 Winter Park EXPRESS
    There were no problems with this session other that it took a very long time to run. I think an EXPRESS train should be doing more than 30MPH for a long stretch of time. I fell the minimum should be 45MPH with most set at 50 to 55. The 60MPH stretch was great.
    I supported the Beta testing of the route during development and the speed limits were set in accordance with the limits on the route as far as possible. The term express in Trainz is directly related to the driver speed rule and for passenger service (express) it is the higher speed from the speed boards. there are two other categories and the lower speed is for freight trains.

    There is a comment about the tight curves and I have posted previously that large parts of the route are on the original Moffat line constructed in the first decade of the 20th century. and the tightest curves would have been placed to allow a 2-6-6-0 Mallet to take them. The Mallets were first delivered as 0-6-6-0 but due to problems taking and derailing on the curves they were retrofitted with the front bogey. So yes the curves are tight and the speed is low due to the nature of this mountain railroad.
    TrainzItalia
    Gold Member for Life
    Ciao - Cheers - Best Regards,
    Bob

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Crewe United Kingdom
    Posts
    374
     

    Default

    I finally got around to looking at the lack of road traffic on the WfD route and it was no surprise to find that N3V have changed the region in the release route. The Beta route used the region <kuid:57230:31050> with cars and N3V have replaced it with the new environmentally friendly default region with no cars. If this was an intentional change to offer some advantage to the users then they should have added the cars back into the route.

    They have not hence there is no road traffic on the route and I suspect the same will be true on other developers routes N3V have adopted. If N3V are unable to update the route to add cars then the only option is to clone the route and change the region from the default to to one of those available on the DLS and there is a post I have seen offering CDE region for USA and also listing others that will replace the traffic free region implemented in TRS19
    TrainzItalia
    Gold Member for Life
    Ciao - Cheers - Best Regards,
    Bob

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Indiana, Avilla
    Posts
    794
     

    Default

    I must say Bob, you really captured the feel of the skiing west. I am not much on western routes but really enjoyed the sessions for this route. Congrats even if N3V is fouling up the works a bit.
    Member since January 12 2001

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Auran, SA, Adelaide
    Posts
    522
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DennR View Post
    The Beta route used the region <kuid:57230:31050> with cars and N3V have replaced it with the new environmentally friendly default region with no cars.
    Hi, Bob. Thanks for the information, we made some changes to the route's effect layers during TRS22 development and while this was warmly welcomed by GFranco himself the region asset appears to have reverted to the default from that point onward. Possibly a quirk of working in a developmental version, I'm not sure. We can certainly look at updating that to the original region asset during the next package update.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Crewe United Kingdom
    Posts
    374
     

    Default

    @mikeman
    Thanks for the kind words, we really do try to make a decent product and I am sure N3V do their best to support that.

    @Rob
    Thanks for confirming that the region change was not intended because I think when the creator is trying to convey a busy vibrant community with the route, that should be protected. If you require the region asset I can send it from the final Beta before the route was sent to yourselves.
    TrainzItalia
    Gold Member for Life
    Ciao - Cheers - Best Regards,
    Bob

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •