5 days work

lewisner

I started playing this game in late 2004. In those days it was unstable and prone to crashing and sometimes I lost months of work. But now it is 2022 and you'd think things would have improved but they haven't.
So tonight I did a lot of work and for some reason the game froze the cursor. I desperately clicked a few buttons and eventually I got things moving and it asked me if I wanted to save before exiting so I did. Then I restarted my PC and opened the game only to find that the route I am working has been utterly destroyed, nothing except patches of colour where fields used to be. The last time I saved to a CDP was 28th of April so that is 5 days of my life utterly wasted. All those hours and hours of work flushed down the toilet.

Welcome to the real world of computing. In the past I regularly experienced your situation using a wide variety of productivity software (it is not just a Trainz issue).

Losing months of work because of an error in programming code (code that I wrote so I had no-one else to blame) taught me about doing regular backups i.e. after every few hours of work or when I exited the program for a break. I know it is no comfort after the event, but that was a lifetime learning experience. Incidentally, it took me only week or two, not the months I originally spent, to get back to where I was when the disaster struck because I avoided the mistakes and dead-end paths in my original work.

Have you checked your Train backup folder. Trainz will keep automatic backups for the last 7 days unless, of course, you have turned that option off.

But now it is 2022 and you'd think things would have improved but they haven't. All those hours and hours of work flushed down the toilet.

Sorry to read about your misfortune, but

Building in a new "Beta" version of Trainz, that's still under development. Well as the old saying goes, you put your "dollar coin" in the slot, then pull the handle. drums spin... Anything can happen!!!