.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 42

Thread: AI trains

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Australia, Western Australia, North Perth
    Posts
    363
     

    Default AI trains

    I've never been really interested in driving trains. I like to watch them and with Trainz and TANE, I set all my trains going with the AI and watched them. With the new TRS2022, however, I cannot find a way to do this. I did eventually find a familiar looking page with "Driver, Driver Rules" etc. but there were no actual drivers there and no rules either.. So, please, please, can someone tell me how to use the AI in 2022.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,389
     

    Default

    If you can do it in TANE you can also do it in TRS22
    Find Edit session in the menu
    and you can add/change drivers, driver commands and rules just like you did in TANE
    give each train a driver and some commands
    save and play your session

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    2,546
     

    Default

    Look in YouTube tutorials for help with AI and more.


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Australia, Western Australia, North Perth
    Posts
    363
     

    Default

    I will try again, but the last time I found Driver and Driver Rules, etc., there were no drivers or rules there. Sigh: getting ready to try again.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    2,546
     

    Default

    When you say "I set my trains going with the AI" - Do you mean simply giving driver commands like "Navigate To" or making Sessions in the session editor? TS22 is the same a 19 in both respects/ Perhaps you went from "Standard" 19 to 22 with "UDS"?? If so you can still issue driver commands in Driver just like in '19 so I guess I don't understand the issue.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Australia, Western Australia, North Perth
    Posts
    363
     

    Default

    I've just had another look. Yes I can reach the driver menu page using the Edit Session from the drop down menu at the top of the page, but I can't do anything with it except edit what is there. If I go to Driver, right click and pick Edit Rule, I can see the rule states add a new driver to each new vehicle - something I find faintly annoying as I often have 2 or more locos to a train and only want a driver in one, and I certainly don't want a driver in an empty train in a siding that's just there for scenery. I also looked at the Driver Rules and did add Drive To.
    However, that is irrelevant. What I can't find the part where I get to tell the driver, installed in a locomotive, what to do. So far, I have only placed one locomotive, but it still doesn't have a driver in it.

  7. #7

    Default

    Driver Setup=
    Untick all the boxes except the top one. If you have no drivers then add one or delete all the drivers except one. Click on vehicle or the name of an engine next to the driver icon and select your engine. In the black window click on the two downward-pointing arrows and select your driver command.
    Driver Command=
    To add driver commands to the list open driver command and tick the commands you want to use and they will appear in the drivers selection list in driver setup.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Australia, Western Australia, North Perth
    Posts
    363
     

    Default

    This appears to be the problem: the Driver thing does not open except for Edit. I can click on it, but nothing happens. There is no driver list and no driver, and even though I can see the rule about every new loco gets a driver, mine don't. I'm am becoming very disenchanted with TRS2022, although I am assuming there is something wrong with my copy. Wish I hadn't spent the money now.
    There are no boxes to untick or tick. No drivers to add or delete. What you descibe, I used to be able to do with TANE, but not this.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    31,460
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rhban View Post
    This appears to be the problem: the Driver thing does not open except for Edit. I can click on it, but nothing happens. There is no driver list and no driver, and even though I can see the rule about every new loco gets a driver, mine don't. I'm am becoming very disenchanted with TRS2022, although I am assuming there is something wrong with my copy. Wish I hadn't spent the money now.
    There are no boxes to untick or tick. No drivers to add or delete. What you descibe, I used to be able to do with TANE, but not this.
    Try this instead. This is actually the "old-fashioned way to edit and create a session.

    Go back to the Driver and Session menu.

    Highlight your route.
    Click View sessions.

    If there are no sessions, click Create Session, else click on Edit session.

    For a new session, setup your region, etc. This is all the same as in TANE.

    On the same menu, you can then edit session. It's here you should be able to edit the Driver setup just like in TANE.

    There are other settings such as remove existing drivers, etc., but leave those settings alone until you setup your driver instructions.

    Even with the UDS Driver/Surveyor thing, I still setup sessions the old-fashioned way. I believe in KISS.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 114800
    TRS22 Beta tester

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Australia, Western Australia, North Perth
    Posts
    363
     

    Default

    Thank you, but really you seem to be giving me the same advice as Stagecoach, only in more detail. I can do all of the above until I get to the Driver Setup page. I can edit the rules - in fact, I've already edited the Rules by adding Drive To, which tends to avoid my trains running miles round the entire circuit just because they get held up for a second, but what I can't do is get Driver to work. Its rule is clearly stated: it will add a driver to any new vehicle or I can change a driver, but none of this works. In fact, it doesn't do anything. There are no drivers there, and my single locomotive is still driverless.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Location
    DFW Metroplex, TX
    Posts
    1,427
     

    Default

    rhban, if you want to just sit back and watch trains, here's some tips. You can ctrl+right click a locomotive to see its options panel. From there, you can press "drive" and it will drive on its own provided it is not stopped by other trains, switches or signals. Enjoy!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Australia, Western Australia, North Perth
    Posts
    363
     

    Default

    Ah, that would be great, except I want it to go the correct way at points (switches) and to stop at stations.
    I am beginning to regret having signed up for gold card - I may be stuck with a defective version of Trainz for the rest of my life!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    31,460
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rhban View Post
    Ah, that would be great, except I want it to go the correct way at points (switches) and to stop at stations.
    I am beginning to regret having signed up for gold card - I may be stuck with a defective version of Trainz for the rest of my life!
    Don't give up yet. Something isn't right here. You are not the only one who had this problem, but I can't remember the resolution.

    Of all things mentioned, have you tried a database repair?

    Close TRS22 back to the Launcher.
    Click on Developer and choose Repair Database.

    The process can take a few minutes or a bit longer depending upon how much content you have installed.

    This usually fixes weird things like basic commands being greyed out.

    Once done, let us know the results.

    If you want, send me your route and I'll take a look at it. PM me a link to a share on google drive, one-drive, or something similar.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 114800
    TRS22 Beta tester

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Australia, Western Australia, North Perth
    Posts
    363
     

    Default

    OK. I assume you meant click "Trainz Settings", which leads to a choice of Ten, Install, MyTrainz & Dev.
    Dev leads to User ID, Daily backups to keep, Time scaling, Debug render, Compatibility mode (all filled in) plus
    Enable advanced debug tools
    Show script exception notifications
    Log script output
    Log script message handling.
    I don't see Repair Database here or on any of the other choices, and I don't know how to put my route on google drive or anything else (that's if I can remember where Mac stores routes - I used to know, but I had an earlier Mac then. which I understood!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    7,271
     

    Default

    On the Mac when you're at the Launcher, up the top is the Developer menu. This has the Repair Database option. I doubt it will help but it won't hurt.

    Can you add some screenshots (you'll need to upload to a file hosting site to link to them). This may help us identify what you're seeing as it sounds different to anything I've seen.

    Also, in Driver, the "Driver Command" mode is toggled by clicking on the three dots bottom right.
    Tony Hilliam

    Got questions about TRS19? Click here for TRS19 FAQs

    Looking for answers to in-game functionality? Click here for help

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •