Ghost AI?

Nightowl4903

I am trying to add a siding to a track in a layout I'm TRYING to build. the problem is that when I test drive a loco on it and try to use the junction , an alert pops up saying an AI train is controlling the junction lever. This is a brand new layout with no other locos on it but the one I'm testing with. I have also noticed that when I place the loco on the track, there are two yellow stripes above it with numbers on them. Does this have to do with AI? Can someone tell me how to keep this from happening?? I'm not exactly thrilled with building a single track layout with no sidings or turnouts. Thanx in advance for any advice offered.
Dale Scott

Hi Dale,

Welcome to the forum. I'm no expert, but I tried - unsuccessfully - to duplicate your situation. Perhaps I'm not understanding the conditions on your route.

Some users are confused by how Surveyor stores some information in a Route layer and other information in a Session layer. On the most basic configurations, normally all the permanent, stationary items like track work, buildings and scenery are placed using the "edit route" mode which will save them in the route layer. The locomotives, rail cars and any settings that you want to be associated with a specific session, are placed using the "edit session" mode in surveyor.

Perhaps this doesn't apply to you, but it is fairly easy to end up with locomotives and rail cars in the route layer and additions of track or track signals in a session layer. Having trains in both layers can produce confusing situations. Perhaps this isn't what's happening in your situation, but that was what came to mind reading your message.

Another thing to check is if there might be two switch levers or two track signals right on top of each other. The one on top hides the one below it, but they work against each other and behave unpredictably.