.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: New Surveyor

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Murrysville
    Posts
    4,220
     

    Cool New Surveyor

    I simply cannot grasp, without instructions, the New Surveyor. I looks like an extensive graphical design program with little relevance to the functions of the old surveyor. There is nothing in the Wiki that I can find. The transformation of selected assets to solid representations not helpful for me. I prefer the adjustment of the real thing. That is about as far as I got. If there are no instructions, with "old is now this" info I am sticking to the old way and awaiting instructions and a description of why the "new" is better than the "old".
    Dick near Pittsburgh, Pa. i5-2500K 4.2ghz, 8gb memory, GTX1060 3gb video card. 116069 115985

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    USA Florida, Illinois and Virginia
    Posts
    1,277
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    Here is the Wiki page for Surveyor 2.0

    https://docs.trainzsimulator.com/docs/surveyor20
    If it's not broke, don't fix it.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Alabama, Birmingham
    Posts
    3,795
     

    Default

    We were asked to proof read the manual a couple of weeks ago in a thread. Ah, I see Christopher beat me to it.
    Last edited by wreeder; December 2nd, 2021 at 09:07 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Czech Republic, South Moravia, Vyskov
    Posts
    282
    Blog Entries
    2
     

    Default

    Today I tried it in a new interface, the brush is finally big, but practically everything is confusing, difficult to control, keyboard shortcuts do not work, I practically do not know where water is created. And I'm not talking about the icons of cdp files and their images, cloning or displaying the selected cdp file can not be seen. In my opinion, there is nothing new there, but it is all very complicated and confusing.
    🚄Visit my website 👉 or wikiquik.eu👈

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Alabama, Birmingham
    Posts
    3,795
     

    Default

    Welcome to the wonderful world of alpha/beta testing. S20 is a WIP and it is what it is at the moment.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    2,385
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DavidPistelak View Post
    Today I tried it in a new interface, the brush is finally big, but practically everything is confusing, difficult to control, keyboard shortcuts do not work, I practically do not know where water is created. And I'm not talking about the icons of cdp files and their images, cloning or displaying the selected cdp file can not be seen. In my opinion, there is nothing new there, but it is all very complicated and confusing.
    That's why reading each and every post in the beta and s20 threads is important. Tony also asked testers to evaluate the online guide. So with new releases it's very important to read the forum posts.

    Here's the S20 doc: https://docs.trainzsimulator.com/docs/surveyor20
    22+ beta 116069; 19+ SP5 beta 116009; 19-Std SP3; Tane
    Win10, GTX1060-6, 1TB SSD(C), 2TB SSD(D)
    Mac M1 Mini, Big Sur - 19+


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    8,536
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DavidPistelak View Post
    Today I tried it in a new interface, the brush is finally big, but practically everything is confusing, difficult to control
    I had very similar complaints when Microsoft introduced their ribbon into their Office products and, to a lesser extent, when GIMP introduced dockable panels/palletes. I cursed, I ranted, I ground my teeth in frustration, I looked (often unsuccessfully) through countless web sites for answers ... until eventually I worked it all out.

    keyboard shortcuts do not work
    Keyboard shortcuts have not yet been added, this is a beta test version and a work in progress.

    I practically do not know where water is created.
    As other have pointed out, read the documentation (which is also a work in progress).

    In my opinion, there is nothing new there, but it is all very complicated and confusing.
    There is a great deal that is new, just read the documentation. The fact that all tools are on the screen and not divided up into little compartments (F1 for ground, F2 for textures, F3 for objects, etc) and they work on all assets is a significant change. Then there is the marquee and scrapbook. Anything that is new and different after 20 years of the "same old same old" will seem complicated and confusing.

    And you can always drop back into Classic Surveyor while you are learning the new interface.

    My thoughts.
    Last edited by pware; December 3rd, 2021 at 07:22 AM.
    Trainz Plus 114800, Win 10, 16GB, RTX 3060Ti
    Trainz Plus 115628, Win 10, 8GB, GTX 1050Ti

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Czech Republic, South Moravia, Vyskov
    Posts
    282
    Blog Entries
    2
     

    Default

    I will definitely solve it I know, I know it's a beta, but it's a big puzzle now, but if I omit the little things, the file images in the left column are too small and the file draws from the icon uploaded in the cdp file folder which is a shame because there are a lot of files that have one image for all the files.
    🚄Visit my website 👉 or wikiquik.eu👈

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    6,940
     

    Default

    Also there will be loads of tutorials coming out on Youtube I'm sure. Approachmedium has posted his first look video
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8RIdYfcdXfc
    Tony Hilliam

    Got questions about TRS19? Click here for TRS19 FAQs

    Looking for answers to in-game functionality? Click here for help

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,196
     

    Default

    I can see that a great deal of work has gone into the new Surveyor, but my first reaction on seeing S20 was utter bewilderment and maybe a little shock. I have cognitive problems due to narcolepsy which make learning anything new somewhat of a challenge and in some cases almost impossible, BUT I think if I'm patient I'll figure it all out eventually. Having a manual is definitely a good thing as is having the Classic Surveyor still available as well to provide a backup just in case.
    Narcolepsy is not napping.



  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    409
     

    Default

    just my two cents on the discussion: as object image could it be possible to have a little rendering of the object instead of the thumbnail image which is often just a nice logo?
    Roberto (sister)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    30,838
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sister View Post
    just my two cents on the discussion: as object image could it be possible to have a little rendering of the object instead of the thumbnail image which is often just a nice logo?
    There is an asset preview option. I can't remember where the button is, but it's the same preview we used to get in the small window in the old Surveyor and when you right-click on an asset in Content Manager and choose Open - > then Preview.

    I find using list view a lot easier than the huge nearly useless thumbnails because the asset-name is visible. In the thumbnail view, all we get are pretty pictures with no description, and in some cases a pretty logo with no indication as to what the asset is. (This might be a bug, but I'm not so sure).
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 114800
    TRS22 Beta tester

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    409
     

    Default

    First of all thanks to JCitron for the help. I found another odd thing: there are two completly different way to create water as S2.0 create it using a specific layer while S1.0 use the add square of water. Problem is I can manage the two different waters only with the surveyor I used to create them. Adding to that the S2.0 layer is not easy workable as the S1.0 system. Here something I cannot explain: I set the water level at -2mt while the ground is 0mt. Well on the border of the board water doesn't change its height so now I have this:


    how can I solve it?
    Last edited by sister; December 5th, 2021 at 11:32 AM.
    Roberto (sister)

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    30,838
     

    Default

    I found it!

    Under the Tools when you are manipulating the water, set height to height-down and you can delete the water. By default, it's set to height-up to add the water.

    The tools are similar to adding in any other kind of effects-layer including in Surveyor 1.0. The problem I have is smoothing the water out so I don't have "water mountains".
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 114800
    TRS22 Beta tester

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    409
     

    Default

    Use the option "set height" with a very large circle for the area, insert in the "height" the level of the water you need and just go with the left click of the mouse all over the water area.
    Roberto (sister)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •