.
Page 16 of 20 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast
Results 226 to 240 of 291

Thread: Surveyor 2.0 feedback thread

  1. #226
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    7,560
     

    Default

    Classic is great at single tasks. After all it's been the backbone of Trainz for 20+ years, so it's got a LOT going for it.

    Now try counting clicks to move track, move trackside object, move scenery object and let me know.

    Or move an entire section of track and all surrounding objects a few meters (two clicks in S20).

    Or my favourite, place a whole yard:
    - Click Presets
    - Search Yard
    - Set radius to desired dimension
    - Click

    Or to rotate that whole yard a few degrees, then move it 5 meters south:
    - Select the Fine Adjustment tool
    - Marquee Select the yard
    - Rotate the entire selection using one of the track gizmo handles
    - Add 5 to the X value in the Info tool



    I'll be on Discord 10am AEST tomorrow to do some demos - you can watch on a live stream, join in the voice chat, and/or log in to the KSC2 route.
    Tony Hilliam

    NEED HELP? Check these links:

    Trainz Plus Features |
    Support Portal | Surveyor 2.0 Guide | TRS19 FAQs | Trainz Wiki

  2. #227
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,569
     

    Default

    Tried the shortcut keys and for some reason they are hard to remember for me
    more of a mouse person anyway.


    S2 Current shortcut defaults:
    w Brush tool
    e Placement tool
    r Eyedropper tool
    s Free Move tool
    d Fine Adjustment tool (is there a Coarse Adjustment tool?)
    f Marquee tool


    t context menu (contextual menu, when selected and click the small icon)
    Ctrl d, cancel selection (important function that needs 2 keys)


    Easier to remember shortcuts (associations)
    b Brush tool
    p Placement tool
    e Eyedropper tool
    f Free Move tool
    a Adjustment tool
    m Marquee tool


    c context menu
    Esc cancel any selection, operation

  3. #228
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    7,560
     

    Default

    The defaults are mapped to the keyboard in the same layout as the tool palette. Once you make that association, and remember W is the Brush tool, it's easy. So Fine Adj. is one key across and one down = D.
    Tony Hilliam

    NEED HELP? Check these links:

    Trainz Plus Features |
    Support Portal | Surveyor 2.0 Guide | TRS19 FAQs | Trainz Wiki

  4. #229
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    9,663
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony_Hilliam View Post
    The defaults are mapped to the keyboard in the same layout as the tool palette. Once you make that association, and remember W is the Brush tool, it's easy. So Fine Adj. is one key across and one down = D.
    I agree. The keys are in the same order, horizontally and vertically, as the on screen icons. That makes them easy for me to remember.
    Development: Trainz Plus - b119450
    Testing: Trainz Plus beta - b119450
    GTX1050Ti, RTX3060Ti and RTX3050Ti, Win 10 & 11

  5. #230

    Default

    In the past two months, I've been working on a route almost entirely with S20. Currently, I'm at the stage of laying desired track layouts for all stations. I'd like to say that S20 is a big step forward, and makes a lot of things a lot faster even in the current WIP state. Thanks to all the team who work on this project and keep doing the good job!

    Things that are great:

    - large sizes of brush tools: great for terrain height editing
    - gizmo for precision moving
    - ability to enter angles etc. from the keyboard
    - small black dots marking the curve vertices

    Generally I feel that making the complex track layout is a lot easier now than it used to be. All elements can be aligned with great precision. Making 8km straight track is also very easy. Basically, my route is partially fictional, that is: inspired by a real layout, but with many custom changes and additions. I started with measuring the lengths of tracks and angles/radii of curves in Google Earth Pro, and I could easily recreate them in S20. Then, I polished the terrain and started adding stations. Also, despite that all types of objects (scenery, splines, tracks, etc.) are now editable "together", I found the selection tool working surprisingly good. Also, I managed to move whole parts of the station thanks to the selection and gizmos.

    At the beginning, I had no idea how to add new baseboards with S20. It took me a while, but once I found this option, it turned out to work well.

    The one thing that I miss is the ability to switch the default behavior of laying splines and tracks between "settle on ground" and the current default. When I need to rework a small piece of the scenery (or add some details) on the already aligned terrain, and all new splines/tracks keep getting lost underground. I need to find their possible location and click "Settle on ground" to make them visible. Or firstly laying all of them on a flat patch of ground and then move everything to the intended position.

    Comment to the italic text: and it looks that you're also very quick at applying feedback. I wrote this post while waiting for SP1 to install, and it looks like after the upgrade, "Settle on ground" is the default behavior! Thanks!
    Last edited by ZyxwvU; October 22nd, 2022 at 12:58 AM.

  6. #231
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    639
     

    Default

    There is something I was used and now I cannot find anymore: the bookmarks. How does it work in S20 or what is usable instead of them?
    Roberto (sister)

  7. #232
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Germany, SAL, Merzig
    Posts
    1,919
     

    Default

    I did not read those 16 sites but is there feedback about the water?

    The new water is really complicated and me and some others did not yet find a way to remove water-effects...

  8. #233
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    7,560
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sister View Post
    There is something I was used and now I cannot find anymore: the bookmarks. How does it work in S20 or what is usable instead of them?
    Bookmarks can be set (and found again) using hotkeys in S20:
    * Use Ctrl + Alt + <number> to set
    * Use Alt + >number> to go to bookmark (i.e. hold Alt and press a key to jump to the location)

    The new water is really complicated and me and some others did not yet find a way to remove water-effects...
    You remove the effect by lowering the water below the terrain. See https://online.ts2009.com/mediaWiki/...r_Effect_Layer
    Tony Hilliam

    NEED HELP? Check these links:

    Trainz Plus Features |
    Support Portal | Surveyor 2.0 Guide | TRS19 FAQs | Trainz Wiki

  9. #234
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Swansea, Wales.
    Posts
    112
     

    Default

    Bookmarks are not working for me in S20. Trainz+ build 119450. Can someone test on their system please.

    John
    Modelling the railways of South & West Wales.

  10. #235
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    9,663
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johnarran View Post
    Bookmarks are not working for me in S20. Trainz+ build 119450. Can someone test on their system please.
    Just tested it and I can confirm that setting and accessing bookmarks (using the keyboard) are NOT working in S20. They are working in S10.
    Development: Trainz Plus - b119450
    Testing: Trainz Plus beta - b119450
    GTX1050Ti, RTX3060Ti and RTX3050Ti, Win 10 & 11

  11. #236
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Swansea, Wales.
    Posts
    112
     

    Default

    Thank you pware.
    Modelling the railways of South & West Wales.

  12. #237
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    9,663
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    I have submitted a bug report.
    Development: Trainz Plus - b119450
    Testing: Trainz Plus beta - b119450
    GTX1050Ti, RTX3060Ti and RTX3050Ti, Win 10 & 11

  13. #238
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    United States of America, Wisconsin
    Posts
    304
    Blog Entries
    9
     

    Default

    Is there a hot key or shortcut to switch to a pick list? It gets frustrating clicking back and forth from "Scenery Object" to "Picklist." Am I missing something?
    Jeff

  14. #239
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    7,560
     

    Default

    Maybe I'm missing something - how would the hotkey decide which Picklist to select?

    In S20, clicking on the Asset Palette dropdown list shows you a list of all your Picklists and it's one more click to load that list.
    Tony Hilliam

    NEED HELP? Check these links:

    Trainz Plus Features |
    Support Portal | Surveyor 2.0 Guide | TRS19 FAQs | Trainz Wiki

  15. #240

    Default

    The main thing I miss most from Surveyor Classic that is not in S20 is the in-game filters - Ctrl + Shift + F
    If I have installed a load of new content then I like to to set the Date installed to each day in turn to add stuff from that day. I also use the Category-Region and type for example to show Locomotives from Poland. I can go into Content Manager and set up a filter for this but it is cumbersome particularly if it is a temporary filter like the date installed one. For the moment, it is easy to go into Surveyor Classic but in the longer term it would be good to have some filters built in to S20.
    That is pretty much the only thing I need to use classic for now as S20 is so much more intuitive, the transform 'gizmo' and bring able to type in rotation/height etc such a time saver.
    The only other reason for using classic is consists and if I need to select a specific category - manipulating consists inside a station is easier in the trains tab as nothing else is movable then.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •