.
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Oh, those Trainz cameras!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    United States of America, Oklahoma, Lawton
    Posts
    1,729
    Blog Entries
    5
     

    Angry Oh, those Trainz cameras!

    When a train goes into a tunnel, underground in either the Chase or Lineside view, it should be designed to automatically switch to in-cab view until the train goes above ground again. When in Chase view and the train goes under ground, the camera will be dragged along the top of the mountain looking down. The way things are at least in TS 12 and TANE, the camera defaults to Chase when there is no lineside camera in range. Why they never made Chase view work well in tunnels is beyond me. If the Chase camera is near ground level, the camera will be pulled upward and look straight downward when the train goes in a tunnel it will not go back to its original position on its own again when the train comes out of the tunnel. The Chase camera will not hold its original position when the train goes under ground.

    Is there aftermarket content that can customize camera behavior to give the Trainzer more camera options?
    TANE SP4 Build 105766, upgraded Aug. 2021, TS12 Build 61388, downloaded Feb. 2018, American citizen, Lawton, OK

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    United States of America, Oregon, Forest Grove
    Posts
    628
     

    Default

    Yes, agreed.

    Our cameras do have some annoying quirks.

    I'm hoping to see this rectified when the new Surveyor 2.0 is released, or at least soon after


    Rico

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Meridian, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    4,678
     

    Default

    I think if the chase view is set close enough to the loco, it goes to a scene of the tunnel just at the top of the loco, but I'm not sure at what distance that is determined.
    “We are all travelers in the wilderness of this world, and the best we can find in our travels is an honest friend.” - R.L.S.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,448
     

    Default

    It depends on the type of the tunnel. Only if they have the line 'istunnel 1' in their config, the camera is switched to the top of the locomotive.

    Peter

  5. #5

    Default

    Well I can't find the cause but on a route I have on the entrance to some tunnels your camera gets auto switched to cab then upon exit it goes to chase or free roaming. I've searched my CM for any signs of "camera triggers" but can't find anything that suggests it. The route is pfx's Midshire and Rosworth Valley route.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    17,192
     

    Default

    <kuid:76656:60100> Underground Boundary Trigger by boat, it's a trigger that you place before and after a tunnel or anywhere else you don't want the camera on top of.
    Malc


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,448
     

    Default

    There are some tunnel portals (like <kuid2:122285:3225:2> AJS Severn Portal East and<kuid2:122285:3226:2> AJS Severn Portal West), which switch to camera mode 1 (cabview), when entering the tunnel, and back to the previous mode, when leaving the tunnel.

    Peter

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    726
     

    Default

    maybe I can script it in my Set-Driver-Condition-Rule :-)
    then no triggers needed if its a well made tunnel (with tag: istunnel 1)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    United States of America, Oklahoma, Lawton
    Posts
    1,729
    Blog Entries
    5
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by clam1952 View Post
    <kuid:76656:60100> Underground Boundary Trigger by boat, it's a trigger that you place before and after a tunnel or anywhere else you don't want the camera on top of.
    Very good, Clam, thanks. Just what I had wished I had discovered way back in 2015 when I first started building Trainz routes. Sometimes I like to Trainz-watch while lying in bed so I want want my Driver cameras to behave the way I want hands off and enjoy the view. Underground Boundary Trigger auto-magically switches to in-cab view in tunnel from either Chase or Lineside. I just downloaded this and tested it. When the train comes out of the tunnel, it switches back to Chase or Lineside again. Lineside defaults to Chase when there is no lineside camera within range. One note: while in the tunnel, you should NOT adjust your cab camera position or it will alter your previous Chase camera angle when the train exits the tunnel. It's best to get your favorite cab angle and chase angle set up long before the train approaches a tunnel. I like Lineside a lot, but for Chase, I like to position the camera angle low on the track in front of the loco toward the right-hand side facing the loco. There are some spots over the layout where lineside switches to chase. One might use this content when the train goes through a narrow canyon or next to a cliff wall so the Chase camera doesn't get re-positioned upward if it's way off to the side. High (elevated) nearby ground forces the low-level chase camera to move upward. I'm also sick of rain inside tunnels to boot and boat has this for a cure.

    Also you need boat's dependency for this content for it to be placed on the route and work: Tunnel Portal Script Library,<kuid2:76656:80015:1>
    Last edited by JonMyrlennBailey; September 19th, 2021 at 08:36 PM.
    TANE SP4 Build 105766, upgraded Aug. 2021, TS12 Build 61388, downloaded Feb. 2018, American citizen, Lawton, OK

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Australia, NSW
    Posts
    1,996
     

    Default

    Well you learn something every day around here, thanks for the info Clam, and in my case the tunnel portal script is built-in, TRS19 that is.
    Working on Trainz.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    United States of America, Oklahoma, Lawton
    Posts
    1,729
    Blog Entries
    5
     

    Default

    I have a route now without actually using any bona fide "tunnel" content: my tunnels are home-rolled from off-the shelf bits and pieces.... just dig holes, high, dark 10m wall for walls and portals, AJS low wall set deep in the ground for tops of wall to cover up minor dig hole gaps between ground and ballast floor at portals, concrete slabs for roofs, JR ballast track, dark ballast spline for floor, old-west wood signs as portal number markers and separate layers for tunnel components.

    Last edited by JonMyrlennBailey; September 20th, 2021 at 01:15 PM.
    TANE SP4 Build 105766, upgraded Aug. 2021, TS12 Build 61388, downloaded Feb. 2018, American citizen, Lawton, OK

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •