.
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Game Crash

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    30
     

    Default Game Crash

    Hello.
    I posted a while back about changing pcs and wanting to get my save data for trains 2019. Well after coming to the conclusion of finding out my save data was gone. I have spent a few days redownloading everything from the DLS.
    I went into one of the routes I installed for editing today and it keeps crashing back to desktop and then when I start the game back up and select the route I was trying to work on I get a box saying the route has unsubmitted edits and says it was not shut down properly and may have corrupted assets.
    I've trying reverting and using the changes it says but everytime it still crashes.
    So any help on solving this issue is appreciated.
    This has happend before on my old pc but it fixed itself in the long run and or I fixed it and forgot what I did.
    Also I have steam version of Trainz 2019.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    29,547
     

    Default

    There are a number of things that can cause this and here are a couple that can help with the problem.

    Increase the size of your page file to 3x your installed RAM.

    Exclude any and all TRS19-related folders from your antivirus scanning.

    Generally these two things fix that problem most of the time.

    Also ensure all your drivers are up-to-date and your PC is running cool, otherwise it can crash due to heat.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 109641

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Australia, NSW
    Posts
    1,709
     

    Default

    The main thing you should be doing here, unless you've done it, is an extended DBR, ie data-base repair which is necessary anytime there is a crash. Go to the launcher (do not have the game running) and click on developer and hold down the CTRL key when you click on 'rebuild database'. If you are editing/creating routes, make sure you make CDP copies of them periodically encase something like this happens.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    30
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alikiwi View Post
    The main thing you should be doing here, unless you've done it, is an extended DBR, ie data-base repair which is necessary anytime there is a crash. Go to the launcher (do not have the game running) and click on developer and hold down the CTRL key when you click on 'rebuild database'. If you are editing/creating routes, make sure you make CDP copies of them periodically encase something like this happens.

    I wont loose anything never even got started. i was just trying to look the map over to see where i wanted to begin and the crash happend and it then kept crashing but i will try what you said.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    30
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JCitron View Post
    There are a number of things that can cause this and here are a couple that can help with the problem.

    Increase the size of your page file to 3x your installed RAM.

    Exclude any and all TRS19-related folders from your antivirus scanning.

    Generally these two things fix that problem most of the time.

    Also ensure all your drivers are up-to-date and your PC is running cool, otherwise it can crash due to heat.
    I've Ruled out overheating and drivers are up to date. so it could be the antivirus part. and I know on the old pc i never messed with the ram and fixed the problem somehow but as i said i dont remember if i did do something or if it just fixed itself on my old pc cause it was working fine on my old pc up to the point before i switched pcs

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    29,547
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffy88 View Post
    I've Ruled out overheating and drivers are up to date. so it could be the antivirus part. and I know on the old pc i never messed with the ram and fixed the problem somehow but as i said i dont remember if i did do something or if it just fixed itself on my old pc cause it was working fine on my old pc up to the point before i switched pcs
    Go with the antivirus first then see what happens. KISS.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 109641

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    30
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alikiwi View Post
    The main thing you should be doing here, unless you've done it, is an extended DBR, ie data-base repair which is necessary anytime there is a crash. Go to the launcher (do not have the game running) and click on developer and hold down the CTRL key when you click on 'rebuild database'. If you are editing/creating routes, make sure you make CDP copies of them periodically encase something like this happens.
    I tired this and it didnt fix anything.........?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    30
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JCitron View Post
    Go with the antivirus first then see what happens. KISS.
    The Routes did have some missing dependencies so im redownloading it to see if that works. if not i will try the anti virus. but im not quite sure where to go to keep it from reading the files?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,259
     

    Default

    Hi,
    Not sure about your antivirus - we use Trend - look in the settings for an exclusion list.
    I've added all the game directories and the application directories to my exclusion lists. Trainz is particularly sensitive as it loads lots of asset files as you drive a route (and forgets them). If your virus checker intercepts every read, it will cripple your frame rate, and may cause the odd time out
    Colin

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Australia, NSW
    Posts
    1,709
     

    Default

    Well if the route had missing dependencies you should have just downloaded them. If you've also told your anti-virus to not block the game, then maybe we should ask what your PC specs are and see if that could be an issue.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •