.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: strange blocking ground texture.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Netherlands, Utrecht, Soest
    Posts
    355
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default strange blocking ground texture.

    After a struggle to reinstall TRS19 (111951) Last SP I found my routes in this strange blocking ground texture.
    Anybody some idea how to discourage it.
    For me It doesn't have to do with a mix of regular and PBR textures





  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Meridian, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    4,055
     

    Default

    Is it happening at spline points for the tracks? Can you raise those points?
    “We are all travelers in the wilderness of this world, and the best we can find in our travels is an honest friend.” - R.L.S.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Australia, NSW
    Posts
    1,705
     

    Default

    Clearly he doesn't need to raise track spline points or they'll be above the ground! There is something else going on, hence why I never install updates, too many problems. Looks like some sort of ghosting, but no idea why. All I can suggest is doing an extended DBR - data-base repair.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Australia, Victoria, Churchill
    Posts
    2,212
     

    Default

    Supplying the KUIDs of the track and ground texture would help diagnose the problem. Just a guess, but is the scale of the ground texture towards maximum and possibly using PBR track? Without specifics, that's all I got, but I doubt an EDBR would fix it.
    @Alikiwi - chill mate! The vast majority of people install updates as they drop and never have a problem.
    cheers
    Graeme

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Australia, ACT, AMAROO
    Posts
    834
     

    Default

    To fix the problem, simply change your Shader quality to Standard (look in the performance menu). The fault is caused by PBR textures and first appeared following the initial update to TRS 19.

    Regards
    Bob
    Bob Cooper

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Netherlands, Utrecht, Soest
    Posts
    355
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Forester1 View Post
    Is it happening at spline points for the tracks? Can you raise those points?
    Before there was a trackbed with groundtexture

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Netherlands, Utrecht, Soest
    Posts
    355
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    Thanks was forgotten after a trouble update and so many frustration

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Netherlands, Utrecht, Soest
    Posts
    355
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert3a0 View Post
    To fix the problem, simply change your Shader quality to Standard (look in the performance menu). The fault is caused by PBR textures and first appeared following the initial update to TRS 19.

    Regards
    Bob
    Thanks was forgotten after a trouble update and so many frustration

  9. #9

    Default

    Hi,

    Is the problem solved?

    To my eyes it looks like a "dig hole" object has removed a grid square.

    Linda

  10. #10

    Default

    It is a problem of old textures and new PBR textures meeting. They don't mix well.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Australia, Victoria, Churchill
    Posts
    2,212
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shortline2 View Post
    Hi,

    Is the problem solved?

    To my eyes it looks like a "dig hole" object has removed a grid square.

    Linda
    No, nothing to do with dighole. The cause is the intersecting PBR textures of the track and the standard terrain textures (greater texture scaling makes the effect more pronounced). The solution in this case is to bulk change the track to non PBR procedural track OR lower the shader quality to standard in "Trainz Settings" on the launcher. This has the effect of rendering the PBR texures as standard (no height mapping). Personally I would change the track so as not to lose the effects of PBR and ultra shading.
    cheers
    Graeme

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    29,531
     

    Default

    To be honest, it's a shame that content creators didn't create a new asset KUID for the PBR equivalents rather than update the existing ones. The reason is it destroys many older routes that use the non-PBR textures and that requires the user to go through great hoops to repair the routes. There's nothing worse than find that a route has been rendered to crap because the textures were updated. With that said, I have cloned the older versions of the same textures and replaced the PBR versions with the older cloned ones. This has been my saver for situations like this.

    If the OP doesn't want to go through the trouble of finding and cloning the older textures, he can bulk replace these textures with non-PBR ones that look similar. This works 99.99% of the time. If the issue turns out to be the track, that can easily be replaced as well with non-PBR pro-track if he wants.
    Last edited by JCitron; May 8th, 2021 at 10:11 AM.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 109641

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,918
     

    Default

    Yes, it's happened to me too.

    It happens:

    • When you mix PBR and non-PBR textures.
    • When you mix PBR textures (or even the same PBR texture) with different scale settings.


    Phil

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Murrysville
    Posts
    3,999
     

    Default

    SHADER RESOLUTION fixed the remaining areas of my problems after a few hours of manually fiddling the problem yesterday. I was curious about the effect of a max res. setting for shaders. PBR incursion was a disaster.
    Dick near Pittsburgh, Pa. i5-2500K 4.2ghz, 8gb memory, GTX1060 3gb video card. 111951

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    was in the Netherlands
    Posts
    5,352
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    IIRC, the people who write the code are not the same people who actually use it to create a route. This seems to be a perfect example of unintended consequences.


    70337:
    TRS19 Platinum, build 110491 SP2, Win10 Pro 64 bit, i7-7700 3.6GHz 16 GB, GTX 1070 Ti

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •