.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Tips For Freeing up Disk Space?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Ohio, Girard
    Posts
    1,286
    Blog Entries
    2
     

    Default Tips For Freeing up Disk Space?

    Hi all,

    For a little while, I've been trying to free up as much disk space as possible on my 2 TB SSD. I currently have close to 800 gb of free space now. I've been going through all of my DLS installed content and deleting a lot of old, unused, or otherwise unwanted assets to make room for new ones. Does anyone have any tips that can be helpful for making the clean up process less tedious, or more efficient? I've been going into the dependency lists of routes I plan to get rid of and removing deps that are used only by the route in question. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Ohio
    Posts
    4,195
     

    Default

    I night take a little longer, but have you tried the reverse? Right-click content and choose: List Depandants.

    This will let you know every route you use this particular piece of content on all in one shot.

    Bill
    Name: Bill (USN, Retired) Into computers over 55 years
    User ID: 202442
    Trainzer since: 2003
    Currently using: T:ANE (SP4)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    7,507
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Unless you are one of those Trainz users who insist on copying everything that is on the DLS onto your own HDD/SSD, then in my experience deleting unused/unwanted assets will do little to free up space - ignoring the fact that base and built-in "unwanted" assets cannot be deleted anyway. The vast majority of assets range from a few kilobytes up to a few Megabytes in size with most at the lower end and many of those at the "big end" are assets made with SketchUp which I studiously avoid.

    Your post prompted me to do a survey of my currently installed/built-in assets - 10319 of them.

    Those over 100mb = 34 - only 4 of which are installed from the DLS. The 3 biggest, all over 500mb, are built in cabin interiors.
    Those from 1mb to 99.9mb = 2865. While I didn't attempt to subdivide and count them it was clear that the majority of those are base/built-in.

    So the vast majority of my installed assets are less that 1mb in size.

    Sorting them all on their status/origin.

    Built-in/Base (including those that are obsolete) = 6580
    Installed Payware (which cannot be deleted in CM) = 828
    Installed from DLS = 2189
    Installed from DLS, obsolete = 22 (I will delete those)
    Modified (assets of my creation) = 47
    "Third Party" (????) = 16 (all of these came originally from the DLS so go figure!)

    Deleting "unwanted" assets (unwanted, not necessarily obsolete) is always problematic. If you later download a new route that requires those deleted unwanted assets then they will be back on your system again.

    Many of the posts on this issue that I have read have made the observation that storage is now so cheap that installing a bigger SSD is often an easier option.

    My thoughts.
    Peter
    TRS19 Platinum Edition build 111951

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    1,722
     

    Default

    withdrawn -
    Last edited by 1611mac; April 5th, 2021 at 08:26 PM.
    Greg
    TRS19-Gold Plus-110491, Plus Beta-111951
    WIN10 GTX 1060-6 Windforce
    - also OSX installs: iMac, MBP


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    29,263
     

    Default

    I have gone through this exercise many times only to end up restoring content because the dependents filter lied. I have also gone through this exercise and ended up installing the same content again after downloading or restoring a route from backup. I concur it's easier to put in a larger hard drive and be done with it. It's a lot easier that way than dealing with this.

    Recently, I did some maintenance and found I have a lot of really, really old assets. As I started to look through these, I found that some are really nice but ended up being forgotten. So again so much for cleaning up content because these buildings and other assets have now found their way on to my routes again. The trains, however, are way too old to look any good now, but seeing these along with the other stuff did bring back memories of the heady days of TRS2004 and before when making and sharing content was a heck of a lot easier. Seeing some of the names too of content creators no longer with us too, set up some memories of those days in the early forums when we used to have a blast with waffle cards when going too far off topic, and changing avatars as we moved up the ranks.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 109641

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    83
     

    Default

    Concur with JCitron. I recently bought a 6 TB external HDD drive from Target for $130 and change. I then copied over all my "extraneous" content to there to free up space on my main system drives. As much as I would like to flat out delete a lot of the old content, some of it has this irritating habit of popping up as dependencies for routes that continue to get added to the DLS, much of that content from sites that are sketchy at best, or now long gone. It's aggravating and a pain, and might put me close to being considered a "hoarder" - then again its a resource for many items that are no longer available. In my case this is mostly discrete individual items (or packs) I've saved over the years. And while I haven't gone this far yet, if the save is of a current installed db (even if from an older version of Trainz), I can simply repoint the game to the save and extract any required items - which is something I'm sure you know. My point is that, having spent my 40 some odd working years involved with computing systems in one form or another, and having burned myself way too many times with neglecting to save my own copy of this or that file, thinking I'd never need it again going forward, or that there was always a save on my employer's system - I now save everything on my own devices, even if only on thumb drives. I've strayed a bit further afield than your original inquiry, other than suggesting ways to make and keep your own backups or archive. Then clean the live files accordingly. Not sure that helps in making the process any less tedious, but then, storage space is cheap.

    So far I haven't found any way to eliminate items with no dependents systematically other than per individual item, not that someone may have written such a utility or script to do that. If there is such a thing, it's in private hands as far as I know. It could be one of a number of useful utilities that might be applied to Content Manager.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2,288
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thenelm1 View Post
    So far I haven't found any way to eliminate items with no dependents systematically other than per individual item
    Easy to do:

    • In CM set on default filter ("Installed"):

    - click any line then hit Ctrl+A to select all
    - right-click the list and select "List Dependencies Recursively"
    - in the new window click anywhere in "Asset KUID" field, hit Ctrl+A then Ctrl+C

    • Set a new filter as follows:

    Installed > True
    Built-in > False
    [optional] On Download Station > False/True at your convenience
    AND NOT
    Asset KUID

    • Click in "Asset KUID" empty field then hit Ctrl+V


    CM now displays all installed assets that have no dependants.
    Last edited by HPL; April 6th, 2021 at 08:28 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,673
    Blog Entries
    2
     

    Default

    That's great, I was wondering if there was a way to set that up as well. Merci beaucoup.
    i5 8600k 4.4 GHZ-ASUS ROG STRIX Z370E-MSI GTX 1070ti
    16GB DDR4 2666-Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD
    US Army 1978-84

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2,288
     

    Default

    Post updated: please read "List Dependencies Recursively" instead of "List Assets in New Window" (wrong copy/paste)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    1,722
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HPL View Post
    Easy to do:

    • In CM set on default filter ("Installed"):

    - click any line then hit Ctrl+A to select all
    - right-click the list and select "List Dependencies Recursively"
    - in the new window click anywhere in "Asset KUID" field, hit Ctrl+A then Ctrl+C

    • Set a new filter as follows:

    Installed > True
    Built-in > False
    [optional] On Download Station > False/True at your convenience
    AND NOT
    Asset KUID

    • Click in "Asset KUID" empty field then hit Ctrl+V


    CM now displays all installed assets that have no dependants.
    Don't you also need to eliminate Sessions and Routes as well as "Built In" (2nd bullet point)?
    AND NOT - Session
    AND Not - Routes
    Greg
    TRS19-Gold Plus-110491, Plus Beta-111951
    WIN10 GTX 1060-6 Windforce
    - also OSX installs: iMac, MBP


  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2,288
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 1611mac View Post
    Don't you also need to eliminate Sessions and Routes as well as "Built In" (2nd bullet point)?
    AND NOT - Session
    AND Not - Routes
    Everyone is free to add the filters that suit him.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Ohio, Girard
    Posts
    1,286
    Blog Entries
    2
     

    Default

    I'm gonna have to give this a try! It sounds like a nice trick to make asset management a bit easier. Thanks!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    1,722
     

    Default

    by the way... Have you checked if TRS19 is doing it's five sets of backups? If so you might want to bump that down. I do my own backups so I set mine to zero.
    Greg
    TRS19-Gold Plus-110491, Plus Beta-111951
    WIN10 GTX 1060-6 Windforce
    - also OSX installs: iMac, MBP


  14. #14

    Default

    Don't download Trainz.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    7,507
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Don't install Windows 10 - its bloatware takes up more space that TRS19 ever will in my opinion.
    TRS19 Platinum Edition build 111951

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •