MPS - A most needed fix

xcandiottix

Hello,

I've been playing Trainz for over the past 10 years and have always found the game very enjoyable even considering some of the more finicky issues. I've recently come back to the game after taking a break for a couple years to find out about the MPS system. This was fantastic news as myself and a small group of friends wanted to get back into playing but quite honestly dreaded having to send map files back and forth to each other and finagle with the iPortal. My expectations were low but we went ahead and purchased Trainz 2019 as well as upgrading to the My Trains membership for a month deciding to all give it a shot.

So far it has been a blast and we've been working on a map for the past two weeks with much excitement adding terrain, interdependent-industries, trains and schedules and more. The ease of building and interactivity has certainly taken this game to a whole new level.

However, after running our first few operating sessions which are very much focused on picking up full goods from industries, returning them to a yard for switching and train composition and then heading back out to fulfill industries we noticed something strange. It would feel like right after we deliver a full train of coal to the power company or pick-up a full load of logs from the logging company and then log off for the night, by next session all the industries had changed. Digging into this further it seems that all of the industries do a hard reset to whatever their default stockpiles are set to whenever we start a new session.

This problem completely breaks our operating session mechanics.

Some industries we don't operate the session long enough to need a pick up or delivery, others require a long journey to get to only to just make it before the end of the session to log back in the next day and its empty again.