.
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Is this a hint to the future direction of Trainz?

  1. #1

    Post Is this a hint to the future direction of Trainz?

    The new TRS19 SP3 Beta 111341 hides non DLC routes by default

    The new default menu setting in Driver/Surveyor is set to Routes - Purchased. It shows only purchased DLC content both installed and not installed. It hides all routes that are installed from DLS, third parties and locally modified or created.

    I wonder if this change to show only DLC by default is to condition players to think that N3V DLC content is the ONLY content to use?

    Is this a hint at the future direction Trainz is planning to take where only N3V DLC content exists, where all content creators are forced to sell through the Trainz Store and the DLS is no more?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    7,771
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by K_181 View Post
    I wonder if this change ... is to condition players

    Is this a hint at the future direction Trainz is planning to take ....
    Its a beta, things like that happen. There are enough conspiracy theories in the world today without bringing them into our favourite hobby.

    A lot can happen between the beta and the RC1, RC2, etc.

    But thank you for informing me that a new beta was available (I haven't been paying attention to the beta forums). Installing it now.

    Done. Now I see what you are talking about - that change was made in SP2 (I believe) so it is nothing new. In any case my standard method of selecting a route is to start typing its name in the Search box next to the Region button. It is much quicker that way.

    Back to reality ...
    Last edited by pware; February 19th, 2021 at 08:04 PM.
    TRS19 Plus build 111951 and build 113142

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    1,865
     

    Default

    Yes.. that was done in SP2. pware is correct. It does not "hide" anything. It's a filter that defaults to "Purchased." Just set it to "installed" and you will see all your installed Routes (or Consists, or Loco's, or Rolling Stock, etc depending what the "Type" filter is set to."

    And like pware, I just find my routes by typing in the search box. As soon as you start typing routes will appear and filter down as you type more.
    Greg
    TRS19 StdEd 111951, Gold+SP2, Plus-111951, Plus Beta-113547
    WIN10 GTX 1060-6 Windforce
    - also OSX installs: iMac, MBP


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Meridian, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    4,193
     

    Default

    Different language in betas?
    My SP2 is set to ROUTES - OWNED. Seems to include DLS and DLC.... Must be by default, as I have changed nothing. I do not even see "PURCHASED", I only see "PREMIUM CONTENT" as an option.
    “We are all travelers in the wilderness of this world, and the best we can find in our travels is an honest friend.” - R.L.S.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    1,865
     

    Default

    "Source" dropdown menu:

    My 110491 has: All, Download Station, Installed, Owned, My Content, Built-in, Locally modified, Premium Content, Favorites. Default is "Owned"

    My 111341 has: "Purchased" instead of "Owned." Same thing, different language. Default is "Purchased."
    Greg
    TRS19 StdEd 111951, Gold+SP2, Plus-111951, Plus Beta-113547
    WIN10 GTX 1060-6 Windforce
    - also OSX installs: iMac, MBP


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Meridian, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    4,193
     

    Default

    Hmmmm..... To me "Premium Content" should be the same as Purchased. It looks like they are including DLS under Owned, but not under Purchased, so they are not giving it the same meaning. I guess you have to set it to "ALL" then to see all of your routes, in which case that should be the default, in my opinion.
    “We are all travelers in the wilderness of this world, and the best we can find in our travels is an honest friend.” - R.L.S.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    1,865
     

    Default

    I only want to see the items I have actually installed. If I want to see un-installed items I'll use Content Manager. And why default me to see all the "Cloud" multiPlayer routes that I'll never use.
    Greg
    TRS19 StdEd 111951, Gold+SP2, Plus-111951, Plus Beta-113547
    WIN10 GTX 1060-6 Windforce
    - also OSX installs: iMac, MBP


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    29,700
     

    Default

    The whole thing is messed up. Clicking on purchased shows downloaded as well as my own content. I reported this to the QA team and was told this issue was passed back to the developers.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 109641

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Meridian, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    4,193
     

    Default

    Yeah, I was thinking of "All" as "All Installed". No way I would want to see all the routes installed or not. As 1611Mac says, that is what CM is for. So then I see no parallel to "Owned", which to me would be Payware DLC plus Downloaded DLS Routes.
    “We are all travelers in the wilderness of this world, and the best we can find in our travels is an honest friend.” - R.L.S.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •