.
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Bay Line GP-38 Re-lettering

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Pa, Reading
    Posts
    337
     

    Default Bay Line GP-38 Re-lettering

    I'm stuck. I just purchased the Bay Line GP-38 and want to re-letter it for my own use. I first want to stress this is for my own use. Last time I asked a question on this topic it seemed to upset some people. I have the utmost respect for these creators would never pirate their work. My content never leaves my computer.
    Anyway, I've done this countless times, but I can't seem to locate the tga file to work on. I looked through all the folders that came with the engine, but the main body doesn't appear to be there, yet it's installed fine. Is there something I'm not getting here? Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    29
     

    Default

    Did you buy it from N3V or JR Directly?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    1,019
     

    Default

    when opening the locomotive asset up for editing you're looking for "Map1.tga" in the "mesh_body" folder

    This space reserved for F units.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Pa, Reading
    Posts
    337
     

    Default

    From JR's site

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Pa, Reading
    Posts
    337
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Therock View Post
    when opening the locomotive asset up for editing you're looking for "Map1.tga" in the "mesh_body" folder
    Yep...found that, but it's only a blank transparent file

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    United States of America, ill, Rock Island
    Posts
    1,303
     

    Default

    You have to remove the alpha channel, using your editing software or use assest x program to remove it
    Modeling Ho scale on the cheap

    GT 730 8 Meg

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Pa, Reading
    Posts
    337
     

    Default

    Ok...Thanks. I guess this one is getting too deep for me. I cloned it. Thought I removed the alpha channel in Paintshop but then ended up with a completely white engine (glad I cloned it...LOL).
    I wanted to keep the same color scheme and simply re-letter it. Maybe too involved for this old guy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    United States of America, ill, Rock Island
    Posts
    1,303
     

    Default

    windows paint shop? dont use that use the assest x much eaiser
    Modeling Ho scale on the cheap

    GT 730 8 Meg

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Pa, Reading
    Posts
    337
     

    Default

    No...Corel Paintshop 2020 Pro. Like Photoshop. I use it for all my editing, photo and textures
    I'm just going to move it to the back burner for now, but thanks for the help anyway.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sweetwater, TN, USA
    Posts
    5,549
    Blog Entries
    2
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fourteen View Post
    You have to remove the alpha channel, using your editing software or use assest x program to remove it
    If you do 'remove' the alpha then be sure to put it back or your locomotive will likely be all chrome. In addition, PSP settings should be creating a non compressed .tga on save, or trainz will not read it.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Pa, Reading
    Posts
    337
     

    Default

    Thanks NS37, but like I said, it's getting too deep for me. I normally just clone the asset, rename it, then just use the clone tool in PSP to carefully remove the original road name and give it my own. One day maybe I'll take the time to learn Alpha's and layers, but at 63, I usually don't take time to finish a large coffee...LOL. I just liked the color scheme of the Bay Liner and thought I'd play around. I'll just pick another victim...LOL

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •