.
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 74

Thread: Timber Ridge goes standard gauge in 2019

  1. #46
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Port Noarlunga South Australia
    Posts
    2,274
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Heinrich505 View Post
    Dangavel,
    These are more great shots! The trestles look wonderfully precarious. As for things being a bit underdone, I think it looks just right already. It feels right.

    Heinrich505
    I like those steel bridges , I suppose there are such barren areas , but I've replaced groups with single items so just here and there it needs a few more touches. The big yellow grasses also need moving off the track.
    WARNING! The Surgeon General has determined that the use of the simulator Trainz is highly addictive,

  2. #47
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Georgia, Rocky Face
    Posts
    4,919
    Blog Entries
    39
     

    Default

    Question: Are you using PBR ground textures on this version? If so, You can use trainboi1's track that he released on April 1st, which is on the DLS with the same KUIDs. He made 24 inch, 30 inch, 36 inch, and standard gauge procedural track with different colors of ballast. Scroll down to post #7 in this thread to see how to turn PBR into non-PBR ground textures: https://forums.auran.com/trainz/show...d-Nothing-Else
    Last edited by jordon412; April 4th, 2021 at 04:56 PM.
    Owner of Freeman Locomotive Works.

  3. #48
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    29,383
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dangavel View Post
    One bit of advice wanted, being a narrow gauge person so far I've not had to mess much with signals. Klinger used invisible signals on his version but of course Ive added sections as well which have none . Do you think the standard gauge sections need color signals ? I'm not that familiar with US signalling , i know in the UK they were using semaphore in the 1950s, which is mainly when this route is set. anyone point me to a decent article on DRGW signal procedures or give your experiences ? is it horrendously diffiicult to get to work correctly ?
    You can use both. The DRG&W had both depending upon the line. For signal check either the DLS or on Jointed Rail's free-stuff section. They have also used a basic setup for signal types.


    Type 04 = absolute signal.
    Type 05 = advanced or permissive.
    Type 06 = diverging - there's also an advanced form with a d after the name.
    Type 08 = Interlocking used for crossovers and wyes.

    They have an array of dwarfs as well in the colored-light form.

    Their Hall semaphores will work fine as well and they too also follow the same.

    In these areas, the semaphores were still used in some places until the early 1970s so don't worry about using them on your route. The DRG&W used a tri-color signal similar to the Saftran 3-color signals. I remember seeing them when I was out in Colorado in 2016. There was a dormant former DRG&W branch that still had the original signals on it. The good news is this line has been activated again to Eads.

    Regarding the missing stuff. I don't blame you for not polluting your route with the DLC content. The good news is N3V is fixing that by making all the non-DLC content available on the DLS as well. The problem is this should have been done sooner rather than waiting until complaints happened. I also remember your big crash. Very sad mess that caused due to a spike or sag. SP3 should be out soon(tm) barring major issues. So far other than some quirky things, it's showing up to be pretty good.

    I realize that upgrading to standard gauge is not an easy task. I did that with another route sometime ago and it kept me busy for weeks as I replaced bridges, crossings, rebuilt curves, and adjust yards to fit the modern equipment.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 109641

  4. #49
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Georgia, Rocky Face
    Posts
    4,919
    Blog Entries
    39
     

    Default

    That's why whenever I build a route, I use olegkhim's S_ series of fixed track and turnouts and frogpipe's 3Dtrains turnout jigs, which include olegkhim's series double-track sections with 5-meter spacing, regardless of what gauge the route is, so I can change the gauge without worry about trains hitting each other in the yard.
    Owner of Freeman Locomotive Works.

  5. #50
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Port Noarlunga South Australia
    Posts
    2,274
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jordon412 View Post
    Question: Are you using PBR ground textures on this version? If so, You can use trainboi1's track that he released on April 1st, which is on the DLS with the same KUIDs. He made 24 inch, 30 inch, 36 inch, and standard gauge procedural track with different colors of ballast. Scroll down to post #7 in this thread to see how to turn PBR into non-PBR ground textures: https://forums.auran.com/trainz/show...d-Nothing-Else
    No, I want nothing to do with it , I tried out the pbr mud in rivers, it looked grotesque, not touching any of the "advanced features " can't use turf fix as I have a Mac, just using the best textures I have at hand , if the bump maps are good enough they look ok .
    WARNING! The Surgeon General has determined that the use of the simulator Trainz is highly addictive,

  6. #51
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Port Noarlunga South Australia
    Posts
    2,274
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JCitron View Post
    You can use both. The DRG&W had both depending upon the line. For signal check either the DLS or on Jointed Rail's free-stuff section. They have also used a basic setup for signal types.


    Type 04 = absolute signal.
    Type 05 = advanced or permissive.
    Type 06 = diverging - there's also an advanced form with a d after the name.
    Type 08 = Interlocking used for crossovers and wyes.

    They have an array of dwarfs as well in the colored-light form.

    Their Hall semaphores will work fine as well and they too also follow the same.

    In these areas, the semaphores were still used in some places until the early 1970s so don't worry about using them on your route. The DRG&W used a tri-color signal similar to the Saftran 3-color signals. I remember seeing them when I was out in Colorado in 2016. There was a dormant former DRG&W branch that still had the original signals on it. The good news is this line has been activated again to Eads.

    Regarding the missing stuff. I don't blame you for not polluting your route with the DLC content. The good news is N3V is fixing that by making all the non-DLC content available on the DLS as well. The problem is this should have been done sooner rather than waiting until complaints happened. I also remember your big crash. Very sad mess that caused due to a spike or sag. SP3 should be out soon(tm) barring major issues. So far other than some quirky things, it's showing up to be pretty good.

    I realize that upgrading to standard gauge is not an easy task. I did that with another route sometime ago and it kept me busy for weeks as I replaced bridges, crossings, rebuilt curves, and adjust yards to fit the modern equipment.
    Biggest task on the timber ridge is Tollume pass, and the numerous yards , which are far too close together but give a lot of potential in play. Thanks for drg signal info, one other thing , can anyone recommend seasonal trees for the year round snow scene in tollume pass , I have thrown in the hemlocks used by Jango in Rollins pass and set the season to dec but nary a snowflake is on any of them, I may have to set the snow height much lower, anyone got any other solutions as to firs , spruces in 2019 which have snow on them
    WARNING! The Surgeon General has determined that the use of the simulator Trainz is highly addictive,

  7. #52
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Port Noarlunga South Australia
    Posts
    2,274
     

    Default

    I haven't done a huge amount in the past week or so as i've been fixing all the vegetation sets that would not appear in 2019, thanks to clam1952, the problem has been solved, an easy fix but time consuming when there are a lot of items to fix. Sorted out quite a few sections, but then when driving realized that some items probably had no lod, and were just appearing suddenly quite close to the engine when driving along , so they all had to be replaced . I do wish more creators would apply a height position in their vegetation as it prevents these from floating above the surface , same with mines etc, which have no height adjustment , I've had to add this to many of the DLS mines config files.Fortunately most allow changes in config an
    d uploading to dls

    new vegetation on the plain outside klingerville, yard had been revamped extensively but no shots as yet.





    after much hassle over finding the correct kuid numbers the steelworks is now restored. some parts of this section still need work.


    all this section has been revamped and sage and trees replaced, new track throughout by trainboi, who is producing some exceptionally good stuff , nice to see it now on the DLS !










    WARNING! The Surgeon General has determined that the use of the simulator Trainz is highly addictive,

  8. #53
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Ohio, Girard
    Posts
    1,292
    Blog Entries
    2
     

    Default

    One day, I might go back and remake my old 1700 kitbash. The old girl is in real need of a good upgrade now, the original one is about three years old, but I'm glad she still sees some use on this route, thanks.

  9. #54
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Port Noarlunga South Australia
    Posts
    2,274
     

    Default

    this is a new section I''ve built as i already had the boards there and part vegetated, it is a short extension of about a mile and leads to a gold mine, which I cannot get to load correctly , the train stops, but nothing loads.
    This is an overview of the new extension . immediately over those hills in the distance is the other mine cluster which you reach over the very high bridge, which is now a girder bridge on stone piers rather than a trestle, in order to cope with the heavier standard gauge trains.

    mine has been cobbled together using two or three different items, thus the differences in color.










    after crossing this dry gulch the line runs alongside the river up to the high bridges




    river is to the right , in a deep gorge.

    and here is the new junction, the right track leads to the mines through dense pine forest , steep grades and three tunnels. none of this was part of the original Timber Ridge .
    how long will it take to get this complete ? possibly a month, as there's so much new veg , track and other items it needs a lot of checking for items that float. I may release it as a WIP and ask folks to drive it to check for faults. firstly tho I need to get rid of those pesky TUME payware items which are unknown unless you install ALL of the routes that come with 2019.One other thing, the wonderful mallet in this pic was eventually used in DRGW livery, has anyone reskinned these as such ? Not sure if reskins are allowed of this item on DLS.
    Last edited by dangavel; April 17th, 2021 at 01:18 AM.
    WARNING! The Surgeon General has determined that the use of the simulator Trainz is highly addictive,

  10. #55
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Meridian, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    3,865
     

    Default

    Wow! There ya go making me drool again! Sweet!
    “We are all travelers in the wilderness of this world, and the best we can find in our travels is an honest friend.” - R.L.S.

  11. #56
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Port Noarlunga South Australia
    Posts
    2,274
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shebashetan7 View Post
    One day, I might go back and remake my old 1700 kitbash. The old girl is in real need of a good upgrade now, the original one is about three years old, but I'm glad she still sees some use on this route, thanks.
    There do not seem to be many routes that feature the standard gauge DRGW steam era, so it's nice to see a few great looking steam locos like the 1700 out there to use on the Timber Ridge , I think it still looks very good for its age. Of course,an update might be welcomed if it was on the cards.....
    WARNING! The Surgeon General has determined that the use of the simulator Trainz is highly addictive,

  12. #57
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Colorado, Colorado Springs
    Posts
    1,243
     

    Default

    beautiful work.
    I7-8700K
    1070Ti
    Z370
    PCIe SSD operation ( build)

  13. #58
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    United States of America, Texas, Dickinson
    Posts
    1,882
     

    Default

    Dangavel,
    I concur with Forester1 and Pitkin. The screenshots are wonderful and they compliment and highlight the details and effort you are putting into the route. The new section with the gold mine fits in perfectly. I wouldn't expect the mine to be all one color, so your different parts all play well together to show a mine that has been added to and updated by the owners. This gives it a very realistic appearance.

    I am constantly impressed by the way you have captured the vegetation that varies so drastically with the elevation that is being represented. As you climb higher, the trees thin and the vegetation changes. This really gives the visual sensation that you are traveling into different areas of the route.

    The rock escarpments close to the tracks blend very well and look highly realistic in your shots.

    The first three shots in post #52 are my favorite, as they really show off the distances represented in your route. There are no map edge cutoffs to spoil the immersion effect here. Just countryside that seems to keep on going into the distance. The third shot, panning out over the steel mill is just plain breathtaking.

    Your work is greatly appreciated. Thanks so much for all your details. They really shine!

    Heinrich505

  14. #59
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Port Noarlunga South Australia
    Posts
    2,274
     

    Default

    well, getting very close to completion Just another week or so of work , unless I actually do a signalling system, can i have some indication as to how many people would like one, or if people would prefer to add their own after installing. I imagine it could take a considerable time, as the yards are pretty large and I'm not sure of what was installed either, not many images around to go by. I'm quite happy to have somebody add signals and them upload as a different version.
    WARNING! The Surgeon General has determined that the use of the simulator Trainz is highly addictive,

  15. #60
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Georgia, Rocky Face
    Posts
    4,919
    Blog Entries
    39
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dangavel View Post
    well, getting very close to completion Just another week or so of work , unless I actually do a signalling system, can i have some indication as to how many people would like one, or if people would prefer to add their own after installing. I imagine it could take a considerable time, as the yards are pretty large and I'm not sure of what was installed either, not many images around to go by. I'm quite happy to have somebody add signals and them upload as a different version.
    I'd go with it fully signaled. Use JR's Hall Semaphores for the narrow gauge and the JR H Style Searchlight for the standard gauge, both found on the freeware page of Jointed Rail, Hall Semaphore on Page 1 and H Style Searchlight on Page 2, though the H Style are included in the JR DLC Pack.
    Owner of Freeman Locomotive Works.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •