.
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: What Road System do you use?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, California
    Posts
    3,181
     

    Default What Road System do you use?

    Iam looking for a new road system. I use Treadway/Yarn/Yarnish but many of the assets look a little outdated or are broken in TRS2019. Just wondering what assets you guys use.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Arkansas, Harrison
    Posts
    2,990
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hert View Post
    I am looking for a new road system. I use Treadway/Yarn/Yarnish but many of the assets look a little outdated or are broken in TRS2019. Just wondering what assets you guys use.
    For TRS19:

    <kuid2:439337:103394:1> SAP_US_Asphalt_4_Way_2L_Intersection_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103393> SAP_US_Asphalt_T-Intersection_2L_1_PBR
    <kuid2:439337:103390:1> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_1_Curve_Maker_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103568> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_4_Curve_Maker_PBR
    <kuid2:439337:103384:1> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_1_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103562> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_2_Curve_Maker_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103561> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_2_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103563> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_3_Curve_Maker_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103564> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_3_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103567> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_4_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103581> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_7_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103650> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_8_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103652> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_9_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103656> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_10_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103658> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_11_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103570> SAP_US_Dirt_Road_2L_5_Curve_Maker_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103569> SAP_US_Dirt_Road_2L_5_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103575> SAP_US_Dirt_Road_2L_6_Curve_Maker_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103574> SAP_US_Dirt_Road_2L_6_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103659> SAP_US_Dirt_Road_2L_12_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103661> SAP_US_Dirt_Road_2L_13_PBR

    Bob
    Master Sergeant/E8, U.S. Army, Retired (1972-1993)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    7,371
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    For TRS19 I am exclusively using:-

    <kuid:56603:100630> Weddin road - 1L bituman
    <kuid:56603:100619> Weddin road - 1L dirt track
    <kuid:56603:100605> Weddin road - 2L, 2 dark gravel verges
    <kuid:56603:100639> Weddin road - 2L, unmarked bitumen

    because they stick to the terrain height and do not "float" above it (although this means that they cannot have their heights adjusted - a minor issue in a very few places). But more importantly for me, they do not carry road traffic. In the places I model "rush hour" would consist of two vehicles traveling in the same direction 5 minutes apart.

    I have never been a fan of moving road traffic in Trainz, it always looks "fake", especially at intersections, road ends (where they "pop" in and out of existence) and on bends. In any case, Trainz is a railway simulator, not a road simulator.
    TRS19 Platinum Edition SP2 build 110491

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Quartzsite, Arizona
    Posts
    73
     

    Default

    I fooled around with the various "Yarn(ish) pieces for a long time without satisfaction, then I saw a video by Approach Medium (uTube) on making your own roads using striping. He uses texture paint on the baseboard for his roads, but I didn't really like having to hide the over-paint at the side of the road, so I took that idea and applied to Bob's (MSGSapper) Unmarked 2 lane road <kuid2:439337:102438:1>.

    The speed limit for this road is 25mph, so I tweaked the config file to make several renditions of it in 35, 45, and 55 mph for my own use. I then apply the lesson on striping from Approach Medium & voilà, any road I want to make. Any intersection, any angle, no problem, and Bob's pavement looks great in my desert setting!

    EDIT: Also, Bob's pavement is set up to automatically generate traffic!

    I use TRC V3 crossings (easy as pie) and I use Boats' ATLS 4 system to control my traffic lights.

    I guess I should tip my hat to you Bob for making such outstanding assets. Your name occupies a good portion of my DB! Thank you sir!

    I don't think I would ever go back to pre-made roads again. BONUS PRO TIP: I also use the no traffic version of Bob's road, <kuid:439337:103271>, with some invisible road and make the cars turn any direction I want, or just go straight through the intersection. No more "left turns only" at intersections.

    Sometimes I have a short section of "no traffic road", like in a city block and I just place static cars on the pavement, like they are waiting for traffic to clear so they can pull out.
    Last edited by sandpaper600; January 25th, 2021 at 11:53 PM.
    Mark

    My train of thought derailed-
    There were no survivors.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    7,371
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sandpaper600 View Post
    Sometimes I have a short section of "no traffic road", like in a city block and I just place static cars on the pavement, like they are waiting for traffic to clear so they can pull out.
    Its little tricks like that that make the difference. I use dirt textures for many of my "outback" roads and they work very well most of the time. Roads (and traffic) are decorations on what is essentially a railroad simulation. Like buildings and other scenery items, they are passed by fairly quickly and forgotten as the train moves on.

    I simply do not understand the effort that some creators put into getting traffic lights, road intersections, multiple lanes and turning lanes all working correctly. As I said in my previous post, it is a Train Simulator, not a Road Simulator. If they want total traffic realism then there must be highway and town simulators that could do the job.

    My opinions.
    TRS19 Platinum Edition SP2 build 110491

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MSGSapper View Post
    For TRS19:

    <kuid2:439337:103394:1> SAP_US_Asphalt_4_Way_2L_Intersection_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103393> SAP_US_Asphalt_T-Intersection_2L_1_PBR
    <kuid2:439337:103390:1> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_1_Curve_Maker_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103568> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_4_Curve_Maker_PBR
    <kuid2:439337:103384:1> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_1_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103562> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_2_Curve_Maker_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103561> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_2_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103563> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_3_Curve_Maker_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103564> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_3_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103567> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_4_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103581> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_7_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103650> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_8_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103652> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_9_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103656> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_10_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103658> SAP_US_Asphalt_Road_2L_11_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103570> SAP_US_Dirt_Road_2L_5_Curve_Maker_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103569> SAP_US_Dirt_Road_2L_5_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103575> SAP_US_Dirt_Road_2L_6_Curve_Maker_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103574> SAP_US_Dirt_Road_2L_6_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103659> SAP_US_Dirt_Road_2L_12_PBR
    <kuid:439337:103661> SAP_US_Dirt_Road_2L_13_PBR

    Bob
    Hi Bob,

    Do these assets support seasonal change/winter snow?

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Arkansas, Harrison
    Posts
    2,990
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by soap__ View Post
    Hi Bob,

    Do these assets support seasonal change/winter snow?

    Thanks
    No, and I don't think any other road type does either. They are PBR ground texture friendly however. A number of older roads will show the 3D PBR ground texture popping up through them but mine don't.

    Bob
    Master Sergeant/E8, U.S. Army, Retired (1972-1993)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    28,963
     

    Default

    I still have a lot of routes with the YARN/YARN-ish system in place. As I've been rebuilding my older routes, I've been replacing the system with Bob's great roads and also the tried and true AASHTO roads by GFisher. The sad part is it took 19 years to finally get roads to stop floating and not look like strips of paper tape laid over the ground. I spent countless hours in the past adjusting road splines so that the roads don't float and I went through many systems until finally the YARN came out.

    Today, I'm moving on, but the YARN roads do have their advantages due to the thickness and the fact that they are so easy to reskin. I have many I added gravel, ballast, paving stones and other textures to that work well for factory yards, docks, and station areas that require track buried into the pavement. Their thickness means that the tracks sister up well into the road surface so that the rails just peek through like they should rather than stick up so that they catch the under carriage of any vehicle that crosses over them.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 109641

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Portland, Oregon USA
    Posts
    569
     

    Default

    I am a confirmed YARNish user. Regarding the OPs comment that some YARNish assets are broken in TRS2019 (presumably the intersections) that is true if you are using the same ones that you used back in TANE or preTANE days. But if you spend time in the DLS, you will see that people have updated them (new KUIDs, not new versions of existing KUIDs). Takes some time to replace the intersections in a route since the bulk asset replace doesn't work on these. But the end result will be working YARNish intersections in TRS2019. While in the DLS, note that newer versions of YARNish roads have been added, many with different speeds or textures.

    For those of you that are looking for gravel roads that work well with YARNish roads and intersections, try these: Tb Road - gravel xxxx

    YARNish is not dead.
    Last edited by schweitzerdude; January 26th, 2021 at 02:14 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    28,963
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by schweitzerdude View Post
    I am a confirmed YARNish user. Regarding the OPs comment that some YARNish assets are broken in TRS2019 (presumably the intersections) that is true if you are using the same ones that you used back in TANE or preTANE days. But if you spend time in the DLS, you will see that people have updated them (new KUIDs, not new versions of existing KUIDs). Takes some time to replace the intersections in a route since the bulk asset replace doesn't work on these. But the end result will be working YARNish intersections in TRS2019. While in the DLS, note that newer versions of YARNish roads have been added, many with different speeds or textures.

    For those of you that are looking for gravel roads that work well with YARNish roads and intersections, try these: Tb Road - gravel xxxx

    YARNish is not dead.
    Yup. I've discovered some of those as well. They work quite nicely. The annoying issue is they can't be simply replaced using the bulk update tool and we have to go hunting for each intersection and manually replace them.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 109641

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Quartzsite, Arizona
    Posts
    73
     

    Default

    @pware; "I simply do not understand the effort that some creators put into getting traffic lights, road intersections, multiple lanes and turning lanes all working correctly. As I said in my previous post, it is a Train Simulator, not a Road Simulator. If they want total traffic realism then there must be highway and town simulators that could do the job."

    If all it is is a Train Simulator, there would be no route building. Other train sims are good at that. You just drive trains. Myself, as well as others who have made it clear in their posts, treat the program as a model train with the ability to drive if you want, (I do not.)

    I enjoy making all facets of the layout. If it is "just a train sim" why have half the items in the DLS at all? No need for farm crops - not a farming sim. No need for animals - not a wildlife sim. No need for planes, cars, boats, yada yada yada etc.

    All these things can mean the difference between a good layout and a great one. If you've ever known anyone that had a real model train setup, then you would see a first class example of detail and meticulousness in their route-building.

    Too many people have put a lot of hard work into making these assets for them to not be of importance to the game as a whole. Obviously, many people think it's more than just a train driving sim.

    But, you do you...
    Mark

    My train of thought derailed-
    There were no survivors.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •