Realistic mode tutorials

chili46

I've been using Trainz since the 2004 version and really enjoy it. After all these years, I would like to learn how to effectively use the Cab control mode instead of the DCC controls. My attempts at self-learning have been disastrous, to say the least. Are there any good step-by-step tutorials out there on how to use the controls?

Try the tutorial build into TRS2019
Select the Kickstarter route, and play all tuts
takes you there step by step
greetings GM

There is a tutorial specifically called Realistic Controls. I have found that even after SP2 they don't always work very well though. The train brake, throttle and forwarder seem to want to move backwards from the mouse (Actually, I don't think I got the throttle to work at all), and I found if I tried to do in-cab on the Dynamic Brake tutorial, I could get started, but could not get any speed up, and eventually ground to a halt. There seems to be an issue with the brake pipe pressure with that one still, and holding the "D" key will not drain it. Also, in the Steam Tutorial, there are only one or two items that actually work.

I tried them and, yeah, they sort of work. Maybe. Sometimes... If you're lucky. One was working sort of okay, but then the consist crashed because the track coming out of a tunnel was broken. Basically like a friend of mine use to say, "interesting, but otherwise useless".

Fortunately the broken tracks have been fixed in SP2 in both Tutorials where they were broken. And the brake pipe pressure has been fixed in the Realistic Controls Tutorial, I believe. At least it worked the last time I tried it.

I've always been a either a DCC driver or I've just let the AI drive through commands, but I did go through the cab tutorials this time and found that they worked OK, using keyboard commands. I thought they gave the basics to start cab driving, if I ever want to.