.
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: DESTSIGNTABLE ??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Murrysville
    Posts
    3,927
     

    Question DESTSIGNTABLE ??

    Is there any use for the DESTSIGNTABLE rule? It lists all the stations and industries but nothing else?

    Wiki has no info.
    Dick near Pittsburgh, Pa. i5-2500K 4.2ghz, 8gb memory, GTX1060 3gb video card. 110491

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Great Britain
    Posts
    2,961
     

    Default

    You can use it to set destination signs on a suitably equipped vehicle. Various of the late Andi06's vehicles are set up for it, as are some of mine (My Metropolitan stuff is probably a good example).

    Despite having set up vehicles to use the destinations I've never actually used the rule/driver commands. However I believe the idea is you use the table rule to generate the list of available destinations and then use a driver command to access that list and apply the destination board to the vehicle. I think it only works if your stations etc. have names that match the ones set up in the vehicle.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Murrysville
    Posts
    3,927
     

    Default

    AH Ha, vehicle signs. I had forgotten about them..
    THANKS
    Dick near Pittsburgh, Pa. i5-2500K 4.2ghz, 8gb memory, GTX1060 3gb video card. 110491

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    1,642
     

    Default

    Google site search does a better job of finding things both in wiki and forums than does the normal search on the wiki or forums pages.

    http://online.ts2009.com/mediaWiki/i...on_Sign_System
    Greg
    TRS19-Gold Plus-110491, Plus Beta-111603
    WIN10 ASUS B450M-A/CSM, GTX 1060-6 Windforce
    (also: 2 Mac OSX installs: iMac, MBP)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, New York, Allegany
    Posts
    1,704
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    Google site search does a better job than the site itself ? That's seems strange to me. That's like Burger King being more familiar with a McDonlds menu than the actual McDonalds. ( doesn't really matter to me , since food from those places don't settle well)

    Quote Originally Posted by 1611mac View Post
    Google site search does a better job of finding things both in wiki and forums than does the normal search on the wiki or forums pages.

    http://online.ts2009.com/mediaWiki/i...on_Sign_System
    T:ANE Standard SP2 to SP3
    TRS 2012 build 61388

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    1,642
     

    Default

    Sure it can be better. I run a website with 1600 pages and we run our own search feature (Zoom Indexer). You can "weight" returns based on dozens and dozens of parameters. Even getting down to location of search word (ie: towards top, towards bottom) and you can weight results based on meta data (keywords, page name, description) or on url, or html code (h1, h2, h3, etc). In other words, there is over a 100 ways to "weight" a keyword when a site is indexed. It takes a lot of time and trial and error to configure. A search tool is only as good as you make it. Since it's Googles business (and other crawlers too) they are very good at it where N3V is likely at the mercy of the 3rd party tools and they just want to provide software, not tweak search tools.
    Greg
    TRS19-Gold Plus-110491, Plus Beta-111603
    WIN10 ASUS B450M-A/CSM, GTX 1060-6 Windforce
    (also: 2 Mac OSX installs: iMac, MBP)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •