.
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Making parallel tracks

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    2
     

    Default Making parallel tracks

    This is my first weekend of TMR and I am having what I hope is a simple problem.
    When I try to lay a yard (tracks close together), the second track always want to snap to the first creating a junction.
    How do I stop that from happening.
    Chris

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Texas, Houston
    Posts
    2
     

    Default

    Hold the shift key then click to set your endpoint. This should prevent snapping to each other.

    Regards,
    Chris

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    2
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by clmeemken View Post
    Hold the shift key then click to set your endpoint. This should prevent snapping to each other.

    Regards,
    Chris
    Thanks. That does do the trick when it snaps together.
    I think most of is still me, but I'm catching on!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Quarantining Since March 1st In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    1,106
     

    Default

    I use MB Quad (MB_4m_finescale_quad_4m - Mike10 <KUID:35412:38125>)

    And MB Dual (MB_4m_finescale_double_4m - Mike10 <KUID:35412:38124>)
    for straightaways

    And use single track in curves

    This @ replicates the PRR Standard of the World 3.5m track spacing (13 foot spacing center to center)

    My track spline points just barely touch the very outside end of adjacent tracks ties

    I later on replace all the MB multi-track, with single track

    PRR Track Guide - GFisher <KUID:106916:10328> - A guide for laying out four track Pennsylvania Railroad mainline set at 13 foot spacing center to center. It is a scenery item.
    Last edited by MP242; November 29th, 2020 at 10:28 PM.

  5. #5

    Default

    There are also some waygauge assets on the DLS which can help line things up. However in the MR environment it is advisable to use as a temporary template as they will lift or drop with the terrain height and can't be adjusted up or down.
    Building In TRS19, Driving Trucks In Snowrunner

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Norfolk
    Posts
    2,966
     

    Default

    There are also some waygauge assets on the DLS which can help line things up. However in the MR environment it is advisable to use as a temporary template as they will lift or drop with the terrain height and can't be adjusted up or down.
    I made some about eleven years ago : Way Gauge UK 2T, Way Gauge UK 3T, Way Gauge UK Island - the first two to UK 3.5m spacing, the third to accommodate an island platform (one of mine) between correctly spaced tracks. I still use them but would stress that they must, as Vern says, be only temporary as leaving them in place can wreck a complete route or virtual model railway - as I discovered. They can be used in combination to lay any number of parallel tracks. There is also a Way Gauge Metro (NB: Not "Metre") for the Paris Metro network which is slightly less than standard gauge. All update to any attached track.

    Ray
    Dukes Denver Designs (Ray Whiley - Textures and 3d Virtual Models for TRAINZ).
    Member of Trainz Carriage and Wagon Works

  7. #7

    Default

    As an aside to that Ray, did anyone ever create anything rolling stock wise for the Paris Metro? We have some (now very old) NYC subway stuff and LT underground stock, but I've never seen anything for Paris.
    Building In TRS19, Driving Trucks In Snowrunner

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Norfolk
    Posts
    2,966
     

    Default

    As an aside to that Ray, did anyone ever create anything rolling stock wise for the Paris Metro? We have some (now very old) NYC subway stuff and LT underground stock, but I've never seen anything for Paris.
    Yes, Varn, me again! Some of my earliest models were fairly crude representation of the Classic Sprague-Thomson rolling stock of the Paris Metro, rather like "litho" models without modern refinements such as transparent windows, opening doors, passengers etc. but they pleased me and apparently some others judging by the downloads. I had wanted to model them for a "real world" model railway since travelling on them when staying in Paris in 1952. In appearance they were very similar to the early 20th century stock. I'll head over to the download staion to refresh my memory of what I actually created - but they certainly still work in T:ANE. Back soon!

    Ray
    Dukes Denver Designs (Ray Whiley - Textures and 3d Virtual Models for TRAINZ).
    Member of Trainz Carriage and Wagon Works

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Norfolk
    Posts
    2,966
     

    Default

    My Paris Metro models include locomatives and passenger coaches (search for Sprague), stations, track, tunnels, signs, nameboards, etc - a whole host of things (search for Metro but this will bring up many other models containing that word, of course, so probably best to use my Kuid 275817 to filter), and a demo layout (Metro test and demo), no scenery, showing how everything is used. Various lines had similar stock in different colour schemes and these were catered for but it seems that not all are on the DLS (although they were!)

    More information at Paris Metro – Ray's Trainz (wordpress.com)

    Ray
    Last edited by ray_whiley; March 1st, 2021 at 08:28 AM. Reason: Spelling/typing - as always
    Dukes Denver Designs (Ray Whiley - Textures and 3d Virtual Models for TRAINZ).
    Member of Trainz Carriage and Wagon Works

  10. #10

    Default

    I'll check those out Ray.
    Building In TRS19, Driving Trucks In Snowrunner

  11. #11

    Default

    If you want gauges that are wider than 3.5m. You could try looking at the various "DFLS Tool" assets by trainbernd, eg kuid 42778:30106. The set was designed for aligning tracks and cateneries, but you don't need to use the catenaries for aligning tracks. They are quite old now but work very well in TANE and TMR17. And just to repeat the message, remove the gauges afterwards.

    Mike

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    A little farm burg along a river
    Posts
    259
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by clmeemken View Post
    Hold the shift key then click to set your endpoint. This should prevent snapping to each other.
    Regards, Chris
    Oh! All these years using TRAINZ and I hadn't realized that.
    I had solved the issue by zooming the view in a bit closer until that stopped happening.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •