Updating Route for TRS2019. Suggestions? Tips or Tricks?

maxwerks

I've started updating my Clovis to Lubbock route to look and function better in TRS 2019. I'm replacing old track with procedural track and non-PBR textures with PBR textures, removing/replacing faulty assets, and trying to minimize non-DLS assets.

Does anyone have any suggestions for updating an existing route to TRS 2019? Any gotchas? Tips or tricks? Ways to enhance performance while still maintaining visual interest?

This is my first try at this, so any help will be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Max (maxwerks)

Max --

Textures.

PBR textures should not be rotated. And the scale needs to be appropriate -- you can use a larger scale away from the tracks but you will need to use the minimum setting, or close to minimum setting, close to and under tracks -- otherwise the "bumps" will protrude through ballast and sleepers.

My approach when upgrading has been to strip out all the old textures and start from scratch with the PBR textures.

And you should also add TurfFX. It certainly adds to the overall effect. And replace any foliage with SpeedTrees.

Phil

waxworks - Hoping this project goes well for you. Love the route! It's representation of the real thing is amazing, even down to the details.

Procedural track does not look good, IMHO, in yards when viewing at a distance. The ballast crawls away because of the LOD.

If you plan on releasing it, there has never been a more challenging version to do so! Make sure you get lots to test it as built-in assets for you may be totally unobtainable for others... I had to find out the hard way with Coal Country.