Thinning Out the Config file.

jeff1959

I am getting ready to upload a small route and took a look at the config file. I discovered a slew of string references that are no longer part of the route. Some are named industries used, then removed. Some are removed triggers and track marks. Others are rolling stock once placed on the route, but removed.

Can I "cull the herd" and shorten the config file?

I'm certainly not an expert on the vagaries of config files, but as an old programmer my suggestion would be to make a backup copy of the config file and then start removing the bits line by line that you think aren't necessary. You could do a full edit and delete all of that you think are the unnecessary bits at once, but just realize that if you do that you might not be able to determine the removal of which particular line of code caused a particular issue. If everything blows up - plug in a copy of the backup and start over. Just make sure you keep a copy of that backup file until at least everything is performing as you expect.

I think - but I may be wrong, but I believe you should select to "Delete Faulty or missing assets" in the route. Otherwise your attempt to edit the config file will be overwritten by the route itself if this isn't done, and should also save you editing the config file. Hopefully someone can confirm or otherwise.

Jeff --

I found the same when I merged several layouts.

I made a backup cdp of the layout, edited the config file to remove all the unneeded entries. It worked. But DO make the backup -- just in case.

I think - but I may be wrong, but I believe you should select to "Delete Faulty or missing assets" in the route. Otherwise your attempt to edit the config file will be overwritten by the route itself if this isn't done, and should also save you editing the config file. Hopefully someone can confirm or otherwise.