.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: Sandusky & Poland Route by Dericm, CTD.

  1. #1

    Default Sandusky & Poland Route by Dericm, CTD.

    G'day All,

    I downloaded this route from the DLS yesterday as it looks like it might be a nice route. I only have the one missing asset, <kuid:404894:101153> , also by Dericm. But every time I try to open the route, whether it's from CM, trying to edit the route or create a session (there are no sessions included with it), I get an almost instant crash to desktop. The whole game shuts down.

    This has caused the game to do a couple of DB repairs and I've also tried rebooting my PC, but it still does it.

    Does anyone know what that missing Kuid might be, and if that might be why it crashes?

    I'm hesitant to download the other couple of routes that he also uploaded yesterday, in case they do the same thing.

    Thanks for any help or advice.

    Cheers,
    Piere.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    28,226
     

    Default

    Hi Piere,

    It's not your install and it's the route. I thought it was my install when that happened yesterday and I spent all day running an EDR for nothing only to have it happen again!

    I wonder if there's a bad scripted asset referenced that causes this. Hopefully we can find out and remove the asset from our systems so we don't end up losing what we've got as well if it's included in a route.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Meridian, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    2,844
     

    Default

    Thank you for posting this thread, as I am in the process of downloading this route and also Charleston & Western Carolina. I will proceed with caution and await hearing further word on these.
    “We are all travelers in the wilderness of this world, and the best we can find in our travels is an honest friend.” - R.L.S.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    61
     

    Default

    Yes, thank you. I downloaded the three routes that dericm sent to the DLS in the last couple of days too. The only missing assets I have are the 3-4 from him as well. It is rather irritating when someone posts a route(s) and the missing assets are from the guy who posted it (cmoehrle are you watching). I haven't tried running any of them yet, but I've followed dericm's site for some time with interest.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    430
     

    Default

    The same thing happens with me but only in TRS19. I can get it to run in TANE.

  6. #6

    Default

    Thanks for the responses.

    Quote Originally Posted by cabnz1 View Post
    The same thing happens with me but only in TRS19. I can get it to run in TANE.
    Good point. I should clarify that I'm trying to open it in TRS19 Plus, build 106618

    Cheers,
    Piere.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Meridian, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    2,844
     

    Default

    I am also missing the asset by dericm, and an additional one <kuid:465961:100316> by firstsoloflight. I found the latter at a Russian site, but it is apparently corrupted.
    EDIT - Actually, after looking at it with Notepad++ it appeared to be an html/java script of some kind. Downloaders beware...
    Last edited by Forester1; September 24th, 2020 at 03:21 PM. Reason: Removed mention of deleted posts.
    “We are all travelers in the wilderness of this world, and the best we can find in our travels is an honest friend.” - R.L.S.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    6,282
     

    Default

    Installing route <kuid2:404894:101192:4> Sandusky & Poland Railroad
    No CTD here.
    Can you confirm if you have these dependencies installed or different versions of these (either older or newer)

    <kuid2:76656:500010:18> ATLS CONTROLLER TRS19
    <kuid2:76656:500016:15> ATLS Trigger TRS19
    <kuid2:76656:500040:4> ATLS Slave Trigger TRS19
    <kuid2:76656:80016:9> ATLS Script Library TRS19
    <kuid2:76656:500012:18> ATLS Slave(TF) TRS19

    Also, it would be very handy to know if it still happens in the SP2 beta released yesterday.
    Tony Hilliam

    Got questions about TRS19? Click here for TRS19 FAQs

    Looking for answers to in-game functionality? Click here for help

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony_Hilliam View Post
    Installing route <kuid2:404894:101192:4> Sandusky & Poland Railroad
    No CTD here.
    Can you confirm if you have these dependencies installed or different versions of these (either older or newer)

    <kuid2:76656:500010:18> ATLS CONTROLLER TRS19
    <kuid2:76656:500016:15> ATLS Trigger TRS19
    <kuid2:76656:500040:4> ATLS Slave Trigger TRS19
    <kuid2:76656:80016:9> ATLS Script Library TRS19
    <kuid2:76656:500012:18> ATLS Slave(TF) TRS19

    Also, it would be very handy to know if it still happens in the SP2 beta released yesterday.
    G'day Tony, Thanks for the reply.

    I have all those you have listed, the same versions.

    Interestingly, <kuid2:76656:80016:9> ATLS Script Library TRS19 was downloaded when I grabbed the route. So that's new to my install. Does that suggest something?

    I'm not keen to muck about with the betas until they're good to go. Sorry.

    Cheers,
    Piere.

  10. #10

    Default

    Just an update. I deleted that item (<kuid2:76656:80016:9> ATLS Script Library TRS19), and did a DBR, but still get the CTD.

    Cheers,
    Piere.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    28,226
     

    Default

    I'll test it in the SP2 beta.

    EDIT:

    Same thing - CTD while loading.
    Last edited by JCitron; September 25th, 2020 at 08:32 AM.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Meridian, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    2,844
     

    Default

    I was able to load it in 105100, create a session and drive a consist, no issues. I am curious about the asset I mentioned above though. If you have it, you may want to have a look at it. As I said above:
    <kuid:465961:100316> by firstsoloflight. I found the latter at a Russian site, but it is apparently corrupted.
    EDIT - Actually, after looking at it with Notepad++ it appeared to be an html/java script of some kind. Downloaders beware...
    “We are all travelers in the wilderness of this world, and the best we can find in our travels is an honest friend.” - R.L.S.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    28,226
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Forester1 View Post
    I was able to load it in 105100, create a session and drive a consist, no issues. I am curious about the asset I mentioned above though. If you have it, you may want to have a look at it. As I said above:
    <kuid:465961:100316> by firstsoloflight. I found the latter at a Russian site, but it is apparently corrupted.
    EDIT - Actually, after looking at it with Notepad++ it appeared to be an html/java script of some kind. Downloaders beware...
    I have the same asset installed but from firstsoloflight's website. It's a brownish dirt texture. If you are seeing code, then it's been altered!

    Code:
    Directory: F:\TRAINZ_PLUS_TEST_DATA\editing\kuid 465961 100316 JS C-018 (HDTP)
    
    Mode                 LastWriteTime         Length Name
    ----                 -------------         ------ ----
    -a---           9/25/2020    19:33           1557 config.txt
    -a---           9/25/2020    19:33             43 main.texture.txt
    -a---           9/25/2020    19:33        3145772 main.tga
    -a---           9/25/2020    19:33             93 main_nrm.texture.txt
    -a---           9/25/2020    19:33        3145772 main_nrm.tga
    -a---           9/25/2020    19:33        3145772 main_spec.tga
    -a---           9/25/2020    19:33          70822 packc-preview.jpg
    
    
    PS F:\TRAINZ_PLUS_TEST_DATA\editing\kuid 465961 100316 JS C-018 (HDTP)>
    This is the content of the asset installed.

    There's something else going on with the route.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Meridian, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    2,844
     

    Default

    John, would you happen to have a link to firstsoloflight's website? EDIT - Disregard, I got the link down in the freeware forum.
    Last edited by Forester1; September 25th, 2020 at 09:37 PM.
    “We are all travelers in the wilderness of this world, and the best we can find in our travels is an honest friend.” - R.L.S.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    28,226
     

    Default

    I found the culprit for us TRS2019 users.

    <kuid2:61392:8101:52> Enhanced TRC3 invisible Interlocking Tower (SP2 and later)

    There is something with this asset that's causing the route to crash.

    How I found it:

    I listed dependencies.
    Hid built-in assets.
    Sorted by name.

    By sorting by name, I was able to see specific-types of assets based on on their actual type, but by use instead meaning the various JR buildings, Clam1952 textures, and other known-types of assets are easy to bypass quickly to allow me to get quickly to the scripted assets.

    I then got to the <kuid2:61392:8101:52> Enhanced TRC3 invisible Interlocking Tower (SP2 and later), and with the dependencies window still open in CM, I went back to the window with the route listed. I right-clicked on the route and did a preview of it. Yes you can do this in CM. The route instantly did an instant CTD when the assets were caching.

    After a database repair...

    I then deleted the asset and downloaded the most recent previous version.

    Repeated the preview operation, and the route opened up in the window complete with animated cars and beeping horns and motor sounds as the cars drove by.

    I then downloaded <kuid2:61392:8101:52> Enhanced TRC3 invisible Interlocking Tower (SP2 and later) and now the route loads up fine.

    If you want to try removing, and downloading the previous version of this asset by all means do it so you can now load up the route.
    Last edited by JCitron; September 27th, 2020 at 10:18 AM. Reason: Revised the text.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •