.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: TS12?

  1. #1

    Question TS12?

    Hi folks, where does one download TS12 from, is it on the Auran site?

    I've been advised that I should download TS12 before TS19 so that I can still copy over older Trainz content.

    I can tether my phone to the PC to download stuff, hoping I can with TRS.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,082
     

    Default

    Hi

    I can't see it on the N3V store any more. However here in the UK it is still available from Steam.

    Regards

    Brian

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    3,622
     

    Default

    You can get TS12 from Gamersgate as well, but I think these days it's just a Steam key. They used to have the N3V download, but they don't seem to have it anymore.

    https://www.gamersgate.com/DD-TS12/trainz-simulator-12
    Narcolepsy is not napping.



  4. #4

    Default

    Trainz main page, click on "My Trainz, then click on Digital Downloads. It should be there.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    3,622
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brucem56 View Post
    Trainz main page, click on "My Trainz, then click on Digital Downloads. It should be there.
    Only if you purchased it from N3V in the first place.
    Narcolepsy is not napping.



  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    USA, Florida and Illinois
    Posts
    845
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by colhad View Post
    Hi folks, where does one download TS12 from, is it on the Auran site?
    I just checked ebay and there are some TS12 DVD's available new and used
    If it's not broke, don't fix it.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Alabama, Birmingham
    Posts
    3,287
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by colhad View Post
    Hi folks, where does one download TS12 from, is it on the Auran site?

    I've been advised that I should download TS12 before TS19 so that I can still copy over older Trainz content.

    I can tether my phone to the PC to download stuff, hoping I can with TRS.
    I have no problem going from TS10 to TRS19 with older content and routes. The idea is that TS12 starts the process of replacing billboard trees with speedtrees as old speedtrees won't appear in TRS19 as the version of the speedtree library is different. But I have never used speedtrees so I don't bother with TS12. You are basically updating the format of the way routes are saved to workaround a bug introduced in TRS19 SP1 with importing old routes. Before SP1 I had no problems dropping my TRS04 routes straight into TRS19. Now I go directly from TRS04 and I get invisible ground textures and floating objects.

    I use the Steam version of TS12 by the way, just register the serial number at MyTrainz and it works great.

    Here is a screenshot of Outback Australia 2 that I customized in TS10 and saved as a .cdp. I dropped it on TRS19 SP1 content manager. After downloading the missing assets from the DLS this is how it looks. I just need to adjust the lighting and fix the water color.

    https://images.n3vgames.com/trainzpo...-TRS19-SP1.jpg

    William
    Last edited by wreeder; September 20th, 2020 at 08:21 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    111
     

    Default

    I'm currently trying (unsuccessfully) to re-load TS12 on my PC using the data on my DLC Purchase List - the 24 character file purchase reference plus the main set-up file and the 1a, 1b, 2a, 2b and 3a support files.

    All were downloaded to C:\Users\User\Downloads - the missing " .exe extensions" were added - the required data then entered on set-up screens but the process ground to a halt with the cryptic message "setup.exe-1a.bin cannot be located in C:\Users\User\Downloads". Have now been round the course about 8 or 9 times and have submitted a "Support Request".

    Is this a case of TS12 is no longer supported?

    John

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,182
     

    Default

    Hi,

    It's a long time ago, but IIRC, the better option is to put all the downloaded files on a root directory (with the ".exe" added), and run from there.

    Again, IIRC, some browsers do strip off the file extension...

    Check out the TS 12 thread...

    All the best,

    Colin

    (my copy is on DVDs)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    16,344
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pitmilly View Post

    Is this a case of TS12 is no longer supported?

    John
    Afraid so, support ended in September 2018.

    edit: looks like wreeder has spotted the problem, more observant than me ;o)
    Last edited by clam1952; September 23rd, 2020 at 12:39 PM.
    Malc


  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Alabama, Birmingham
    Posts
    3,287
     

    Default

    TS12 hasn't been supported in years but I don't think that is your problem.

    setup.exe-1a.bin is an illegal file name.

    Here is what I have for TS12

    setup.exe 521KB
    setup-1a.bin 1,528,776KB
    setup-1b.bin 1,529,297KB
    setup-2a.bin 1,529,297KB
    setup-2b.bin 1,529,297KB
    setup-3a.bin 281,861KB

    William

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Alabama, Birmingham
    Posts
    3,287
     

    Default

    I just installed from those files under Win7 without a problem. As I recall you have to have a large amount of free space in your temp folder as each of those files has to be decompressed there in order to be installed.

    William

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    United States of America, California
    Posts
    91
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by colhad View Post
    Hi folks, where does one download TS12 from, is it on the Auran site?

    I've been advised that I should download TS12 before TS19 so that I can still copy over older Trainz content.

    I can tether my phone to the PC to download stuff, hoping I can with TRS.

    Trainz2012 is still available via Amazon to purchase and download. Note that it is a 6.1 GB file, perhaps not an easy download for some.
    Last edited by OddRails; September 23rd, 2020 at 03:23 PM. Reason: improve clarity
    -Dave
    ASUS laptop i7-4500U CPU, GeForce GT745M. Currently running TANE SP1 HF4 build 84204.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    16,344
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OddRails View Post
    Trainz2012 is still available via Amazon to purchase and download. Note that it is a 6.1 GB file, perhaps not an easy download for some.

    If you ask the helpdesk nicely they will provide a link to the legacy downloads, least they have on a couple of occasions.
    Malc


  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Meridian, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    2,859
     

    Default

    If I could buy it from N3V and download it. I just might. I would like to have it to replace pofig and ultra trees, shrubs and grasses. I have substituted some cloned newer assets for some routes, but it gets to be a lot of cloning if there are a lot of them. I am not a Steam person, but if hardcopy purchases from Amazon are available, that may be another way...
    “We are all travelers in the wilderness of this world, and the best we can find in our travels is an honest friend.” - R.L.S.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •