.
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: What does the Isolation Switch on wearsprada's SD9's Do?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Georgia, Rocky Face
    Posts
    4,603
    Blog Entries
    39
     

    Question What does the Isolation Switch on wearsprada's SD9's Do?

    I purchased the Southern SD9 as part of the Labor Day Sale, and I just looked at it in game and noticed the 'Isolation Switch' feature. It has two settings: 'Run' and 'Start/Stop/Isolate'. What is its purpose?
    Owner of Freeman Locomotive Works.

  2. #2

    Default

    I'm thinking it's just for decoration. The RMRX GP40-2 has the same thing and it's also decoration.
    hi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Georgia, Rocky Face
    Posts
    4,603
    Blog Entries
    39
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JTrainz174 View Post
    I'm thinking it's just for decoration. The RMRX GP40-2 has the same thing and it's also decoration.
    It appears when you click on the locomotive, with the 'edit properties' button selected, so its part of the scripting.
    Owner of Freeman Locomotive Works.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Earth, Solar System, Milky Way, Virgo Cluster, Laniakea Supercluster, Universe
    Posts
    287
     

    Default

    Its so you can isolate the loco form the consist. The 2 use's of this ( that I'm aware of) is to ether shut the loco down, or just isolate it form the consist so it wont respond to throttle commands. Its a nice feature i wish more locos had, as it can add some interesting things, like switching dead loco's, or ones that are running but your moving then with another loco for whatever reason and you didn't bother connecting the MU cables.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Quarantining Since March 1st In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    1,080
     

    Default

    A loco isolation switch, isolates the generator from connecting, as when you do a cold start up, or shut down, of a loco diesel prime mover engine block, you don't want it connected to the generator, traction motors, or any other electronics.
    Last edited by MP242; September 15th, 2020 at 09:23 PM.
    969 New US deaths on 9/22/20, 0.01% rate is bad, 1% is atrocious, a death rate of 5-6% is catastrophically failing, wear a mask

  6. #6

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by jordon412 View Post
    I purchased the Southern SD9 as part of the Labor Day Sale, and I just looked at it in game and noticed the 'Isolation Switch' feature. It has two settings: 'Run' and 'Start/Stop/Isolate'. What is its purpose?

    I understand what this does, if indeed it does shut off the locomotive......

    If possible could you past the link for buying his Asset? Would like to purchase and check out the Scripting on it too........

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, IL, Peoria
    Posts
    513
    Blog Entries
    2
     

    Default

    You'd think that after umpteen years of development for this 'sim', things of this type wouldn't have to be 'force' scripted by 3rd party content creators and would be part of the program itself!
    Toujours Prêt!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    27,999
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crazytrain View Post
    You'd think that after umpteen years of development for this 'sim', things of this type wouldn't have to be 'force' scripted by 3rd party content creators and would be part of the program itself!
    This is because these things are after the fact add-ons and not part of the original spec models. Keep in mind too that not all locomotives have that option, and the company is located in Australia and not the US so this option may not even be available.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, IL, Peoria
    Posts
    513
    Blog Entries
    2
     

    Default

    I'll bet Australians start/stop their locomotives, too. Probably rotate the switch in the opposite direction, tho. heh
    As for isolation, it might be just a matter of vocabulary. They may call it Engine Only, or something similar, but it still functions the same.

    By force scripted, I mean things have to be rigged in the script to make it work. Such as, you don't really shut the engine off. You just turn off or mute the engine sound. Then keep the throttle from being advanced. And keep the script from depleting the fuel queue. See how frustrating this is. And I don't even do scripting! ugh.
    Toujours Prêt!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    27,999
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crazytrain View Post
    I'll bet Australians start/stop their locomotives, too. Probably rotate the switch in the opposite direction, tho. heh
    As for isolation, it might be just a matter of vocabulary. They may call it Engine Only, or something similar, but it still functions the same.

    By force scripted, I mean things have to be rigged in the script to make it work. Such as, you don't really shut the engine off. You just turn off or mute the engine sound. Then keep the throttle from being advanced. And keep the script from depleting the fuel queue. See how frustrating this is. And I don't even do scripting! ugh.
    Back in the olden days, before there was a thing such as noise complaints by NIMBYs and fuel conservation, engines were left running 24/7. I remember the local rail yard leaving its SW9 and GP7s running all the time and road engines pulling in and sitting for hours running.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •