.
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Is there a limit on how big a route is?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    214
     

    Question Is there a limit on how big a route is?

    I am starting to worry on how big routes can be, with my GTHA route it will probably have more than 300 miles maybe even more than 400. That will be beyond massive, is there a limit to how big a route can be? And if so, how big would it be?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    846
    Blog Entries
    6
     

    Default

    short answer: yes, long answer: 500mb in size but if you go beyond that you won't be able to save it or edit it without extra work and it gets harder to work on. other then these limits you can make it as long as trainz can handle, the detail also eats up your 500mb over time.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    6,980
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    My current route, still under development, is over 220 miles of track length (and has reached as far as I am currently willing to go) with an asset size of about 145MB (58MB when compressed into a .cdp file).

    I did find a few threads on the issue but none seemed to give a definitive answer. The track length or the number of baseboards are not the only factors - the excessive use of RAM hungry assets will have a significant effect as will your systems available memory (both RAM and virtual). I do seem to recall (without any certainty) that I did see somewhere figures ranging from 500MB to 1GB of actual asset size so I suspect that we both may have a long way to go before reaching any physical limits.

    Some users suggested that boredom is more likely to be the limiting factor.
    TRS19 Platinum 105100 - TRS19 SP1 (standard) 105096 - TANE SP4 105766

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    27,977
     

    Default

    A route generally can be as large as your computer can physically handle. Physically handle means how much RAM and how much disk space you have available to support not only the many miles/kilometers of tracks, but also the huge amount of assets associated with a route of this size.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    27,977
     

    Default

    Some users suggested that boredom is more likely to be the limiting factor.
    This holds true not only for building but also for driving. I have a route that's about 200 miles long. It takes 6 hours to drive if everything goes as planned and the AI don't act up like spoilt children. During the 6 hours of driving, I have nodded off to sleep and derailed.

    Speaking of AI. I've noticed that AI will start getting marginally stupid over time then totally absolutely knob-headed stupid as time goes on. This is a program issue causing the drivers to "forget" commands, stare at signals, skip signals, track marks, and direction markers. This also affects signals themselves as they display red for one while others show the correct aspect. Pausing the program and resuming fixes that issue for a short time, but the fix is only temporary. Exiting from the driving session and resuming only makes matters worse. Yes. This has been reported and N3V is aware of the problem and it's caused by program threads getting stuck.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    6,980
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JCitron View Post
    I have a route that's about 200 miles long. It takes 6 hours to drive if everything goes as planned and the AI don't act up like spoilt children. During the 6 hours of driving, I have nodded off to sleep and derailed.
    What you need is a driver vigilance device that delivers an electric shock if you do not respond after, say, 30 seconds.
    TRS19 Platinum 105100 - TRS19 SP1 (standard) 105096 - TANE SP4 105766

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    27,977
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pware View Post
    What you need is a driver vigilance device that delivers an electric shock if you do not respond after, say, 30 seconds.
    Definitely. This is one of the reasons why I don't drive for long distances for real. At least in the simulation it doesn't cause any damage.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Easton
    Posts
    188
     

    Default

    I'm working on a fictional high-speed route that runs from Corolla, NC to Caswell Beach, NC. (https://www.youtube.com/post/UgyTeoLYBq7ru8csEV54AaABCQ) This route is 312 miles long. So far, it doesn't give me any problems except drivers getting confused because the next station is too far. "Failed to plot route." Sometimes, it'll say, "junction is missing lever," even though there is no junction. I haven't added any scenery except the lighthouses, tracks, trains, signals, a few railroad crossings, some road and signals, so I'm not sure how much detail can be added before the game acts up. I have downloaded a few routes that took over 30 minutes to load, though...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, New York, Allegany
    Posts
    1,579
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    [QUOTE=janathan;1829054 This route is 312 miles long. So far, it doesn't give me any problems except drivers getting confused because the next station is too far. "Failed to plot route." Sometimes, it'll say, "junction is missing lever," even though there is no junction. .[/QUOTE]

    I haven't tested this yet for that long of a distance, but it's been my understanding that sending the trains to trackmarks ( checkpoints) along the way would cure that problem. Doesn't breaking the route up into smaller block sections prevent that from happening ? IOW's not cutting the size of the route down but assigning checkpoints along the way. I'm breaking the size of my route down into actual sections ( larger town to larger town) just to help reduce TRAINZ loading time , however even if it stayed as one mega-large route that assigning track marks along the way would allow the AI to properly do it's job.
    Last edited by JimDep; August 14th, 2020 at 01:42 PM.
    T:ANE Standard SP2 to SP3
    TRS 2012 build 61388

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    United States of America, California
    Posts
    78
     

    Default

    I'm no expert at convincing the AI to do what I want. But I often instruct an AI train to "Navigate Via Trackmark" which sends the train through a siding along the way. If there is opposing traffic the train will wait in the siding until the path is clear. (Assuming that the train fits in the siding.)
    -Dave
    ASUS laptop i7-4500U CPU, GeForce GT745M. Currently running TANE SP1 HF4 build 84204.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    27,977
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OddRails View Post
    I'm no expert at convincing the AI to do what I want. But I often instruct an AI train to "Navigate Via Trackmark" which sends the train through a siding along the way. If there is opposing traffic the train will wait in the siding until the path is clear. (Assuming that the train fits in the siding.)
    That works, but after "sometime", which I'll let you figure out how long that is because it's a technical term, the AI become dumb when there's lots of them.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •