.
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Range (distance) for a Speed Limit Sign?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Murrysville
    Posts
    3,681
     

    Question Range (distance) for a Speed Limit Sign?

    Does a speed limit sign have a distance limit other than another speed limit sign? That is, does the limitation value stop at a signal, a switch or some other on-track element?
    Dick near Pittsburgh, Pa. i5-2500K 4.3ghz, 8gb memory, GTX1060 4gb video card

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    27,672
     

    Default

    Nothing else that I'm aware of other than the next speed limit.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,442
    Blog Entries
    2
     

    Default

    In Trainz, there's no range. Once you pass it, that's the speed forever.

    Depending on the Railroad, but also generally no. The speed limit is set and then can stay that for 100 miles, but generally there'll be another sign somewhere along that route.

    There are exceptions though - in my state in Australia the driver's were tasked with knowing the max speed for the line, and then curveboards were used, slowing down around corners with no speed signs on the way out - the driver's just sped back up when they had passed the curve.

    Cheers
    Jamie



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, California, Port Hueneme
    Posts
    1,936
     

    Default

    In some European countries I have seen an "end of limitation", a white square bordered in black: Pass it and resume maximum speed.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Murrysville
    Posts
    3,681
     

    Default

    OK, Thanks... Looks like it is a simple marking that should preserve speed limits between speed signs(hopefully).
    Dick near Pittsburgh, Pa. i5-2500K 4.3ghz, 8gb memory, GTX1060 4gb video card

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    27,672
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by boleyd View Post
    OK, Thanks... Looks like it is a simple marking that should preserve speed limits between speed signs(hopefully).
    This is highly recommended and if you have any branches or sidings that require slow in and out, be sure to put the mainline speed at the exit, otherwise, the AI will continue to move at the slower speed. I also place reminders for the track speed because I will sometimes place a consist down on the track in the middle of nowhere. Without the posted speed anywhere, the AI will default to 40 mph even if the actual speed is supposed to be higher or lower.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •