Confused newby seeking simple instructions on using Trainz 2019

OldSARy

I recently bought Trainz 2019 Platinum, having no past experience of any version of Trainz. I am finding great difficulty in doing basic things like knowing what I can do with the program. Can I only do anything other than the tutorials on driving trains if I find and download other people's work? I have searched the website but can't find step-by-step instructions on using the program.

I am reasonably intelligent, English is my first language, but getting into this program is like wading through waist-deep water. I have been using flight simulators for many decades, so I understand the concept of simulation, but the lack of documentation for Trainz frustrates me greatly, and, having read many forum posts, it seems that I am not an orphan in this matter.

Will someone point me to useful resources for total newbies?

A 2 second web search turned up this:
Where do I find the manual for TRS19
Posted by N3V Games (Zec) on 18 December 2018 03:06 PM
Trainz Railroad Simulator 2019 does not include a traditional PDF manual in it. Instead you can access out online wiki based manual by clicking on the 'File' menu on the launcher screen, then click on 'View online documentation'.

Alternatively you can access the TRS19 Help Wiki here.\

You can also access function/feature specific help by clicking on the '?' button on the top toolbar, select the 'Click An Object On Screen You Want Help With' option, and then click on the feature/function you wish to find information on. You can also choose from several other options on this page for help with Trainz.

And, by the way, you are much better off starting with routes and sessions provided by others. You are trying to go from 0 to 100 mph immediately.

Welcome to Trainz!