.
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 46 to 56 of 56

Thread: The Revamped Darjeeling Himalayan Railway (for T:ANE-SP4)

  1. #46
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Ohio
    Posts
    4,210
     

    Default

    In TANE, the Agony Arms Hotel was rendered way too bright. I went into the item and reduced the brightness of all the colors by 50 to 60 percent. If they are still too bright when you place it back on the route, lower the brightness once more.

    Peter had a tough time with the meshes for the track. Some of them still had little gaps, but they were mostly hidden by terrain when sunk far enough.

    Looking good.

    Bill
    Name: Bill (USN, Retired) Into computers over 55 years
    User ID: 202442
    Trainzer since: 2003
    Currently using: T:ANE (SP4)

  2. #47
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    was in the Netherlands
    Posts
    5,314
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    So this is not an new issue with the gaps? I was about to comment that when they fix the current issues with SP3, portals and who knows what else, can your fixes be easily undone? Perhaps by placing them in separate layer that can be removed or hidden if required.

    I always admired all the work that went into researching and building this route and agree, if animation had been added in the beginning, it would have brought all but the most powerful computers of the day to their knees. Got to work with what you have and not with what you wish you have.


    70337:
    TRS19 Platinum, build 110491 SP2, Win10 Pro 64 bit, i7-7700 3.6GHz 16 GB, GTX 1070 Ti

  3. #48
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Michigan, Manchester
    Posts
    6,011
    Blog Entries
    27
     

    Default

    I started remaking the textures for some of the building a while back... although with '19 it might be a good idea to look at them again.



    If all goes well I'll be going back to nearby Meghalaya in October next year (2022)... might be possible to add in a side trip either on the way over or way back.

    Peter
    Last edited by PerRock; May 3rd, 2021 at 06:13 PM.
    ~Peter


    I do not provide support via PM.
    Now at a new location!
    www.americantrainz.com

  4. #49
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Ohio
    Posts
    4,210
     

    Default

    Nicely redone, Peter. Could use some "shabbyness" though. Patched spots on wall, mis-matched paint, dirt spatters, etc.

    Bill
    Name: Bill (USN, Retired) Into computers over 55 years
    User ID: 202442
    Trainzer since: 2003
    Currently using: T:ANE (SP4)

  5. #50
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Cheshire
    Posts
    2,103
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by martinvk View Post
    So this is not an new issue with the gaps? I was about to comment that when they fix the current issues with SP3, portals and who knows what else, can your fixes be easily undone? Perhaps by placing them in separate layer that can be removed or hidden if required.

    I always admired all the work that went into researching and building this route and agree, if animation had been added in the beginning, it would have brought all but the most powerful computers of the day to their knees. Got to work with what you have and not with what you wish you have
    .

    There is no doubt that this route was a tremendous achievement back then, it is still an oustanding piece of work.

    I have already put the aditional 'covers' in a separate layer so that they can easily be removed if necessary. I just need to keep checking that I am working in the correct layer, if only we had some visual reminder!

    Something else I did was to convert all of the boards to 5m grid to enable better landscaping and texturing, that's why you can still see squares of ground texture for now.

    Cheers,
    Graham
    Member of TCWW and Trainz DE

    Enthusiast, not expert.

  6. #51
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Ohio
    Posts
    4,210
     

    Default

    Not sure if you know the whole backstory, Graham. Originally, there was a core of 8 route builders who were interested in the DHR. We allocated tasks to everyone and set up Peter (Narrowgauge) as the boss. I was assigned to the DEM creation. It was a real bear as all we had then was HOG, but it did get done. Then we were faced with how to pass the route around. Peter (I think) came up with the idea of breaking the route into manageable chunks called SCABS. (Not sure now what the acronym meant). This worked great and once I had the DEM done and the track roughly laid (took me 7 months), we broke the route up and passed them out to builders. Once they finished, they passed it back to me and I glued it onto a Master route.

    This whole process was aided in a huge part by content builders, most notably DMDrake. His creations numbered well over 2500 for the route--all original designs. Quite a few others, some now not active, contributed as well. We even managed a freebie waterfall from Sir Gibby. All the while, we were chronicled online by John D'Angelo as he kept the external modeling world informed of our progress. We even mailed DVDs between us to get live perspective of scenic "hotspots" which we super-detailed (note the Kurseong station and market area and Darjeeling station).

    Altogether, the project from beginning to first offering took three and a half years. I still have the original DEM with nothing but one single track from end to end stored away on a CD.

    Bill
    Name: Bill (USN, Retired) Into computers over 55 years
    User ID: 202442
    Trainzer since: 2003
    Currently using: T:ANE (SP4)

  7. #52
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Burnside, Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    5,487
     

    Default

    The 'breakage' of the embankment wall is a Trainz geometry problem. A track module is essentially a rectangle, so on a curve, the outer side needs to stretch and the inner side overlaps. Normally, this would not be visible but Agony Corner is an extreme example of this occurrence. The problem is that if that 'stretch' is built in to the mesh, it could show as a dark line at the join on straight track.

    "cloaking the side wall" is an excellent idea but I will see if I can make a new track module with the 'stretch' built-in specifically for that particular situation. I think I still have the original mesh files so a conversion should be simple. 'should be simple', famous last words, is anything simple in Trainz.

    Same applies to any other road or track problem. Tell me.

    Peter
    I5-6 Core CPU. 1070-Ti video card, 16GB memory

  8. #53
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Cheshire
    Posts
    2,103
     

    Default

    Peter, it's up to you if you want to do the fixes, I did not aim to give you more work that's why I 'covered up'.

    I tried many roads and tracks that had the embankment below them and they all had the same problem with the gap.

    I would have left them as they were but I needed to change the textures and of course they then have to be v3.5 or above to get the into the DLS.

    You are so right about 'should be simple' that saying seems to be used a lot these days in the Trainz world.

    Cheers,

    Graham
    Member of TCWW and Trainz DE

    Enthusiast, not expert.

  9. #54
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Burnside, Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    5,487
     

    Default

    Graham.

    Having thought more about the problem, I think yours is by far the better solution so feel free to use your KUID for the upload. This applies to any other replacement you may find necessary. If you find a situation where this is difficult, give me a shout to see what we can come up with.

    I thank you for getting involved. You are finding what we have found, the DHR is a challenge and an addiction.

    Peter

    Peter
    I5-6 Core CPU. 1070-Ti video card, 16GB memory

  10. #55
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Cheshire
    Posts
    2,103
     

    Default

    Hi Peter,

    I am enjoying this assignment, it's different to anything I've done before and is very challenging, but you know I like a challenge

    I've done nothing to it today, I had to rest my mouse hand and wear my wrist brace for the day.

    I'll be back to working on it in 9 hour's time.

    DHR addictive? Oh yes, I've even ordered some Darjeeling tea to try

    Cheers,

    Graham
    Member of TCWW and Trainz DE

    Enthusiast, not expert.

  11. #56
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Ohio
    Posts
    4,210
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by euromodeller View Post
    .....

    DHR addictive? Oh yes, I've even ordered some Darjeeling tea to try

    Cheers,

    Graham
    I've been drinking it for years. Buy it in tins from Twinings, about a can a month.

    Bill
    Name: Bill (USN, Retired) Into computers over 55 years
    User ID: 202442
    Trainzer since: 2003
    Currently using: T:ANE (SP4)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •