Noob question: Where can we get more routes?

tomservo75

Hello Trainz community. I'm very new to this, and I am looking for more routes, I love the Canadian Rockies but getting tired of just that route. I go to the content manager but I can't seem to find any routes to download there either. Is there a way to search by country and/or state? I want to find things like the Northeast Corridor from Boston to Washington, or the American Rockies, some of the Amtrak routes like Coast Starlight, Vermonter, Cascades, Empire Builder. But I see no place to search for them. Maybe there are some similar user-made ones? I'm just not sure where to look other than Content Manager and I'm having trouble finding any routes there, all I find are the built-in and internals.

In CM along the top: on the left side there is a drop-down. Choose "Download Station". Then on the right side there is a search box, put whatever you're looking for in there. You may need to try a couple different search terms to find it, as members here who are the folks uploading stuff there call things differently.

PS: That being said, Amtrak is a bit unloved around here by the folks who make stuff, so you're unlikely to find an "Coast Starlight" route or another named Amtrak route. That being said there are still quite a lot of routes out there & a lot of them have stations on them. There are a few routes out there that a modeled off from real tracks that Amtrak uses, but they're more aimed at the freight lines so will be listed by their freight name.

Last edited:
Learn to use the "filter" at the top of Content Manager. You can specifically filter to show Routes only.
- Click the triangle to the left of "Installed" at top.
- Click on "True" and set from True to "False" - You are now seeing everything you have NOT installed.
- On far right of that same line click on the plus sign
- You will get a "second filter" under "Installed"
- Set the second filter to "Category" = "Route" to see uninstalled routes only.