.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

Thread: Why is finding a Missing Dependency so difficult ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Quarantining Since March 1st In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    859
     

    Default Why is finding a Missing Dependency so difficult ?

    Why is finding a Missing Dependency so difficult ?

    You Buy a payware asset

    You install all of the files in the download

    The Asset has Missing Dependencies

    You look up the Missing Dependencies

    You look up what type of dependencies they are

    You search for the kuids on TKI

    TKI instructs you to the assets site

    You search for the Kuid

    The Kuid Numeral is not there

    You Search for the asset kuids name

    The Kuids name not there

    You search your Downloads on the assets site

    The Missing Dependency is not listed under kuid numeral, or under it's name

    The Missing Dependency is supposedly under some obscure file name: "Deps 1" or an obscure generic screenshot image, but the Kuid is not inside that package

    You search and search for Missing Dependencies for 9 hours, until you are going Blind

    Why can't all the Dependencies be included and easily identified by it's Kuid numeral, in the payware download ?

    The Dependency is still Missing, as the website that provided the asset to you, does not list, and sort things, by Kuid Numerals

    Instead they hide things under obscure file names, hiding them inside other assets, instead of listing them by kuid numeral

    Why can't all the assets parts be simply packaged in the download, so that they are easy to identify the Kuid numeral, and install that Kuid numeral ?

    After 3 days, you still have Payware assets that have Missing Dependencies, and the asset is still inoperable !

    Why aren't assets and dependencies listed by their Kuid Numeral on the payware website, and listed by their Kuid Numeral inside the payware downloads ???
    Last edited by MP242; May 23rd, 2020 at 03:28 PM.
    My apologies to all. I have decided that in these horrible current events, we all need to stick together as a Community

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Port Noarlunga South Australia
    Posts
    1,675
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MP242 View Post
    Why is finding a Missing Dependency so difficult ?

    You Buy a payware asset

    You install all of the files in the download

    The Asset has Missing Dependencies

    You look up the Missing Dependencies

    You look up what type of dependencies they are

    You search for the kuids on TKI

    TKI instructs you to the assets site

    You search for the Kuid

    The Kuid Numeral is not there

    You Search for the asset kuids name

    The Kuids name not there

    You search your Downloads on the assets site

    The Missing Dependency is not listed under kuid numeral, or under it's name

    The Missing Dependency is supposedly under some obscure file name: "Deps 1" or an obscure generic screenshot image, but the Kuid is not inside that package

    You search and search for Missing Dependencies for 9 hours, until you are going Blind

    Why can't all the Dependencies be included and easily identified by it's Kuid numeral, in the payware download ?

    The Dependency is still Missing, as the website that provided the asset to you, does not list, and sort things, by Kuid Numerals

    Instead they hide things under obscure file names, hiding them inside other assets, instead of listing them by kuid numeral

    Why can't all the assets parts be simply packaged in the download, so that they are easy to identify the Kuid numeral, and install that Kuid numeral ?

    After 3 days, you still have Payware assets that have Missing Dependencies, and the asset is still inoperable !

    Why aren't assets and dependencies listed by their Kuid Numeral on the payware website, and listed by their Kuid Numeral inside the payware downloads ???
    It is indeed darned annoying and if it's payWare it would be a reasonable expectation that all the items would be included in one zip file . However , it does seem that there are a significant number of creators who don't make finding this games assets a priority , as seen by some of the obscure names and numbering systems given to assets .its almost as if they take a perverse delight in making identification and locating their works as difficult as possible. Perhaps they want users to partake in the angst and frustration that are encountered during the creative progress , so they design these systems to be as frustrating as possible.
    WARNING! The Surgeon General has determined that the use of the simulator Trainz is highly addictive,

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Quarantining Since March 1st In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    859
     

    Default

    It sure would make things easier to find dependencies sorted and listed by their Kuid Numerals on a website.
    Last edited by MP242; May 24th, 2020 at 09:36 PM.
    My apologies to all. I have decided that in these horrible current events, we all need to stick together as a Community

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, IL, Peoria
    Posts
    497
    Blog Entries
    2
     

    Default

    It'd be awesome if you could buy a car, have the body work delivered, and then travel all over the world to find the rest of the parts to complete it.

    What an adventure that would be!
    Toujours Prêt!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Newcastle NSW Australia
    Posts
    6,469
     

    Default

    MP242,

    I’m sure you already know the answer to your own question. The root cause is creators who, for whatever reason, put their assets only in places other than the Download Station. Following from that, are other creators who make routes populated with assets from those non-DLS sources.

    .
    Last edited by Dinorius_Redundicus; May 23rd, 2020 at 07:27 PM.
    T:ANE SP4 build 105946 and TRS2019 SP1 build 105096
    Win 10, i7 5820K, 3.3 GHz, 32GB ram, GTX 980Ti, 2x512GB SSD

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    6,737
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    While I agree with Dinorius, the original post was about payware (not DLC I would hope). Unfortunately, this problem is far too common in freeware routes as has been pointed out in many, many posts and threads in these forums. There is no easy solution to this problem in freeware and, I believe, it is part of the price that we must expect to pay for a free and open DLS.

    Payware is however, another matter.

    Of course it is always possible that the missing asset is one that had been removed from the route by the creator but has, somehow, not been removed from routes dependencies (there have been a few cases of this in occurring in earlier versions of Trainz - the OP did not make it clear which Trainz version was in use). But that possibility aside, you have paid for a complete and working route and this has not been delivered.

    My first recourse would not be to attempt to find the missing asset myself but to contact the creator directly and firmly, but politely, insist that he/she meets the full terms of the sale contract by supplying a product that is "fit for service".

    Another reason why I never use 3rd party freeware or payware.
    TRS19 Platinum 105100 - TRS19 SP1 (standard) 105096 - TANE SP4 105766

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Illinois, Joliet
    Posts
    57
     

    Default

    Why not include a "KUID Location.txt" or some such in the .cdp?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    6,737
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    A sensible idea but one that still relies on the creator going the "extra mile" to compile this list. A common problem is that not all creators know the origin of every asset that they have added to a route (I have been there and done that!). I am convinced that a few make the assumption that if an asset is on their system then it must be on everyone's system and if it is missing from your system then you must have deleted it - so it is not their responsibility to locate it for you.

    TANE and TRS19 CM now provide a check, in the form of the "status" column showing "3rd party asset" (or something similar) when they display a dependency that is not built-in, on the DLS or DLC (N3V Payware). I now routinely use this feature to weed out the possible "missing assets" before I release a route or session to the DLS.
    TRS19 Platinum 105100 - TRS19 SP1 (standard) 105096 - TANE SP4 105766

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Quarantining Since March 1st In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    859
     

    Default

    Taking a break from Trainz for a while
    Last edited by MP242; May 24th, 2020 at 09:29 PM.
    My apologies to all. I have decided that in these horrible current events, we all need to stick together as a Community

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    6,737
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MP242 View Post
    If it is a Payware Asset, that you PAID money for, ALL the dependencies should be included with the loco, or railcar, download
    Totally agree but you have misunderstood my context. The "not my responsibility" was (in my opinion) the attitude of a few creators when their creations have missing assets.
    TRS19 Platinum 105100 - TRS19 SP1 (standard) 105096 - TANE SP4 105766

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Quarantining Since March 1st In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    859
     

    Default

    Taking a break from Trainz for a while
    Last edited by MP242; May 24th, 2020 at 09:30 PM.
    My apologies to all. I have decided that in these horrible current events, we all need to stick together as a Community

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    516
     

    Default

    Have you contacted the person you bought it from?

    Chris.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    27,207
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MP242 View Post
    Question: Are some RRMods, and JR assets, NOT at all usable at all, in TS19, and that is my problem ?

    As I am trying to get them into TS19

    Showing: Missing Assets
    Not true. Jointed Rail states which products are compatible with the versions. Locomotives, railcars, and buildings work fine, but older routes will not due to the older SpeedTrees, which can be replaced if you really want to do that. I did that with the Midwest Grain and American Intermodal, and merged both into a much bigger route. They work fine as I intend them to, and they look very good as well.

    Jointed Rail provides links to their dependencies within the orders and downloads. If you purchased a current route from Jointed Rail, for example, you will have a link for the route and additional links for the dependencies, or a link to specific page for the product if the route requires additional dependencies. In the event you are missing something, contact them and they will provide support. With all the $100's worth of content I purchased from Jointed Rail over the years, I have never, ever, had a problem with my purchases, past or present.

    There are cases where some assets require additional downloads from the DLS as well as some built-ins.

    With that said, I can't vouch for others you may have purchased assets from, but these two have few if any problems at all.

    If you are seeing missing dependencies, I recommend you check for assets open for edit and revert them. In TRS2019, previously installed assets are left open rather than automatically submitted. If there are any assets open for edit, highlight them and revert to original.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Quarantining Since March 1st In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    859
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisaw View Post
    Have you contacted the person you bought it from?

    Chris.
    I don't even know where to start

    Taking a break from Trainz for a while
    Last edited by MP242; May 24th, 2020 at 09:32 PM.
    My apologies to all. I have decided that in these horrible current events, we all need to stick together as a Community

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    516
     

    Default

    What is wrong with asking the the provider? It's their product, they should support it. I'm sure they like this sort of thread when they aren't even aware of a problem.

    Chris.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •