Victorian (Australian) Newbie

locolachie

G'day everyone,

I am a train driver, and an enthusiast. I have bought TRS 2019 and TransDem for Trainz, because I thought it would be a good way to learn tracks by building them. From my perspective I am not as interested in scenery as many people are, because when you are driving a train you are looking for signals, curve boards, mile (km) pegs, and very specific braking marks so your focus tends to be very narrow and in the forward distance. It's actually pretty funny sometimes, as I used to drive the same track my wife goes to work on, and she has seen things I have never noticed, because I am concentrating on speeds and signals and never look out the side of the train!

My impression prior to buying Trainz was that it was the simulator with the easiest route creation and most Australian content. Since then it seems Australian Trainz Division has disappeared, and though there is undoubtedly still a lot of information and content out there it is really hard to find because of the sheer volume of information! Could anyone suggest where to start with my specific interest? What I would like in terms of trackside objects is signals, gantries, curve boards, speed boards, bridges, culverts, and level crossings. That sort of stuff.

I thought I would start off by building a short route, in the Walhalla line from Erica to Walhalla. Never going to drive that one I suspect, but it is short, sweet and dramatic. I have got as far as going through the tutorials to import a map and a vector route using Open Street Map, but have got stuck trying to get DEM data from Geoscience.gov.au which seems to be the most precise available. Has anyone had any luck with this data source? Should I just use the SRTM data instead?

On the other side of all these demands, if I can answer any of your questions about my job I am more than happy to do so.