.
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Delete many objects at once: can it be done?

  1. #1

    Default Delete many objects at once: can it be done?

    Well, here's another newbie question. I've noticed in another thread that there is a Copy/Paste function in the surveyor, but I've noticed there's no accompanying Cut/Paste function. Cut without pasting would be really nice as it would completely address what I need to do - which is delete large numbers of objects of different kinds in bulk instead of click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click, click.......................

    So, let's say I want to clear a large area of trees in the Kickstarter route. How would you do that besides click, click, click, click... ?

    Searching for "delete many objects Trainz 2019" doesn't give me any useful information.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    215
     

    Default

    hi
    the copy paste are next to each other
    just copy an area on blank piece of board to the size you want
    and then move over what you want to delete and paste

    Matt

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by goomermatt View Post
    hi
    the copy paste are next to each other
    just copy an area on blank piece of board to the size you want
    and then move over what you want to delete and paste

    Matt
    At first, I didn't really get what you were saying, but yeah, that works a treat. But I have to say, that has got to be the most unintuitive, convoluted thing I have ever seen, and I've worked professionally with my share of graphics apps throughout the years. I'm used to selecting something and hitting the delete key.

    Thank you very much!

  4. #4

    Default

    With the bulk asset replacement tool you can also reduce selected objects in an area to 0%.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oknotsen View Post
    With the bulk asset replacement tool you can also reduce selected objects in an area to 0%.

    Thanks for the heads-up! More options are always better.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Meridian, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    4,086
     

    Default

    Even reduced to 0% wouldn't the assets still be part of the system load and have to be kept track of?
    “We are all travelers in the wilderness of this world, and the best we can find in our travels is an honest friend.” - R.L.S.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Newcastle NSW Australia
    Posts
    6,884
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Forester1 View Post
    Even reduced to 0% wouldn't the assets still be part of the system load and have to be kept track of?
    Not if you save the route after the cull. That’s my intuitive guess anyway, because the save would re-write the kuid-table which would not include assets that are no longer present.
    3DS Max 2009/2012. T:ANE SP4 (105946) & TRS19 SP2 (110491).
    Win10, i7 5820K, 3.3GHz, 32GB ram, GTX 980Ti 6GB vram, 2x512GB SSD.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Australia, Victoria, Churchill
    Posts
    2,212
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dinorius_Redundicus View Post
    Not if you save the route after the cull. That’s my intuitive guess anyway, because the save would re-write the kuid-table which would not include assets that are no longer present.
    Saving may not always rewrite the kuid table, but 'save as' definitely will.
    cheers
    Graeme

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    United States of America, PA
    Posts
    1,077
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Forester1 View Post
    Even reduced to 0% wouldn't the assets still be part of the system load and have to be kept track of?
    In addition to what others have said, it also depends on how many of those assets are used elsewhere on the route .. OP is talking about basically clear-cutting a swath of land to build a new area, much like burning down the Amazon Rain Forest for farm land, not nessecarily removing assets X, Y, and Z from the entire route .. This would also not completely remove those assets from the KUID table, but only reconfigure the String-Table section, maybe.
    USER ERROR. Please uninstall Trainz and resume thinking it wasn't your fault. Thank you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •