.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: TRS 2019 Platinum Edition keeps removing assets from routes.

  1. #1

    Default TRS 2019 Platinum Edition keeps removing assets from routes.

    I bought 2019 Platinum 2 weeks ago and I've been pretty happy with it. What I am not happy with is 2019 Platinum *removing* assets from my routes in sometimes large quantities. It happens randomly, so it is hard to pinpoint the problem.

    Here is an example. I will work on a route and save it periodically. This example took me about 8 hours ( a lot of free time out of work and school ). I will save it for a final time, run some engines on it and come back to it.



    In this picture, you see the completed diorama.



    When I come back to it. This almost always happens after I save it as a cdp and also do the same to it's dependancies. I'm thinking it's possibly related to another problem; that when I submit edits for faulty content, they become "untitled."

    This is a less severe example. I've made entire routes recently that have had all of the assets but the textures disappear, and by that, I mean there are no visible assets. They are not faulty. There aren't even spline points. My backups is set to 1 per the advice of a fellow Trainz user regarding a different problem. Keep in mind, I'm only complaining now because it goes on and on and I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. I'm 95% sure it's not the game and it's user error, but I'm lost.
    I play Trainz with a laptop

    HP Z Book 17, Intel Core i7-4700MQ, NVIDIA Quadro K5100M, Mobile Intel QM87.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Australia, Victoria, Churchill
    Posts
    1,801
     

    Default

    Ok, it seems like you may have been building in the session layer rather than the route layer. A switch from driver to surveyor with UDS will automatically put you on the session layer upon return to surveyor. Always check the layer you are in when returning to surveyor.
    A likely fix is to merge the session layer into the route layer.
    cheers
    Graeme

  3. #3

    Default

    Hello, grazlash. Thank you for the tip. I have 16 sessions and only one is the correct one. But for some reason, it won't let me merge them. Session layer wont work and even saving the session as a new route won't work.
    Last edited by ministerfarrigut; April 10th, 2020 at 12:30 AM.
    I play Trainz with a laptop

    HP Z Book 17, Intel Core i7-4700MQ, NVIDIA Quadro K5100M, Mobile Intel QM87.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Katoomba
    Posts
    976
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grazlash View Post
    .... A switch from driver to surveyor with UDS will automatically put you on the session layer upon return to surveyor. Always check the layer you are in when returning to surveyor.....

    cheers
    Graeme
    I agree with Graeme. This is a real trap for UDS Newbies, and one I also learnt the hard way. I now try and make a habit of switching layers as the first thing I do on entering Surveyor. But I still occasionally get caught out.

    It would be nice if UDS automatically started in the layer you were last editing.
    Last edited by FootplatePhil; April 10th, 2020 at 12:46 AM.
    Phil
    'WeddinNSW V4.1' for TRS2019 SP1 now on the DLS. All my screenshots are from a route you can download for free, now.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    27,207
     

    Default

    It nailed me too. That trap really hurts!

    Backups are our friends.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

  6. #6

    Default

    I'll definitely be more aware next time. It irks me how random it is. With some it's fine, but others like this? Nah.

    So begs the question: Since what graeme suggested didn't work, should I just wish the UDS gremlins away? What would be the logical next step?

    Wait, you said backups.

    Could me having 0 daily backups be the culprit?
    I play Trainz with a laptop

    HP Z Book 17, Intel Core i7-4700MQ, NVIDIA Quadro K5100M, Mobile Intel QM87.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    27,207
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ministerfarrigut View Post
    I'll definitely be more aware next time. It irks me how random it is. With some it's fine, but others like this? Nah.

    So begs the question: Since what graeme suggested didn't work, should I just wish the UDS gremlins away? What would be the logical next step?

    Wait, you said backups.

    Could me having 0 daily backups be the culprit?
    Yikes 0 backups isn't good, and it's not the culprit, however, it's like walking on a tightrope without any net underneath and doing it daily until things get messed up. Well not that bad, but you get the idea. These backups are a bit cumbersome to work with. They require finding the tzarc file in the backups folder and copying that to the edit folder and running a DBR in Content Manager.

    What I do is export my routes to CDPs more often than not with an extra one or two when I am making extensive changes on a route. I will also do a save as on my route and create a new version by calling it something else - usually a version number and date like Enfield & Eastern Ver. 5.6 --- 04-10-2020. I'll then exit Surveyor and then open up the new copy and continue editing from there. The process continues with each change. I'll backup the previous versions after a bit of time to CDP and delete them from Trainz to save disk space and make room on the route menu.

    What I do is I create my route in Surveyor and do all my work in Surveyor. If I need to test something, like signals, or the look, I'll switch to driver and drive then go back to Surveyor and continue building without saving.

    If I am in Driver, I will jump into Surveyor to fix things, but do not save the session when I do this. This is because this can ruin a good-working driver's session by putting everything out of place.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    6,738
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    The Trainz Wiki has a guide to automatic and manual backups, as well as recovery from crashes, at http://online.ts2009.com/mediaWiki/i...Manage_Backups
    TRS19 Platinum 105100 - TRS19 SP1 (standard) 105096 - TANE SP4 105766

  9. #9

    Default

    I'm taking a look at said article now, JCItron broight up the point I was trying to make. I tried saving the session as a new route, but it didn't work. I'm not sure if I did something wrong or what. The session I tried to save was the one with the edits on it.
    I play Trainz with a laptop

    HP Z Book 17, Intel Core i7-4700MQ, NVIDIA Quadro K5100M, Mobile Intel QM87.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Australia, NSW
    Posts
    907
     

    Default

    You can't save a session as a route, two totally different things, which is probably where your problem is. The suggestion was I believe to merge the session layer into the route layer, and make sure you don't have a ton of sessions. So, load the session where everything is present, open the layers and select to merge it into the route layer. You could save as, with a new name so you now have a back up which should become the main one.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Katoomba
    Posts
    976
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alikiwi View Post
    You can't save a session as a route, two totally different things, which is probably where your problem is. The suggestion was I believe to merge the session layer into the route layer, and make sure you don't have a ton of sessions. So, load the session where everything is present, open the layers and select to merge it into the route layer. You could save as, with a new name so you now have a back up which should become the main one.
    Yes, this is the best way out, IF you realise what you have done before exiting your editing session. However, I usually select the 'save route and not session option' out of habit as otherwise you run the risk of stuffing up your session. Which means that unfortunately I don't find out that my intended route changes were actually made in the Session Layer until its far too late.

    I posted a suggestion on all this in the Suggestion Forum, but I don't think I did a great job of explaining the issue.
    https://forums.auran.com/trainz/show...ast-used-layer

    With my career background I believe in backing up the backups of my backups. Send them off-site. Send them to the cloud. Send them to your mum to look after! One day you WILL be glad you did. However no strategy for backups can save you if you accidentally/unintentionally discard your changes !

    Hopefully either Tony or Chris will read this thread.
    Last edited by FootplatePhil; April 10th, 2020 at 05:20 AM.
    Phil
    'WeddinNSW V4.1' for TRS2019 SP1 now on the DLS. All my screenshots are from a route you can download for free, now.

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ministerfarrigut View Post
    Hello, grazlash. Thank you for the tip. I have 16 sessions and only one is the correct one. But for some reason, it won't let me merge them. Session layer wont work and even saving the session as a new route won't work.

    I already did say that merging the two didn't work, so I'm grasping. I suppose there really isn't a way to fix it, and if so, ah well.
    I play Trainz with a laptop

    HP Z Book 17, Intel Core i7-4700MQ, NVIDIA Quadro K5100M, Mobile Intel QM87.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    6,738
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    The merging process involves two or more routes but only a single session attached to the first route can be in the merge. In other words you cannot merge sessions, only routes.
    TRS19 Platinum 105100 - TRS19 SP1 (standard) 105096 - TANE SP4 105766

  14. #14

    Default

    Darn it, well, thanks for the help guys.
    I play Trainz with a laptop

    HP Z Book 17, Intel Core i7-4700MQ, NVIDIA Quadro K5100M, Mobile Intel QM87.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Colorado, Colorado Springs
    Posts
    795
     

    Default

    Peruse this link for merging layers:

    http://online.ts2009.com/mediaWiki/i...Merging_Layers
    I7-8700K
    1070Ti
    PCIe SSD operation (program and build)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •