.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31

Thread: The latest Trainz Plus patch 106618 dies every time editing BCSJ-507 route

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    456
     

    Default The latest Trainz Plus patch 106618 dies every time editing BCSJ-507 route

    Wow! I got this via email this morning...



    Trainz Plus 2020 Q1 Update - Official Release

    The latest update for all our Trainz Plus and Gold Class members is now available on PC and Mac.
    PC Build 105100 to 106618 (single patch)
    Mac Build 105113 to 106755 (2 step patch)

    This update includes Effect Layer tools and Bulk update/replace tools.To keep up to date on all the Trainz Plus updates, visit our Trainz Wiki here.

    To update to the latest version, ensure your Patch Stream is set to "Trainz Plus".




    Because I'm an idiot, I downloaded and installed the new version Trainz Plus version 106618.
    Big mistake. Now Trainz dies every time when I try to Edit Route BCSJ-507.
    Well, it does manage to enter Surveyor when editing Kickstarter County 2.
    I rebooted my computer. Still dies before the Surveyor window appears.

    I'm soo happy.... but I guess somehow I'm not surprised.

    Horace (spittin' feathers) Fithers



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    1,953
     

    Default

    I have no problem editing version 508 of the route in Build 106618. The only issue I get for now (as reported in the dedicated thread in Freeware section) is when resuming a driver session.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    1,204
     

    Default

    I had run routes with 106618 in my 19Plus beta install with no problems. Obviously so had many others as in beta testing there were no reports or a major issue such as this.

    Interestingly, I had loaded your route in 105100 (previous plus release) with no issue.

    This morning I patched to 106618 in my "main" install that contained your route. With your route and 106618 I too got a CTD. With 106618 I've had no problem with what few routes I've tried so far.

    EDIT - UPDATE
    The Route had crashed when I attempted to load a session I had setup previously in 106618. I just created a new session with no problem. So the crash came in opening an existing session.
    Last edited by 1611mac; April 9th, 2020 at 04:31 PM.
    Win10: ASUS B450M-A/CSM, GTX 1060-6 Windforce
    TRS19 SP1(plus), 106618(plus), 106618(+beta)


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    456
     

    Default

    Could my running an AMD 2950x threadripper be causing issues?

    HF

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    27,190
     

    Default

    It's not the processor, I don't think.

    Try a database repair. You do this from the Launcher. If it doesn't do the trick, I recommend running an EDR. Extended Database Repair.

    In both cases, close down Trainz.

    At the Launcher click o the Developer menu item on the menu bar.
    Press CTRL and click on Rebuild Database.

    WARNING! This process can and will take a very long time depending upon how much data you have installed. This process maybe followed by a lengthy asset validation process as well. There may also be faulty assets listed in Content Manager. These maybe simple validation false errors, and the process of viewing errors and warnings usually removes the faulty status. If the faulty status does not go away, exit, wait a minute and start up again and check the faulty assets in Content Manager.

    Opening up a route for the first time may take longer than normal. This is a normal process since the cached information has been deleted during the EDR. Once a route is opened in Surveyor, clicking on one of the side menus may take longer since there is further caching taking place. They menus will appear empty and caching will appear up on the top of the screen. Wait patiently for this to complete and the data will return to normal.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    456
     

    Default

    Multiple database repairs and an extended database repair did not solve my problem.

    Neither did rebooting my computer and starting Trainz without any of the other junk running that I usually have.

    The problem did not occur looking at a session. Trainz loses it mind and vanishes when used Edit Route at about the time the Surveyor interface should appear.

    I was able to successfully edit an older version, BCSJ-502, route. 0f

    I tried Edit session on BCSJ-507 and that also failed.

    I have not yet checked compatibility mode.

    The fact that some have reported being able to Edit Route the BCSJ-507 route while others are having troubles plus the heap-of-consists-in-the-paddoc makes me wonder if yet another database corruption has crept into the route.
    Horace (overwhelmed in Oregon) Fithers

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Chicago Illinois United States of America
    Posts
    95
     

    Default

    I can safely say I have the same CPU and have had no problems with the 2950X and Trainz.
    In Loving Memory of
    Kiersten Riegler - 12/30/1999 - 4/19/2012
    David "RangerW" Walker - 1/5/1963-12/10/2011

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Colorado, Colorado Springs
    Posts
    791
     

    Default

    HF, maybe you should ask someone that has edited your route successfully to send their copy to you.
    Last edited by pitkin; April 10th, 2020 at 09:12 AM.
    I7-8700K
    1070Ti
    PCIe SSD operation (program and build)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    456
     

    Default

    Previous version 501 from about a week earlier than BCSJ-507 loads into Surveyor and I can edit and save.

    I was noticing there was considerable bloat in the config.txt file's String Table for assets of type Train. I had several trains configured in the Surveyor/F7/C area. So I tried removing them to see if that would reduce the String Table size.

    It didn't.

    But then 106618 came along and Surveyor started crashing before the Surveyor window appeared.

    Now I'm remembering that the Portals at the east and west end of the route were generating trains using the pre-existing, named consists. As in the one's I'd removed.

    This was not a problem in 105100. However, I'm curious as to whether this might be causing the problem in 106618 (I added this to the bug report ticket).

    When I looked in BCSJ-501, I found that the consists were still present! Because versions after this don't load without Surveyor crashing I can't check this in 507.

    Still, it seems a bit curious?

    Also, there were a few trains in the session-layer in Salem that were built from these consists. I think though, that these were in the session file's session-layer.

    Is it a violation to remove a consist definition after creating instances of a consist?

    I was under the impression that custom consists listed in Surveyor/F7/C were not particular to a route, but were global for all of a user's custom routes. It seems this must be an incorrect assumption or why would they still be present in BCSJ-501?

    Curioser and curioser,

    I copied BCSJ-501 into a new route and have been removing the portals (and all Train type assets from the route file regardless of their layer). I wonder if that will behave better with respect to the derailed consist party that was occurring in the field north west of Lincoln for some people?

    Horace Fithers

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    456
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SHOPlanB View Post
    I can safely say I have the same CPU and have had no problems with the 2950X and Trainz.
    Thank you for confirming that it's not some strange aberration in the AMD threadripper instruction set causing random issues...

    HF

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Chicago Illinois United States of America
    Posts
    95
     

    Default

    You're quite welcome! Glad I could assist!
    In Loving Memory of
    Kiersten Riegler - 12/30/1999 - 4/19/2012
    David "RangerW" Walker - 1/5/1963-12/10/2011

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    27,190
     

    Default

    Something's munched in the route. It crashes on my Intel-based system so no it's not your AMD chip.

    This initial crash is usually caused by a bad scripted object being initialized at start up. The problem is opening the route to find out the culprit and remove it.

    Since the previous version works, what are the changes between 501 and the 507?

    I tested your previous versions under the beta and they worked fine in that version so something's different here.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    16,015
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by horacefithers View Post
    Thank you for confirming that it's not some strange aberration in the AMD threadripper instruction set causing random issues...

    HF
    It's also crashing on edit in an i7 6700K / 1080TI setup, so not related to Hardware, downloaded to have a look. Will let you know if I can find anything.
    Malc


  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Colorado, Colorado Springs
    Posts
    791
     

    Default

    HF,

    re consists:

    In my experience, there are several types of consists.

    One or more train cars coupled together on a layout become a consist. These cars are fully instantianed objects with a name and loading data, and I will refer to them as type consist_1. When the game is running, they are assigned a name automatically, such as consist1, consist2, etc. They persist through a save.

    In the edit trains tab, you can select a type consist_1 with the consist selector and name it. This type consist_2 then becomes available for any route or session. I don't think the loads are preserved, I think the named consist is just a list of kuid's for the cars. I don't know if it is automatically uploaded to the DLS or is just local to the users installation. So when this consist_2 is placed on a track, it becomes a consist_1 without loading data.

    Another type of consist arises when you define one in a portal. I did not write any portals, but I believe they are just a list of kuids. Call these type consist_3. When this consist succesfully emerges from the portal, it becomes a type consist_1, but without any loading data. That is why there are so many instant load type commands.
    I7-8700K
    1070Ti
    PCIe SSD operation (program and build)

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    27,190
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by clam1952 View Post
    It's also crashing on edit in an i7 6700K / 1080TI setup, so not related to Hardware, downloaded to have a look. Will let you know if I can find anything.
    I just checked v 506 and that dumps quickly to the desktop.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •