New to TRS19 - Change locos in a session?

doc2015

Is there a way to change out a locomotive for a different one and not have it affect how the session plays out? When I try to change out locos, the session never registers the new loco and never progresses.

I'm new to Trainz 2019 and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Unfortunately the identity of each locomotive is more often than not "hard wired" into the session rules that controls the operation of the session and sometime into the driver commands of other drivers which affects their operations. So swapping one loco for another and then starting the session will more than likely lead to the problem you have described.

There are ways around this but but they will require you to go into the Session Editor to locate and edit the assigned locos and/or drivers to get the session to work with the new locos. It is not impossible but does require a good knowledge of how session rules and some driver commands work so that you know what to look for and what to edit.

Exactly as Pware says. What you are looking for covers at least two areas. The navigation display (in edit session) may be set to a specific loco, so you need to change that to the one you want to use. Also it is likely most if not all "triggers" are set to that loco. Any that are, need to be changed to the one you've selected. Once that is done the session will run.

Usually the locomotives are identyfied by their name. Before deleting the original locomotive, copy its name from the property dialog. After adding the new locomotive, paste the original name in the properties dialog of the new one.

Peter

Usually the locomotives are identyfied by their name. Before deleting the original locomotive, copy its name from the property dialog. After adding the new locomotive, paste the original name in the properties dialog of the new one.

You should also use the same Driver name as in the original loco.