.
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Field of View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    176
     

    Default Field of View

    Greetings, everyone

    I got sick of T:ANE's bad weather effects (it's not supposed to be sunny when it's pouring!) and have been impressed with what I've seen from Trainz 2019 in terms of rendering scenes. One complaint I have with Trainz 2019 is that I can't seem to change the "field of view" or perspective of my screen like you could in A New Era (Ctrl+mouse scroll would change the "perspective", I liked it zoomed all the way in because to me that makes everything look the most realistic). I've included screenshots of what this looks like in A New Era but I cannot for the life of me figure out how to do the same thing in Trainz 2019. Someone please tell me they didn't axe that feature!

    This is the zoomed in view-


    This is the zoomed out view-


    Like I said, please tell me they didn't get rid of this function because I might just uninstall Trainz 2019 right now if they did, that would be very disappointing.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    6,725
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BrianPacos View Post
    I got sick of T:ANE's bad weather effects (it's not supposed to be sunny when it's pouring!) and have been impressed with what I've seen from Trainz 2019 in terms of rendering scenes
    I think that you will find that "sunny rainstorms" (we do get them here down under) have not changed in TRS19.

    Quote Originally Posted by BrianPacos View Post
    One complaint I have with Trainz 2019 is that I can't seem to change the "field of view" or perspective of my screen like you could in A New Era (Ctrl+mouse scroll would change the "perspective".
    I never noticed that so I tried it (Ctrl + mouse scroll wheel) in TANE - its a terrible effect! It was like riding a bicycle with a wheel that was always jamming and that is on a machine with a GTX1050Ti. I checked the TANE keyboard map and there was nothing about using the Ctrl key with the mouse scroll wheel.

    In TRS19 using the Ctrl key with the mouse scroll wheel works just like it does without the Ctrl key - a blessing. Using the Shift key with the wheel slows the movement right down.

    Sorry to bring the bad news (unless I am totally wrong - a common occurrence) but I certainly won't be uninstalling TRS19 just because that "feature" is missing.

    My opinions.
    TRS19 Platinum 105100 - TRS19 SP1 (standard) 105096 - TANE SP4 105766

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    73
     

    Default

    To use FOV in TRS19 SP1 and upward versions, go into the control settings and scroll until you find an option called "Field of view modifier". It will be unassigned by default. Simply assign whatever key you want to hold down in combination with the scroll wheel to adjust the FOV like you could before.


    Greets, Mika
    German route builder working on the Central Europe route project

    "It's always more fun to share with everyone" - Jack Johnson


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    6,725
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Thanks for that Mika.

    That's one of many things I like about Trainz, no matter how long you have been using it, there is always something new to learn - or something that has always been there but you never noticed before.
    TRS19 Platinum 105100 - TRS19 SP1 (standard) 105096 - TANE SP4 105766

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, California, Port Hueneme
    Posts
    1,908
     

    Default

    I am missing something: I see the Field of view modifier. And it says None and None. That is an indication that this control is not there anymore? In the real World (of mine), the scroll wheel zooms the image !?? A clarification is in order..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    , Western Australia, Perth
    Posts
    2,140
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    It says none because there is no key assigned to action it. You need to add one.

    Otherwise in the settings under general I think there is a slider for FOV

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    6,725
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scratchy View Post
    It says none because there is no key assigned to action it. You need to add one.
    Correct. I just tried it. I had to use the Left Alt key because the Ctrl key was already taken by something else (it was shown in Red when I initially selected it). Just highlight the Primary Key entry (shown as "none") and press the Left Alt key.

    Then back in Surveyor I tried it by holding down the left Alt key and moving the mouse scroll wheel and it worked.
    TRS19 Platinum 105100 - TRS19 SP1 (standard) 105096 - TANE SP4 105766

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, California, Port Hueneme
    Posts
    1,908
     

    Default

    What you are saying is that these "None" are configurable keys. User selected. Have I read about this somewhere else? mmmm. No, I haven't seen anything about this in the Wiki or anywhere else.. Anyhow, thank you..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    6,725
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by llebrez View Post
    What you are saying is that these "None" are configurable keys. User selected.
    Yes, The label "none" simply means that the user, you, have not yet configured them to a particular key.
    TRS19 Platinum 105100 - TRS19 SP1 (standard) 105096 - TANE SP4 105766

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Alabama, Birmingham
    Posts
    3,077
     

    Default

    Are you sure that is correct??? I thought the "none" key was right next to the "any" key as in "Press any key to continue".

    Sorry, too many years of doing tech support.

    William

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    833
     

    Default

    I have some assigned keys coloured red in the control settings window in my TANE. What that does mean?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    1,198
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JAGG View Post
    I have some assigned keys coloured red in the control settings window in my TANE. What that does mean?
    Red means that key is already in use as stated in #7 above. Select another key/combination for the command.
    Win10: ASUS B450M-A/CSM, GTX 1060-6 Windforce
    TRS19 SP1(plus), 106618(plus), 106618(+beta)


  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,240
     

    Default

    Red colored keys aren't a problem, if they are used in a different context.

    Peter

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    833
     

    Default

    Different context within the game or outside the game in OS? I have Alt+C marked red and it works for me only in cab mode for example.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,240
     

    Default

    Different context in the game. Like same key combination having a different use in driver and surveyor.

    Peter

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •