.
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: CTD bug on editing pasted spline height values - repeatable

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    6,718
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Thumbs up CTD bug on editing pasted spline height values [solved or maybe not!

    I have found and reported a bug in both builds 105096 (SP1 Classic) and 105100 (Platinum) that causes a CTD. Normally I would confirm this on my second Trainz computer at a different location before reporting it but under the current "lockdown" I am unable to do so. It is repeatable - it happens every time I perform the following actions:-

    1. Copy the Height Setting from a road spline point
    2. Paste the value in the Height Setting for a track spline point
    3. Edit the pasted value by deleting the decimal component
    4. Type a new decimal component

    A CTD will occur either instantly or within seconds (in which case the keyboard will be locked) - the timing seems to vary with the build number and, possibly, the size of the User Data Folder (guessing).

    Any confirmations would be appreciated.
    Last edited by pware; March 26th, 2020 at 01:09 AM. Reason: SOLVED ALMOST
    TRS19 Platinum 105100 - TRS19 SP1 (standard) 105096 - TANE SP4 105766

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    6,122
     

    Default

    There's definitely a bug using the right-click pasting operation (it doesn't paste over the data even if highlighted), but I can't get it to crash.

    Which keys are you using to edit - backspace, delete etc?

    Ctrl-C and Ctrl-V work fine.
    Tony Hilliam

    Got questions about TRS19? Click here for TRS19 FAQs

    Looking for answers to in-game functionality? Click here for help

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    6,718
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    I highlight (Ctrl-A) the value in road spline height setting, copy (Ctrl-C).
    I highlight (Ctrl-A) the value in the track spline height setting, paste (Ctrl-V).
    I use backspace to clear the digits from the end, then start typing.
    TRS19 Platinum 105100 - TRS19 SP1 (standard) 105096 - TANE SP4 105766

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    6,122
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pware View Post
    I highlight (Ctrl-A) the value in road spline height setting, copy (Ctrl-C).
    I highlight (Ctrl-A) the value in the track spline height setting, paste (Ctrl-V).
    I use backspace to clear the digits from the end, then start typing.
    Working fine here on a test route. Perhaps it relates to the actual track you're applying it to? (Try a blank baseboard test).
    Tony Hilliam

    Got questions about TRS19? Click here for TRS19 FAQs

    Looking for answers to in-game functionality? Click here for help

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    6,718
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    That is exactly what I did - a single bare baseboard with a single section of road spline and a single parallel section of track spline. I raised the height of one end of the road spline and transferred its height value (using keyboard controls only) to the track spline at the same end.

    I will give it another try and report back.
    TRS19 Platinum 105100 - TRS19 SP1 (standard) 105096 - TANE SP4 105766

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    6,718
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    OK, more testing indicates that it is a problem with NumLock on my laptop. There is no NumLock light so there is no indication if the numeric keypad is acting as Cursor Arrow and special function keys or as numeric keys.

    Having now toggled the NumLock key a number of times and confirmed, via a text editor, that it is in numeric mode, the problem has been resolved. But I still cannot explain why the CTDs happened, and were reproducible, in the first place.

    Case Closed - operator error!
    TRS19 Platinum 105100 - TRS19 SP1 (standard) 105096 - TANE SP4 105766

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    6,122
     

    Default

    Actually, no, there's a definite bug with the numpad keys causing a crash. Thanks for the help in tracking it down.
    Tony Hilliam

    Got questions about TRS19? Click here for TRS19 FAQs

    Looking for answers to in-game functionality? Click here for help

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •