.
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: What USB Throttle controllers work with Trainz

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    12
     

    Default What USB Throttle controllers work with Trainz

    Hi everyone,
    I was wondering if anyone is using some kind of throttle control. Not the raildriver controller as that one is a bit pricy and I really would just like a throttle lever of some kind or even better does someone mage a USB controller that looks and works like a model railroad throttle? That would be great to have something with a dial like that.



    or like this

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    706
     

    Default

    I use keyboard commands:

    q brake release
    a brake apply
    z lap
    w forward
    s stop
    x reverse
    h horn
    b bell
    l light
    Ctrl+d decouple
    j junction ahead
    alt+j junction behind

    there are many more
    etc etc

    You might even be able to use a mic and speak those KB commands
    Last edited by MP242; March 24th, 2020 at 05:35 PM.
    My apologies to all. I have decided that in these horrible current events, we all need to stick together as a Community

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    26,722
     

    Default

    Any USB controller can be used as long as you enable the interface in your settings. During testing, I borrowed an XBox controller from my nephew and it worked as intended. Having something with a bit more rail focus is better, but the cost of the Raildriver is a bit too high for my budget as well. Like MP242 I use the keyboard, although it's not as "realistic", it works very well and you get used to the controls really quickly.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 105100

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    12
     

    Default

    I would like a lever, maybe something as simple as this




  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    706
     

    Default

    Ever since I saw this video, I wanted this:
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=2YK5_y1LzHk
    I would have to get a padded seat, as I would rarely come out
    Last edited by MP242; March 25th, 2020 at 04:34 PM.
    My apologies to all. I have decided that in these horrible current events, we all need to stick together as a Community

  6. #6

    Default

    Wow MP242! Sure would not need much reading material in there!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA, United States of America
    Posts
    523
    Blog Entries
    58
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Forester1 View Post
    Wow MP242! Sure would not need much reading material in there!
    Rule book and employee timetable, surely?!

    :B~D

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    793
     

    Default

    This one is for RW albeit, but almost same and also diesel exists for OR or MSTS too here, and I guess it wouldn't be problem to link it to TRS as well, that would be OK for me... :-)

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r7XOA0UKrEA

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Georgia, Rocky Face
    Posts
    4,393
    Blog Entries
    39
     

    Default

    Personally, instead of a Raildriver control stand, I'd would find a way to connect an actual control stand from a scrapped locomotive, like that in MP242's video, to my computer, like the simulators railroads use to train engineers on. And I would make sure all the gauges work correctly and react correctly whenever I made any adjustments to the controls.
    Last edited by jordon412; March 26th, 2020 at 09:37 AM.
    Owner of Freeman Locomotive Works.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    26,722
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jordon412 View Post
    Personally, instead of a Raildriver control stand, I'd would find a way to connect an actual control stand from a scrapped locomotive, like that in MP242's video, to my computer, like the simulators railroads use to train engineers on. And I would make sure all the gauges work correctly and react correctly whenever I made any adjustments to the controls.
    That's very possible using an various tools such as Analog to Digital converters and other electronics to convert the manual switching mechanisms and other pressure gauge readings into computer readable format. Using the Trainz Native Interface, this information can be read into T:ANE and up and used to control various functions. Part of this information can also be read through the USB port and a game-controller type interface. This hardware part is complicated and it takes a bit of an electrical engineering background to make it work along with an understanding in programming, especially in C++ and other scripting languages.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 105100

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •