.
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Wheelslip problem appears after T:ANE SP4 update

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    37
     

    Default Wheelslip problem appears after T:ANE SP4 update

    A favourite railcar which used to run without problems in T:ANE SP3 seems to have acquired heavy wheelslip sensitivity in SP4.

    The item in question is the very nice <kuid2:35848:80130:4> German VT98 06, by sg1 plus Heinz Schubien and Brummel.

    I run this under manual control in realistic mode on level track, hauling nothing, brakes fully released. Throttling up to notch 1, the car departs, but immediately the yellow wheelslip indication starts blinking. No other vehicles display similar wheelslip behaviour. It continues blinking even when I trottle back to 0 and the car rolls on by its inertia.

    Has something changed between SP3 and SP4? Is there a global setting which I may have inadvertently changed? Is there anything I can change, for example in the config file, to make the wheelslip effect on this car more realistic (or switch it off altogether)?

    Any help would be appreciated.
    T:ANE SP4 105766 - AMD Athlon II X4 630 2.8 GHz - 8GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GT710 - Win10

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    37
     

    Default

    Oh, and applying the Sander (white triangle button) does not make any difference at all.
    T:ANE SP4 105766 - AMD Athlon II X4 630 2.8 GHz - 8GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GT710 - Win10

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    37
     

    Default

    Look, there must be somebody out there on this forum who can give me a few shouts in the right direction.

    Where do I look? In the engine specifications? No variable called 'wheelslip' to be found there. Do I have to tinker with 'adhesion'? Or 'moving-friction-coefficient'?

    And if I'm asking a stupid question - How do I change wheelslip sensitivity to a more realistic value - then don't hesitate to tell me. Not getting any reaction is slightly frustrating, and quite unlike my pleasant experiences on this forum so far.
    T:ANE SP4 105766 - AMD Athlon II X4 630 2.8 GHz - 8GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GT710 - Win10

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    832
     

    Default

    It is quite common that old standard enginspecs suffer from such behavior. And I understand fully N3V bussiness plan to use as much chances as possible to turn everybody to TSR19, thats why they probably made the rules for running older engine specs more strict in latest SP instead of repairing old bugs. If You would like the railcar to run as in real, You need to find/create the engspec made according latest standards for Your favorite car type anyway.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    27,119
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JAGG View Post
    It is quite common that old standard enginspecs suffer from such behavior. And I understand fully N3V bussiness plan to use as much chances as possible to turn everybody to TSR19, thats why they probably made the rules for running older engine specs more strict in latest SP instead of repairing old bugs. If You would like the railcar to run as in real, You need to find/create the engspec made according latest standards for Your favorite car type anyway.
    The engine-specs are created by the content creators and the base specs were changed in TRS2009 and TC3 (actually started here in TC3). If the asset was from an earlier period, then the spec needs updating. Over the years, the program engine has changed, and there are probably other changes done in SP4. I don't remember if they can be changed on the fly as they can be in TRS19, but if so that might be an option to find out what's up with the asset.

    If anything, I would submit a bug report and let someone from the QA Team contact Rob and work through the problem. They're good that way and have assisted and even report back what the resolution of the problem is if there is one.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 105100

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    37
     

    Default

    Thank you, JAGG and John. I understand that the problem may be due to the railcar being an older item; it is listed on the DLC as Build Version 3.5.
    I have submitted a bug report and will let you know here how the story unfolds.
    T:ANE SP4 105766 - AMD Athlon II X4 630 2.8 GHz - 8GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GT710 - Win10

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, South Jersey
    Posts
    1,922
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RobKi View Post
    A favourite railcar which used to run without problems in T:ANE SP3 seems to have acquired heavy wheelslip sensitivity in SP4.

    The item in question is the very nice <kuid2:35848:80130:4> German VT98 06, by sg1 plus Heinz Schubien and Brummel.

    I run this under manual control in realistic mode on level track, hauling nothing, brakes fully released. Throttling up to notch 1, the car departs, but immediately the yellow wheelslip indication starts blinking. No other vehicles display similar wheelslip behaviour. It continues blinking even when I trottle back to 0 and the car rolls on by its inertia.

    Has something changed between SP3 and SP4? Is there a global setting which I may have inadvertently changed? Is there anything I can change, for example in the config file, to make the wheelslip effect on this car more realistic (or switch it off altogether)?

    Any help would be appreciated.
    I didn't see much difference in the VT98 06's behavior between SP3 (94616) and SP4 (105766).

    Quote Originally Posted by RobKi View Post
    Thank you, JAGG and John. I understand that the problem may be due to the railcar being an older item; it is listed on the DLC as Build Version 3.5.
    I have submitted a bug report and will let you know here how the story unfolds.
    Rob, I played around with the VT98 06 railcar yesterday and started writing up something last night on it but didn't post as I'm looking for a confirmation about the exact meaning of the flashing throttle indication for locos with kind "engine" especs - I didn't find what I was looking for yet however here's what I wrote:

    I put the VT98 06 on a 1 baseboard single loop of track. In cab mode in TANE SP3 I put the reverser in fwd and released the brakes. Put the throttle in T1 and it started flashing yellow as the car started to accelerate. I reset it to T0 and waited for the flashing to stop. Then back to T1. I increased the throttle to T2 then T3 then T4 as the speed increased. Probably didn't allow enough time in T3 for enough change in speed as it started flashing again in T4. So reset to T0 and repeated the sequence. I was able to run it in all 6 throttle notches with no flashing using this technique.

    I did the same thing in TANE SP4 and the behavior was pretty much the same. If you need some quantitative results you can run it on the "Test Track" feature in any TANE version. I didn't. I drive steam equipment almost exclusively and they are not allowed on the Test Track. [That's an unfulfilled feature promise of the kickstarter program but I won't go into that]. But you can test this loco on the built-in Test Track in both SP3 and SP4 if you care to.

    AFAIK diesel and electric locos in Trainz don't have any wheelslip. Only steam locos in CAB mode can have "actual" wheelslip where the wheels spin at a faster rate and the tractive force applied to the rail drops to 0 or a fraction of the force normally applied. For diesels and electrics there is no reduction in the tractive force applied to and resisted by the rail. AFAIK the flashing throttle for diesel-electrics and electrics is an indication of the electric drive system exceeding rated current (amp) values. I'm not sure but I think this loco is a direct diesel drive with 6 selectable gear ratios so that might not even be applicable to this type of drive.

    Looking at the espec used in the VT98 06, the max tractive force is produced in notch 1 at 0.4 m/s. In this case I'd expect the loco might behave as I noted above. If this were an electric drive you might have to bump it in and out of T1 to get it moving unless there were current limiters in the drive circuits. I'm not that familiar with these types of motive power.

    Bottom line results - I got flashing yellow throttle in both SP3 and SP4 which might be correct with the espec used.

    Bob Pearson
    Last edited by RPearson; March 29th, 2020 at 12:40 PM.
    TRAINZ-UTC-TRS04-TRS06-TC1&2-TC3-TS09-TS10-TS12-TANE(TEG)-TMR17-TS19
    Member since 6-14-2002

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Victoria, Tecoma
    Posts
    3,885
     

    Default

    Hi Bob
    The flashing throttle indication does indicate wheelslip in Trainz, however it doesn't indicate how much wheelslip is occurring (I'm not sure off-hand if Trainz actually supports variable wheelslip off-hand).

    In regards to the wheelslip on diesel/electric locomotives, although it doesn't visually have full wheelslip effects, Trainz physics do from memory do 'proper' wheelslip calculation to some degree. Again, I'm not sure how extensive this is off-hand, but it does do some calculations here. However visually, non steam locomotives only provide a very small amount of visual wheelslip (more like wheel creep).

    Regards
    Zec

    ZecRail Freelance D1s, Victorian Railways Type 4 DD and Type 4 D1s, and more also available.

    Zecrail freeware DLS Content
    All comments are my own unless otherwise stated.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •