.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 29 of 29

Thread: What Should Be The Maximum Miles Used On A Trainz Route?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,546
     

    Default

    I have some good photos of the Norfolk fens John, and using the grass and wild flower splines available for Trainz as well as individual grass clumps & etc I can reproduce the appearance of the fens reasonably well, but if I do too much the frame rate drops like a stone and my computer's fans start to scream. Mostly now I just use all the nice stuff close to the line and do my best with using ground textures beyond a certain point to let it all fade into the distance.

    A flat open 'empty' landscape is certainly a challenge and I wish you well with your own efforts.
    Narcolepsy is not napping.



  2. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    26,679
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KotangaGirl View Post
    I have some good photos of the Norfolk fens John, and using the grass and wild flower splines available for Trainz as well as individual grass clumps & etc I can reproduce the appearance of the fens reasonably well, but if I do too much the frame rate drops like a stone and my computer's fans start to scream. Mostly now I just use all the nice stuff close to the line and do my best with using ground textures beyond a certain point to let it all fade into the distance.

    A flat open 'empty' landscape is certainly a challenge and I wish you well with your own efforts.
    I too have seen the same effect from splines. I downloaded a very beautiful route, but I couldn't run it until I did some grass cutting due to the number of grass splines on top of grass splines. Once I cleared the weeds, the frame rates more than doubled

    I've looked at Google Earth Street View in places where the camera is available. I've been to the high plains before so I have an idea of what grows out there. There are some unique and gorgeous wildflowers out there in the plains along with various colored grasses, sedges, and small shrubs, but for the most part it's pretty clear of anything in particular. With that said, I think I can do a lot up close where I have to and let the textures do their work in the distance. The forested areas will be a bit easier I think with the tall pines located up in the hills.

    Many thanks for the luck. I'll need as much as I can muster up for this route.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 105100

  3. #18

    Default

    Thanks for all of the input everyone. I may do a Pt1 route that is 40mls long, then a Pt2 route of the other 40mls. This way I can do both routes separately with details and maybe upload them to the DLS - provided that each route doesn't go over the maximum file size.

    - RR70
    Railroading is a separate entity from everything else.

  4. #19

    Default

    Download the UMR. See how long that thing is. It will take a bit of work before your route is too big.

    The real problem is having the time to build the route.
    I pretend to have a life. As a result, I hardly have time anymore for Trainz. I had a lot more time when I started my Canadian Prairies route, but then kids "happened". After 3 years I decided to upload what I had finished, which isn't even 25% of what I had in mind.

    I say work on the route as 1 big thing, but do it in manageable bites. Upload a section when you think it is playable.
    With the route merging problems we have had in the past, uploading two sections might cause problems. Though it might take an hour or so to delete a bunch of baseboards when you end up concluding the route was indeed to big, you might just discover that it does fit as one big route.

  5. #20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by philskene View Post
    RR70 --

    Your maths might be incorrect. I think it should be 80 divided by 2.5. That's certainly a manageable size in terms of maximum file upload. The real question, however, is the time it might take you to actually complete the route. One lifetime or several? And that will depend on the level of detail.
    I know what you mean. What's always interesting is when I have lots of free time and work on a route, 5 hours go by in a flash. Feels like 1 or 2 hours. There are huge blocks of hills or flat lands where I'm aware that I better make those blocks interesting with some visual artistic merit to make the scenery look interesting - whether it be providing some lakes with variable types of trees, maybe show some camp grounds with a lit fire pit, people in a fishing boat and different colored hills or distant farms etc. Also, I have adjusted speed limits from 50 to 40 down to 30 mph in some zones. All of this takes time of course. So, yeah, it's not like I'll have the first 40 or 50mls on the Part 1 route done anytime soon.

    - RR70
    Railroading is a separate entity from everything else.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    U S Del
    Posts
    2,162
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    I'm all for big routes . But how many here run trains for the entire length of the line ? Or DEM ? Or wish too for a given Railroad ? Having run a train now as I had always dreamed about . LOL I was wondering if there could be a job in it LOL ? . Pay others to run trains to your desired location . LOL

    Matt
    work hard, Play harder

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    26,679
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Railwoodman View Post
    I'm all for big routes . But how many here run trains for the entire length of the line ? Or DEM ? Or wish too for a given Railroad ? Having run a train now as I had always dreamed about . LOL I was wondering if there could be a job in it LOL ? . Pay others to run trains to your desired location . LOL

    Matt
    I have done it a few times on my own large mega-merger amalgamation of multiple routes. The total length is about 190 miles end to end, not counting side routes, branches, and yards. The trip took well over 8 hours and I found myself nodding off in places. In the end I decided it wasn't worth it and let the AI do the boring driving of the long distance stuff and I stick to the switching and fiddling around. The puzzle of pulling various freight cars out of a yard and sorting them so they get to their destination without impacting the hotshot freights and varnish can be a challenge in its self and quite a time eater as well. In the length of time I spent driving the 190 miles, I tied up the mainline a few times, delivered boxcar loads of goods, pulled a bunch of coal hoppers on a mine branch, and interchanged freight with a through running manifest. That operation too is interesting. You need to cut the engines off, direct the AI to drive to the engine terminal, wait and x-amount of time there, and then switch in and out any freight needed to complete the run. Once the switching is done, the AI is directed back on to the point and told to continue the schedule.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 105100

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    U S Del
    Posts
    2,162
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    John .......... You and I are on the same wavelength . Especially the nodding off part . I do find AI's fun to direct and ride in from time to time . But well said Sir

    Matt
    work hard, Play harder

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Alabama, Wetumpka
    Posts
    600
     

    Default

    It also depends upon how many different lines are running simultaneously, and with how many trains. It might seem as though the newer structure in TANE which appears to only load the part of the route being viewed would make the overall size irrelevant, but it's easy to forget that the program still has to keep track of where all of those trains are, how fast they're going, what signals are being triggered, etc. whether or not they're in view.

    The upshot: it may still depend a lot on how fast your computer's CPU is and how much memory you have, at least for the kind of routes described above. If it's a straightforward single line extending for any number of miles, then presumably the only limit would be your patience and hard disk space.

    --Lamont

  10. #25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Railwoodman View Post
    I'm all for big routes . But how many here run trains for the entire length of the line ? Or DEM ? Or wish too for a given Railroad ? Having run a train now as I had always dreamed about . LOL I was wondering if there could be a job in it LOL ? . Pay others to run trains to your desired location . LOL

    Matt
    I used to be an actual railway worker. I was employed in the Diesel Locomotive & Rail Car Facility. I did maintenance, minor repairs, fueling and switching of locomotives. I guess now I'm, more or less, a Virtual Railroader.

    And now when I think about it, I think I'll just do the bare bones in my route - tracks, signals, hills, trees and JR buildings - the bare bones. I'll wait until I get T:ANE or TRS2019. Then I'll start laying down the buildings and other assets. I think that would be a more wise and logical plan, agreed?
    Railroading is a separate entity from everything else.

  11. #26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JCitron View Post
    I have done it a few times on my own large mega-merger amalgamation of multiple routes. The total length is about 190 miles end to end, not counting side routes, branches, and yards. The trip took well over 8 hours and I found myself nodding off in places. In the end I decided it wasn't worth it and let the AI do the boring driving of the long distance stuff and I stick to the switching and fiddling around. The puzzle of pulling various freight cars out of a yard and sorting them so they get to their destination without impacting the hotshot freights and varnish can be a challenge in its self and quite a time eater as well. In the length of time I spent driving the 190 miles, I tied up the mainline a few times, delivered boxcar loads of goods, pulled a bunch of coal hoppers on a mine branch, and interchanged freight with a through running manifest. That operation too is interesting. You need to cut the engines off, direct the AI to drive to the engine terminal, wait and x-amount of time there, and then switch in and out any freight needed to complete the run. Once the switching is done, the AI is directed back on to the point and told to continue the schedule.
    Yeah I have an 80 to 85 mile route planned like I said and will split it up into two sections. This way I can do more diverges from the mainline to small towns and add other details. Of course I can use some help with it too if anyone is interested as far as any questions I may have on it, or I can give them a cdp file of the two part route and they can make corrections so things run smoother.

    The two part route, when combined, consists of long distance (the full 80mls) heavy freight travel plus road switching that is along the route. This way I can have two options - long haul or switching. Both parts will have variable industries such as a coal mine and sulphur plant. There will be oil refineries, food factories etc. Will have to figure out where I can do a from industry A to industry B method, rather than just bringing empties to my objective and picking up loaded cars to take back to the yard.

    If you want to talk about nodding off at the switch after 8hrs, I almost did a route from Edmonton to Jasper. That's a 12hr drive by freight train. Making an Edson to Jasper route or Hinton to Jasper line would be easier by far because they're closer of course.

    - RR70
    Last edited by Railroader1970; February 27th, 2020 at 05:54 PM.
    Railroading is a separate entity from everything else.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    U S Del
    Posts
    2,162
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    My dream route was Philadelphia PA down the NEC to Perryville MD . Up to Harrisburg PA to Pittsburgh PA . A gift made for myself had that Plus more . Perryville MD to Baltimore MD and Harrisburg PA to Camden NJ . They had tracks laid as now for the most part . But it included lines I have no interest in . And just running the plane track rout was a bit boring . And at 40 mph , a lot longer then I realized . The size of the route pushed my PC to its limit . So I quickly learned bigger isn't always better . The DEM itself tuned out to have issues I felt made it not worth any real time .

    The DLS has many large routes that fit the bill of areas I most want to model . So merging and imagination will get you the size anyone could want

    Matt
    work hard, Play harder

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, New Mexico, Rio Rancho
    Posts
    494
     

    Default

    I find long routes boring. That's why I'm making the New Mexico Rail Runner passenger/freight... 60 miles route. I think on this route, there is always something to do. I was going to post a pic of my map, but my desktop crashed.

    Build: 105096 | KUID:151329 | My System

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    687
     

    Default

    Come to think of it Smyers has the route building technique down pat. A maze of trackwork in a collage/canyon/maze of inner city buildings
    Last edited by MP242; February 29th, 2020 at 08:45 PM.
    My apologies to all. I have decided that in these horrible current events, we all need to stick together as a Community

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •